Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Merciful Audacity

6 Comments


“Hey you? Over there…move out of my way.”

“What? I’m sorry. I didn’t realize I was in your way.”

Yea, you are. I don’t have time for this. Move!”

Hustling to move, the person in the obvious way who didn’t believe they were in the way, is wondering what they did wrong.

“I sure don’t want to make them any madder.”

The amount of space was plenty for them to get through. Why would they be so mean, yelling and screaming at me? It doesn’t make sense.

Proverbs 29:11 “A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control.”

Ever find yourself in this dilemma? Which party of the play are you?

We all have different personalities. God created us to be unique.

But what if your uniqueness isn’t so unique? What if you took that uniqueness and squandered it into an attitude of anger? Or bullying?

Have you been around or are you the kind of person who blows up at the least little mishap or conquest? Are you justified in your annoyance of what others do or say? Are you easily sent into a fury of rage or throw a “temper tantrum” because you feel you have the right to do so?

Well, get over it.

Anger: A strong feeling of annoyance, displeasure or hostility. Anger creates an unpleasant build up of pressure. The process one takes in a sudden burst of losing control is looking for a fight. Relief is quick for the person angered, but may lose a lot in the process like friends, husbands, wives, etc. Also is the damage to one’s health.

Justified anger: Is anger that is fair and reasonable. Jesus employed “justified anger” in the temple. He had the right to rid the money changers from his Father’s house.

Years ago, in serious Marriage Counseling with a Psychiatrist, I discovered God had gifted me with long-suffering/mercy.

During many sessions, the doctor told me I had the ability to PUT UP WITH DIFFICULT/ANGRY PEOPLE!

Giving it a name or description aided in my desire to learn how to use it correctly.

The down side is people take advantage of those who possess the quality of benevolence or goodwill.

Softheartedness or compassion is mistaken for debility or feebleness.

In my case at that time, I was seasoned in passivity to keep the peace or abstain from bickering or altercations. My intentions were admirable; but born out of fear.

A pattern began to emerge as years went by. Growing firmer in my faith, spending time alone with God and simple maturity benefited me by teaching me how to apply this gift.

No longer was I going to allow others to use this blessing as a point of contention.

Instead, it would become a foundation of audacity and fortitude with God as my shield.

Yes, you can be merciful and durable while in the midst of anger thrown at you.

You can be compassionate, yet solid in your stance of love in the face of bitterness.

Goodwill and a soft heart can reveal tenacity and stability as hate filled words surround you.

When the evils of rage and fury provoke, allow God to ignite the flame of graceful valor to release the calming peace of the Holy Spirit.

The expanse of time compounded with the hot coals of life’s adversities has yielded in me a backbone waiting to found.

This process is a daily walk with God. He is training me to combine mercy with his intellect and wisdom; his power with diplomatic leniency, and the Cross of Christ as the steady anchor of my sympathetic soul.

God can use merciful qualities for the good of his kingdom without having to fight a war every time the battle lines are crossed.

Who knows; maybe I won’t cry watching Hallmark as often now.

Side Note: I want to thank Marie, of Denim Devotion for shedding light on this delicate subject and waking me up to the truth of how God has worked in my life. There are many women who suffer at the temperaments of anger lashed out at them every day for the blessing of mercy God has given them. You don’t have to. Marie agreed with me, I was as wrong for allowing it as they were for doing it. Please check out her blog at: http://denimdevotion.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/31-days-shut-it/

Anyone who has been affected or experienced the abuse of anger, please get help. God wants to set you free as he has done for me.

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/10/16/quote-waiting-on/

http://butchdean.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/someday/

http://theteentheme.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/the-weight-of-our-words/

Copyright @ All Rights Reserved

Hybrid Lily by Randy Harrison
http://www.pbase.com/jrandyh

6 thoughts on “Merciful Audacity

  1. “When the evils of rage and fury provoke, allow God to ignite the flame of graceful valor to release the calming peace of the Holy Spirit.” –Those are some wonderful words to live by! Thank you for sharing them, as they are the kind of words a person can really put to practice, which is what I plan to do! God bless.

  2. Learning to live out of our spirits takes time and experiences, many of them bad, so that Jesus can live through us to the world around us.

  3. mentally, i have played both sides, i guess. i have thought to myself different times, i wish they would move or get out of the way, but never acted on it

  4. Been there, done that. I am no longer interested in being married to an angry, controlling man! Sometimes divorce is your best option! Great post, Cathy!
    God Bless You!

  5. That’s a great verse, a great reminder. Need to memorize that one!

Leave a comment