Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Reflections of a Befuddled Misfit

7 Comments


Thought I was talking about you! Unfortunately not. The misfit is me. If you don’t believe it, just ask my family.

But! now I can compare my human quirkiness to those of our pet cat.

I was sitting on the couch; my husband was in the swivel chair with our cat on his lap (which is a major accomplishment). He was gently running his hands down her furry back which she loves. She was facing our big screen TV when a cat litter commercial appeared.

Her beautiful green eyes became huge. She froze as the TV cats Meowwwwwdddddd…… Gazing,  at these star cats, Mark and I looked at each other as if we were sidelines to this new adventure for her. Stuck in a feline, resting position on his legs, her head wobbled up and down as the cats moved on the big screen. It was all I could do to keep myself quiet in this moment of seriousness for her. A once in a lifetime video right in front of us.

All of a sudden, her wobbly head stopped moving; her face stuck in fit of rage.  She bristled her body ready to attack those cats who out of nowhere landed in her house. Before she took a leap at our TV, the cats disappeared.  Relaxing slowly, there was a look of contentment in her green eyes as if she had just slain a dragon.

Her turf was protected. Her family was safe from the onslaught of Kitty Litter star cats. Her food and water bowls were exactly where she left them. No harm done. Life was back to normal for this cat who was ready to pounce on the enemy to show her vast love for those who feed her.

Cats know what they were put here to do. Their lives consist of eating, sleeping, playing and sleeping some more, all on their terms and conditions.

Her simple life, is what she knows. That’s it. She knows what to do everyday. There is no question it is the way it is.

Oh, that ours, or mine would be so planned out. It would be so easy to have a chalkboard on the wall for God to write me notes leading me through the jungle of days. He did that before, why can’t he do it for me! There is plenty of wall space.

As  I wade through muddy waters I find myself sinking.  Two steps forward, and 10 backwards. I want out of this muddy pit.

Making every effort to get it right, I still don’t. Oh, what to do?

The bombshells I make for myself and those poor suffering souls around me, not to leave God out of this tightly fit group are wearing me out. Yes,  I have no one to blame but me.

It is a wonder God loves us, me. What a marvel. He has to think us silly. Or funny. Or the frightful creatures only a “mother could love.”


So here I am this little person (again no short jokes; that is a pun) one of many who have lived centuries before and who knows what later, but how can I make a difference when I am just plain stuck?

That was quick. If you want an answer from God go check your mailbox.

Joyce Meyer just won’t leave me alone! In the mail is a letter from her and on the front it says,

“If you are carrying the weight of the world, I want to remind you, God never asked you to.”

Who needs a chalkboard if you have a mailbox? God delivers through the Post Office now!

http://doctortisms.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/time-out/

http://doctortisms.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/the-journey-part-1/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/02/15/honestly-half-the-time-i-have-no-idea-what-im-doing/

http://stevenwwatkins.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/dark-vs-light-part-2/

Copyright 2 2012 All Rights Reserved

7 thoughts on “Reflections of a Befuddled Misfit

  1. One time, I was going through a desperate time and told the Lord, “Following You is too complicated.”

    He quickly answered, “No it’s not. All you have to do is ask, believe, and repent when I tell you to do it.”

    That pretty much sums up the whole Bible.

  2. Hmmm…. Cathy calls herself a Befuddled Misfit

    God calls her in Christ Jesus…

    But ye are a Chosen Generation, a Royal Priesthood, an Holy Nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvellous Light; 1 Peter 2:9

    And what should we all do ….2 Corinthians 7:1 Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting Holiness in the fear of God.

    Guess your not a cat Cathy …your Special an unique.

  3. Hi my dear friend Cathy we all have weaknesses and shortcomings this is why we can’t judge them in others it’s like looking in a mirror but sin is differant God tells us to rebuke and warn those who sin in the Church without repentance and we will if we Love them, who wants to see anyone suffer for sin especially those in the Body of Christ our Brothers and Sisters but of course we don’t judge them with our own agenda but God’s.

    Cathy with all your weaknesses and faults or warts as some call them, others call sin warts but I’m talking about shortcomings ? you are indeed beautiful in your focus and Love for God and others and that is the most important, I’m proud to call you Sister, you are honest and compassionate and in no way two faced, saying one thing but meaning another.

    Christian Love Anne.

Leave a comment