Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

God, why is this taking so long?

4 Comments


 

As I imposed that question to the Creator he reminded me of a few Biblical characters that waited and waited and waited for the dream he placed inside of them to come true.

Noah spent 120 years building the ark. I award him the greatest “builder” award in history.

ark

Abraham and Sarai waited for 20 years to have that child God promised.

Moses herded sheep for 40 years before God gave him the worst job on earth; putting up with the Israelites.

David ran from Saul and hid in caves for months at a time.

We know how Paul suffered multiple injuries and beatings, starvation, getting shipwrecked, imprisoned who knows how many times and for how many years….

Were these people slow learners?

Were they lacking faith in believing what God had promised them?

Did they waver in doubt and anxiety that maybe, just maybe what they thought they heard was a figment of their wild imagination?

I admit the struggle here for me has not been fun, easy or at all what my life would be at this point in time. Then I realize God’s sustenance.

My next big questions for God are, “as these great men of yours were pursuing this dream, destiny or what ever it was did you give them updates? Did you speak to them daily? or were you silent for months, or years on end without a word of encouragement?”

120 years to build a boat that entertained laughter from your friends about how crazy you are for thinking for one moment God told you to do it?

And that burning bush idea? Yeah, right.bush

“Abraham, you will be the Father of many nations….” Sure. Go tell your friends that one especially since you are what, 80 years old?

My point here is the test. God gives us a dream, a purpose or the destiny for which He created us for our time on this ugly, mean earth. Why? Because there has to be good in the midst of all the evil.

All of a sudden I received a download of revelation about why I’ve spent the last 19 years in and out of weird health issues. And I’m still dealing with them but now I know what’s taking so long; why this is happening and possibly my future in it. 

Not that I am Moses, Abraham or David or any resemblance but they possibly learned some of the same things I have while “waiting.”

We first learn how much God loves us which brings us to humble ourselves before Him in ways we never thought we would. 

We learn how to discern the truth from the devil’s lies. 

We are taught in the process how other’s feel going through their “seasons of waiting.”

We learn rejection and abandonment either brings us closer to God or further away.

Comparing ourselves to others only demeans the destiny and damages our character; therefore stop doing it.

Embarrassment becomes a non-issue so that persecution, being laughed at and bullied are the least of our worries.

We find out what is really important, and who is really in charge which results in total dependence on God for everything.

We are tested for our faith so that when God allows us to enter our “Ark” we are ready. That’s right. God often allows the fiery furnace to burn to make sure we can handle what will happen once that door of heat flies open letting us out into the world of wolves dressed in sheep’s clothing.

Years ago God gave me Isaiah 40:43 “Fear not [there is nothing to fear], for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen and harden you to difficulties, yes, I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with My [victorious] right hand of rightness and justice.”

God qualifies the unqualified. And if I have the idea of what He is qualifying me to do, I  respond as Moses did when he said to God, “why me? I am the most unqualified person to do what you are asking. Please get someone else!”

Graduation is always a great reward. God wants to make sure we are ready before He fits us for that golden cap and gown waiting in our closets.

cap

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “God, why is this taking so long?

  1. WOW! Amazing and TIMELY post. Your words have totally encouraged me as I am about to embark on a new chapter and hubby and I put aside for now a long held dream. Thank you so much for your faithfulness in getting these words out. Blessings and hugs!

  2. Ty Sheila. I have to wonder how God spoke to people who lived before the technology and resources that we have today. As an avid reader of God’s word and many prophetic words being spoken I find answers that fit my exact situation almost everyday. No one can tell me God isn’t creative!

  3. Jill Austin, suffered from many ailments before dying in 2009, but I especially liked what she said at a prophetic conference I attended in the late 1990s: “Have you learned that God is dangerous yet?”

    Austin was referring to being in God’s fiery furnace to remove impurities from our lives and how there was great pain involved in being in God’s furnace. The pain was not always physical, but she explained that God would not let us out until He was done with us.

    So, how long?

    Until we’re “well done,” as in “Well, done good and faithful servant.”

Leave a Reply

