Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

A Box of Love

Leave a comment


 

The older I get, the simpler I want life.

With age comes some natural changes like not caring about what use to bother me or if it doesn’t get done today, it will be here tomorrow.

Or maybe it’s a lack of desire? Or it could be what I use to think was important, really isn’t or wasn’t.

I finally made it to Belks to return some clothes that didn’t fit. The box had been in my car for over a month so that should tell you what I haven’t been doing.box

Between the lawsuit and court, preparing our taxes and insurance policies and then having company on top of my daily chores the box went unnoticed. Those were the main to-do’s; that doesn’t include all the other stuff that just happens like the latest phone debacle which is another story. The dishwasher broke, there is still a hole in our laundry ceiling from before Christmas where our daughter fell through it from the attic and our carpet is in need of desperate repairs from a carpet-eating kitten that came to live with us last summer. The list goes on and on.

So on one of my three trips to the bank this week I first made myself go to Belks. As I walked through the door the store sirens went off shocking me into wondering what I had done. Then it just stopped and no one bothered to do anything about it so I went on my way.

After returning the items I walked through the store holding this rather bulky box wanting to shop around. I landed in the earring department. As I tried to look while holding this annoying box I overheard a woman talking on her phone. She ended the conversation by saying, “I love you.”

It was such a pleasant sound I had to say, “Well, I love you too!”

She looked at me and laughed telling me she was speaking to her son and just had to tell him she loved him.

Agreeing, I told her how we all need to hear that a lot more often.

Her smile revealed how happy it had made her that she had made my day.

As she walked off she told me to have a wonderful afternoon.

The box was in my way and too big so my shopping experience ended.

But the box had brought me to a “divine connection” of hearing a mothers love for her son.

And it made all the stuff and mess I have been dealing with seem so trivial. 

Love is……

love

 

Leave a Reply

