Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Duty and Honor

Leave a comment


 

I did my duty and with honor.

As a South Carolinian I voted Saturday in our Presidential primary.

This is a give-a-way as it was for any registered Republicans.

Let me first say I may be registered Republican but am not happy with our present representatives in government. Coming from a long line of them, my stance is now more conservative than per se Republican. Let me also say I am even more disturbed by the so-called Democrats. At least they use to be reasonable, respectful and had more common sense than they do now.

It has been weeks of mailed brochures, letters and even phone calls of how I would vote.

I am backing up my position on the disrespect of one from the  Democratic Party; at least here in SC by a phone call I received about 2 weeks ago.

Before I could really tell who or what this guy represented he blurted out,

“We are trying to get a heads up on how people will vote here for the Primary. Please tell me who you plan to vote for on February 27th?”

Me, “Excuse me who are you again?”

He never really explained it.

Me, “Isn’t the 27th the Democratic primary?” 

“Well, yes. Who will you vote for, Hillary Clinton or Bernie Sanders?”

Me, “Neither. I am not a Democrat.”

Him, “Oh, I am really sorry to hear that! “

Me, “I’m not.”

Him, “Well maybe you should be.”

He then mumbled something because he realized he had not received the answer he wanted.  The phone clicked.

It wasn’t so much his words that bothered me, but his tone. He was immediately insulted and defensive giving off an attitude of exasperation.

This is not a post about political parties.

It’s a post about voting the way God would have us vote.

The candidates I had to choose from are a mixture. Maybe it would be best to throw them all in a bottle and shake them hoping one might turn out to be Presidential material.

And honestly it was only about the day before that I knew who I would vote for because I was waiting on God to give me the answer.

My ideal candidate wasn’t on the stages of the Republican Debates. But I am not God so what do I know?

Well, I do know God has chosen those in the past who maybe weren’t the strongest Christians, the most honorable or popular. He has placed in the Oval Office men who reflected the nature of our country who either were or weren’t Godly but encompassed what God intended for America to see or hear.

Now that may be good or bad depending on your personal relationship with Jesus Christ.

The Bible had many in leadership with a rap sheet.

Moses killed an Egyptian.

David not only slept with his best friends’ wife, he then tried to cover it up by killing his best friend.

Samson and Solomon were addicted to love in all the wrong places.

Peter is the father of betrayal of the worst kind.

But these men had one thing in common.

Eventually they became true men of God who devoted their lives to following Him. Some of their tactics, approaches and schemes may not have been the best choices but God was looking at their hearts, not their methodology.

Who’s to say God can’t or won’t do that with a sitting President? Or Congress or any leader possessing the position of earthly authority?  Who’s to say that won’t happen right now as we participate in bringing to America leaders to fill God’s will?

America is in need of deep prayer to bring people to Christ.

In achieving that, we will place in those positions of leadership the men and women God wants to achieve His purposes.

Make your first commitment to allowing God to fill your heart with His love.

Then you will know how He wants you to vote.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

