Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

My First “Love”

6 Comments


For the next two weeks beginning June 25, TV becomes important to me.

As one who rejects the Kardashians, Beverly Hills whoevers and corny sitcoms, live TV in reality show form will keep me glued.

For many, the art of Tennis is a null and void criteria. My husband can’t understand the excitement of watching the world’s best rallying across the grass Courts of Wimbledon.

Besides his boring outlook on my favorite sport, the art of “Love” across the net has never quite fit his logical brain.

The scoring sensation of tennis originated from France using the word “deuce” as two scored points over the last point depending on who won it.

The 15-30-40 points originated from a clock only they changed the 45 to 40 because it was easier to say. Somewhere along the process they added the “ad” point.

“Love” is considered nothing. That’s right nothing. A big fat “O.”

Maria Sharipova

Many have that one great first love in another person.

In my case, it was tennis.

Growing up tennis was my agenda. Work, family and school interfered with the “calling of the courts.” Playing with friends or tournaments became my sole existence.

My freshman year in college I tried out for the tennis team and made it. My dream had come true.

Besides the fun of the sport, tennis gave me balance, stability, discipline and great exercise. I was in the best shape of my life for over 20 years. Tennis also offered new friendships, camaraderie and competition.

The down side was the many injuries including very badly sprained ankles, sprained wrists and tennis elbow. Years later, the bad news came when I was given the red light to ever playing again due to the complete deterioration of my ankles ligaments and tendons.

Talk about having your heart broken. My first love became a memory.

Rodger Federer

Reminiscing of my love for tennis, who knew there was a better love for me? While spending my waking hours watching the ball rally between the lines, God was waiting, and watching.

He was there when I lost.

He picked me up off the hot pavement when I was screaming with pain.

He was my best and at times my only fan.

He cheered me on from the back row of the bleachers.

He sang for joy in my triumphs.

He sat in the shadows as I glued myself to the idols of tennis history.

He comforted me during seasonal bench warming due to injuries.

He carried me as I limped away from X-rays of beaten down ankles.

He showed up when life’s age set in and it was over.

He patiently waited in line even though he was 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th or 7th in my life.

I sidelined God for many years and I was a Bible believing, tithing, church-going Christian.

The selfish training I imposed on myself by the love I had for tennis was a pre-cursor to understanding the awesome grace and mercy of God. As wrong and fracturing as my motives were in the end tennis could do no more for me than any of us can do for each other.

We were not created to fill the void that only God can fill. He did that on purpose so that once we are filled up with him; we can and should give it away.

And that my friends, is what the game of “Love” really is.

Luke 10: 27 “He answered: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”

http://highlyfavored74.wordpress.com/2012/06/24/perfectness-in-christ/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/06/24/spiritual-blindness-removed/

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/06/24/it-should-be-a-love-hate-relationship/

http://kellylevatino.com/2012/06/23/should-we-love-with-all-our-hearts/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

The 2 men who played the longest tennis match in recorded history.

6 thoughts on “My First “Love”

  1. this was very well written. i don’t get into this sport nor many sports, but i could tell by your words that you loved it!!! great job!

  2. I liked tennis and played some. It’s a tough sport to play at a high level of competence, but then again, hitting a three point shot with the game on the line is, too.

    Good post.

  3. Beautifully written!
    God Bless You!

  4. Enjoy Wimbledon. I used to spend too much time and devotion watching football. Now I can enjoy a game without feeling like I have to watch every game :).

Leave a comment