Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Frantic or Panicked? (Part 1)

Leave a comment


 

To say we live in perilous times is an understatement. Turn the news on. Read Facebook. Look in your mailbox. One would think the world is ending ASAP.

If you want to be positive, don’t do any of those things I just mentioned; it will only depress you.

It takes effort to get and remain upbeat unless you have faith in God.

Faith? What is that? I can hear you screaming now.

I didn’t have a clue how to have faith in God or how to acquire it.

What happened is when all security in people, things and circumstances were pulled out from underneath me, I realized God was the only  safeguard that works. That was many years ago and I can tell you it was no walk in the park; no joy ride. Someone dug a grave and I fell in full of fear and dread.

Immediately I began seeking God for relief.

You ask, “How do you do that?”

Open the Bible. Ask God to lead you to verses He wants you to read. Write them down.

Make a habit to read them over and over and over. Everyday.

Pray about whatever your fears are. Talk to God as if He is your best friend which He wants to be. And understand prayer doesn’t have to be “all” serious and long. God and I chat off and on all day long about everything. He wants our relationship with Him to be relaxed, peaceful and yet, persistent.

As I began that journey I use this process in any area of my life where there is a need. God’s word is priceless. Get His word so ingrained in your heart and mind, nothing else has room to invade. On that note, don’t watch, listen, or read anything that may bring that panic to roost. If necessary, get new friends; ones that shed light instead of darkness.

God’s word keeps me hopeful. It keeps me going. His word isn’t a band aid. It’s the answer. Period.

Sometimes I read His word just for the heck of it. No need. No want. Just to be close to Him.

I’ll never forget the morning about 15 years ago while reading His word and praying all of a sudden a still, small voice said, “This is faith. You have it. “

It was one of those flashing moments of “ah HA! “ I got it! I understood it, finally.

The key is to keep close to God. As you do that it automatically builds your faith.  I don’t know how but I give God all the credit.

So in the midst of turmoil, unrest and total panic, look to God. Say little prayers like,

“God help me!” or “God, I need you right now!”

Meditate and memorize verses that apply to your need. Then when desperation, panic and fear erupt ask God to bring them to your mind through the Holy Spirit. Get prepared for Him to show them to you as if they float before your eyes!

He wants us to live in peace. If we do our part He will do His.

Peace is one of the greatest weapons against the enemy. That’s another blog post.

93

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

