Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

So What if Eve ate the Apple first?

9 Comments


♥The reference that Eve ate the apple first is getting old. Joyce Meyer  discusses how all through the ages we women have been unjustly blamed for many mistakes due to the apple she ate. She was quick to say that Adam didn’t resist when she offered the evil piece of fruit to him. BUT! Adam quickly pointed the finger at Eve once questioned by God.

My husband and I were having a rather important discussion. More like an argument. No, lack of communication. That’s it. I communicate, he listens. Just kidding!

His father told me my husband leaves important points of conversations out with people. According to his father, we who are endeared to his few words are left without. Spending much of my time trying to decipher his level of intelligence (which is quite high) I find myself sliding down the slide backwards without a paddle. He on the other hand has finished the conversation in two words and left to go watch “Survivor” leaving me questioning, “were we finished?”

Now I don’t take this personally because he is completely innocent here in that he is not a talker. Really. Not a talker. He is so glad he married one though! lol! Our differences, like so many couples span years of disillusionment of what the other is thinking or trying to figure the other one out.

It is easy for men to venture to the apple in the midst of a “discussion” with the female gender.   The men in my life including my husband, dad, brother, many uncles and cousins have labeled this moment in time as a “badge of honor” and a focal point for many shameless jokes.

A sign may as well be plastered on our foreheads, “Eve ate the apple first.” 

The guilt of this crime set forth the rules which lie on the bedposts of matrimony. The Tarzan‘s of the Jungle have no competition with this one.

The brand has stuck for centuries and the fight goes on. But! today I found the answer!

Surfing the net I found an article called, “What really makes men tick?”  The article is from a new book called “The Male Brain” by Louann Brizendine, M.D. You can find her website at http://drlouann.ning.com/

A quick summary posted that men and women’s brains work off of 2 systems.  Women are by far more emotional and tend to react that way. Men have very little attachment to emotions leading them directly to a “cognitive” sense and kind of like “get over it” adaptation. Women can become immediately empathetic, while men run off to play football.

The point is that now we women don’t have to feel responsible for our emotional upheavals or downward spirals; our spontaneous moods or irrational behavior because we are not “COGNITIVE!”  Men’s hormones are different from ours so we are off the hook here ladies!

I can tell that went over well for you men out there who are shaking your heads.  You are probably thinking, “oh no. don’t let my wife read this.”

So now that I have spilled the beans how does that attach to Eve’s apple? The apple that subjected us to submission? Herein lies the all engulfing war between the two genders. Yes, blame Eve still.

The famous Bible verse of all verses: Ephesians 5:22 “Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands as to the Lord.

The answer to that verse has been battled over, divorced over, fought over, torn apart. It has been left out of wedding vows, changed in wedding vows, misused, abused and transfused.

Hated by some and loved by others it is the epiphany of marriage. The stronghold. The word of God made of dirt by two in the garden who inhabited character traits handed down for generations. Traits influenced by the evil snake of all snakes.

Again back to the great Joyce Meyer who placed it all in perspective where it needs to be:

“Women were born out of Adam’s side, not under his foot.”

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

9 thoughts on “So What if Eve ate the Apple first?

  1. “…“Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands as to the Lord.“ (Eph. 5:22)

    Sadly, we take verses out of context and then make them laws. The verse before this one states: “be subject to one another in the fear of the Lord. (Eph. 5:21)

    Then the discussion after Eph. 5:22 states that the man is to be like Christ and the woman like the church. And verse 25 states: “Husbands love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her.”

    What wife wouldn’t willingly submit to her husband if the husband loved and acted like Christ? None. They would all willingly submit in love to the husband.

    So, the biggest problems, I see in Chapter 5, are us husbands.

    Plus, the Bible states that Eve was deceived, but Adam sinned. There is a big difference in these words. And where was Adam when Eve was deceived? Standing right next to her. My guess is that he was watching to see if she died or not?

  2. I love your sense of humor!

  3. Hi Cathy I liked how you put your message together and your humour it was good so you got a like but I would also like to look at just what the Scriptures did say about the fall.

    Men have been given by God the role of Leadership, women were created to be their Helpmates because it was not good for man to be alone and this was before the fall. Woman as helpmates have a very high calling as do men in their Leadership role, they are to help their husbands physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually but both roles without the empowering of the Holy Spirit are impossible to achieve in the flesh, so if we go it alone we cannot bring glory to God our Creator in our Marriage or the Church.

    Adam’s sin was listening to Eve’s ungodly advice instead of obeying God, Genesis 3:17 sadly men are still doing this today even in the Churches. Woman of course can share God’s Truth, correct error, rebuke and warn when Christians sin without repentance but they are not to be in Authority over men and teach them in this position, to do so is disobeying God’s guidelines, we are to submit even if our husbands do not believe the word and we do this because we willingly choose to not because we have to but because we Love God and our husbands and those who are in Authority over us, of course if they ask us to do something sinful then we stay True to our higher Authority our Spiritual Husband Jesus Christ who is the Head of the Church.

    Husbands and wives, men and woman are to all submit to each other but this is not in reference to the role of Leadership and it’s Authority or God would have to submit to us, as He never asks of us which He will not do himself. Men and Women are to respect and esteem each other in their God given roles regardless of their gifting or anointing and gender.

    Husbands when respected and Loved by their wives will respond wholeheartedly to their responsibility to care and provide and protect their wives who are the weaker vessel and wives as their husbands sacrificially Love them and put them first, teaching them God’s Truth and encouraging and uplifting them, will mature in their God given role as helpmate and together as husband and wife they will Glorify the Lord in their Godly partnership of reaching out to others with His Love and Truth.. it is not… he must do this first… or she must do this first… it is to be done in the Unity of God’s Love which is the essence of True Christianity meaning Christ in us.

    Sorry Cathy for the long wordage but I didn’t know what to leave out and felt strongly the Lords leading.

    Christian Love Anne.

    • Dear Anne, Thank you for your words! Having been in a marriage before where my ex was far from the Lord and treated me as such I feared for my life at times. After 8 years, I took my 2 year old daughter and left. He was mentally and emotionally abusive and one time threw me up against the wall and knocked me out. I quickly put a stop to that and he never hurt me physically again but made up for it with his evil manipulation and control.

      Now, I am married to a Godly Christian man who adheres to God’s word and lives his life that way. We are one in Christ as the Bible wants us.

      I will say the post I wrote was satirical because it really has been a joke in my family of men over the years. Even now my husband refers to Eve and the Apple as a comical way in approaching our lives as husband and wife. He gets a kick out of it! Blessings coming your way!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC http://www.wix.com/cathyneil/Property-Management 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      ________________________________

      • Hi my dear friend Cathy we do have so much in common, I have not yet continued telling my life story on my Blog, not that I still suffer from the memory, I have been healed but I have not felt called to.

        My first husband who I was also married to for 8 years had been tortured as a child by his Alcoholic father and the example he had was one of extreme violence towards his wife and children. We had only been married for 3 days, I was almost 5 mths pregnant and he bashed me and I haemorrhaged and lost our baby but my babies were not strong in the first place. It was a sad marriage I lost another 5 babies 3 still born girls and the rest about 4-5 mths gestation so including the one I aborted when I was 15 I lost 7 but I have full assurance that they are all in Heaven and have only ever known great Joy and we will be reunited, God does not punish the Children for the sins of their Parents.

        My husband continued to be violent almost killing me a few times but he would break down and sob and promise never to do it again, I had so much compassion for him having had a simular Childhood, I kept forgiving him but then I started to look for someone who would treat me properly and got into a bigger mess, in the end it was strange but I could not stay awake if he was in the same room, the Doctor said it was psychosomatic and it was my way of escape.

        My husband had been having affairs for years and found a woman who could give him a baby and so we said goodbye but I still loved him in a fleshy way, he had been my first real boyfriend although we did break up for a few years and then met again, I still pray for him and always will, I have forgiven him and hope that he has forgiven me.

        Cathy The Scriptures tell us to stay where God finds us, as a new believer I didn’t find out about God’s guidelines with Divorce and remarriage until I was Married to Ron and now if Ron left I would do all I could to restore our Marriage as God intended and if not I would not remarry I would commit totally to my Spiritual Husband Jesus Christ, but Ron is a Christian it is differant if an unbeliever leaves us, we are no longer bound. I also know God hates violence and you did what was needed to protect your Children and yourself and God is a just God and His compassion is very great, I believe you are where you are meant to be.

        Christian Love Anne.

Leave a Reply

