Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Swivel Chair Theology

8 Comments


This morning, after my exciting trip to Wal-Mart, I drove out of the parking lot to get to the main road. In front of me was a Jeep with a bumper sticker that read:

“IF YOU DON’T STAND BEHIND OUR TROOPS, FEEL FREE TO STAND IN FRONT OF THEM.”

A B-2 Spirit soars after a refueling mission o...

A B-2 Spirit soars after a refueling mission over the Pacific Ocean on Tuesday, May 30, 2006. The B-2, from the 509th Bomb Wing at Whiteman Air Force Base, Mo., is part of a continuous bomber presence in the Asia-Pacific region. (U.S. Air Force photo/Staff Sgt. Bennie J. Davis III) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bumper Sticker wisdom meets the road. Does this only apply to the military?

Living in a military “based” city you are hard pressed to speak a negative or doubtful comment about the military without being hung out to dry. You’re better off keeping your mouth shut if you don’t agree we need them or that wars have to be fought.

As I pondered the practicality of these words, the question arose in my intellect (lol) how often we would stand behind the teachings of Jesus in support of him or crawl away hoping a stray arrow would miss us. You know the kind who slivers away hoping no one would notice.

The boldness I speak now about Jesus is of no consequence to me anymore. Use to be I was hesitant, not because I didn’t want to, but because I didn’t know how.

The difference? Knowledge. The more I learn the bolder I become. More time I spend with God, the louder I get. Studying his word gives me an edge I have not had otherwise.

The edge gives me discernment and perception or an awareness of all that is around me from a Godly standpoint. Proficiency can be measured but the doctrine of Jesus lends your ear to the insight of God.

This is not something I planned; it comes with the territory. It just fits. Unaware of the intensity of his teachings, the authenticity of his presence manifests as you immerse yourself in the pages of his written word.

All the classroom education in the world could not have taught me what I have learned sitting in a swivel chair studying and praying over God’s word. It is supernatural. It is a pursuit of wisdom and understanding in the purest form.

We pursue whatever or whoever can solve our problems. Today’s world is a mess and I can’t think of a better problem solver than Jesus.

I stand behind him. Where are you standing?

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/the-necessity-of-religious-principle/

http://kellylevatino.com/2012/03/27/the-truth-about-gods-promsies/

http://javaman56.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/bless-the-lord/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

Photo of Formosa Azalea by John Randolph Harrison

http://www.pbase.com/jrandyh

8 thoughts on “Swivel Chair Theology

  1. Awesome post Cathy!

    We do become bolder in faith when we study and live out God’s Holy Word. We start flexing our spiritual muscles for sure.

  2. Another great post! What a talent you have!

  3. Amen, sister! Great post. And I agree, often hesitancy to speak His name can be mistaken for a lack of belief, fear or shame, yet more than likely is a lack of confidence. I know, because, like you, that used to be me, too.
    The further on in the journey I travel, the bolder I become. And the more sensitive to how best to ‘talk’ with each individual as the Spirit leads.
    Jesus is all there is and I’m happy to say it 🙂

    • thank you! I have read blogs of people who are still afraid to speak out, but this really is the answer. you get over the fear or whatever as you learn more about God. It is the relationship with Jesus that makes it a part of our everyday language.

  4. The more time we spend with the Lord, the more we resemble Him.

  5. “This is not something I planned; it comes with the territory. It just fits. Unaware of the intensity of his teachings, the authenticity of his presence manifests as you immerse yourself in the pages of his written word.” You hit the nail on the head!! Amen!!!!!

Leave a comment