Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

How would Jesus respond? (Part 1)

1 Comment


I hope you read the post from Matt Walsh.

It changes the perspective of Jesus’s responses to people.

It revealed to me how we, as Christians over the last 4 decades went silent.

I can’t speak for Mr. Walsh, but I don’t believe he was intentionally leaving out how Jesus promoted peace. He is peace. But we live in a very fallen, evil world that isn’t peaceful.

Ecclesiastes 3:8 “A time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.”

In a recent conversation I was told I was a bigot, a homophobic, racist, hateful, and full of intolerance, hypocritical and a “white privileged American.” Never mind these people didn’t know I existed before this conversation yet they labeled me to be what they wanted me to be since we disagreed.

Add to the few angry cohorts who were obviously following this person’s lead, I was in a nutshell, what is wrong with America.

Why?

For telling the truth.

I could care less what people think of me.

Let’s throw everyone who thinks or tries to live a Godly life in a bucket and persecute them until they shut up. Or at least that’s what many who claim to be walking with the Lord are doing, but must be reading from a different Bible than I do.

The timing of my reading what Matt Walsh wrote and this connection to those who think I am their enemy, couldn’t have been coincidental.

I read it before this occurred.

Years ago I remember how my quiet, shy mother began to speak boldly about God. She had no problems reprimanding us as kids even to our grown up ages, but she was noticeably quiet about her love for Christ and all He had done for her. It all changed after God healed her. She began opening up about her faith. She spoke and quoted verses without hesitation. She began an exhibiting an authority in her words about her walk with God.

Once there was a conversation at a dinner table with some Christian friends of hers she had been to college with. The only man in the room was a strong believer who had been a high school football coach and a high school principal for many years. He was very intelligent, handsome (a Yule Brenner look alike) and headstrong. Mom didn’t agree with something he said and she let him know. She had never done that with him. His wife, me and my daughter sat in silence observing this seemingly calm interchange become a demand from his standpoint that he didn’t approve of her new found faith and should keep her mouth shut.

She didn’t.

His male ego was shattered as she continued to speak the truth of God’s word because he was an upstanding man of God and she couldn’t possibly know something he didn’t.

We all had dessert and went on our way. They remained friends for many years after that until he passed away.

Isn’t that what Jesus did?

He spoke the truth even if it provoked people.

He walked in a spirit of authority that was noticeable but also offensive to some.

He was solid in His convictions and remained that way no matter how others responded.

Many in America today, including Christians are blinded from the truth. In their hearts is a rebellion against doing it “God’s way”. Instead they speak unwisely slamming that which they don’t understand because;

  • Their personal relationship to Christ is limited
  • It’s easy to dismiss what they don’t understand
  • They would have to admit they’ve been wrong and change
  • Reading and studying the Bible isn’t a priority

As I have grown in my walk with the Lord, I have noticed a boldness to speak about God that I never had before.

It wasn’t taught in the churches I attended.

Men were the head and we women were told to keep quiet, teach Sunday school and cook church dinners. Have I told you I didn’t inherit the ability to boil water?

The culture squashed speaking God’s word as evil has spread.

We allowed the enemy to tell Christians that we had to be “nice” as Matt Walsh wrote and remain doormats, therefore giving God very little voice.

And look where it got us?

Now having a conversation about the truth is considered unacceptable, narrow minded and repulsive. One woman told me I was exhausting her. Hhhhmmmm…I told her she didn’t have to read what I wrote. But she had no problem reading the very, lonnnnnnnnnngggggg comments from those who agreed with her.

There is a point to walk away as Jesus did, often. Say what He says and there is no need for defense because He doesn’t lie.

In this time we live in speaking out about Christ is needed more than ever.

But in order for it to be effective we have to do it “His way” and be Jesus to those listening.

To be continued…..mind

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “How would Jesus respond? (Part 1)

  1. We tend to ignore that Jesus said: “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword.” (Matthew 10:34)

Leave a Reply

