Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Keep Calm and Happy

7 Comments


 

Yeah right.

How long have I been on this journey?

The Bible is full of words about keeping peace all the time. First we have to learn how to get it to begin with.

It sounds so easy; it sounds so cliché; it sounds like a joke.journey

But it isn’t. God ordains peace and goes as far as giving it to us as a means of a reward for seeking him.  What?

So why is it the more I seek him the more chaotic my life is? My list is too long to write. And I admit a total failure in the realm of finding God’s peace yet I want it more than anything.

Inner peace with God is fully trusting him no matter what happens. Striving to trust him completely is the understanding we face death every day. In other words, be ready.

We have to get to the end of ourselves; letting go and letting God with everything.

The mention of losing control is the ultimate in realizing God is in control. We really don’t have much control; we have been fooled into believing we are. Yet the battle gets better when we do understand the loss of control because it is the beginning of inner peace with God.

It’s like asking the question, “Who do you run to when you have no other option?” As if God is a last resort……

My lack of control over my circumstances this past year brought me to a place with God I had never been before. That place of understanding He was my hope. My only hope.

Yea, maybe in the back of my bewildered mind I knew it, but actually applying it? Well, that is another story altogether.

I am guessing for most people we don’t think about it until we are in the position where we have no other option but God; can’t do anything about our circumstances or the control we thought we laid claim to never really existed. “False security?”

Yep. For the sake of trying to keep it together, our minds devise instruments of security to ward off the unknowing fear of the truth. The truth is God protects us from more than we know. What better reason to put our faith and trust only in Him?

Isaiah 54:17 describes it perfectly.

But no weapon that is formed against you shall prosper, and every tongue that shall rise against you in judgment you shall show to be in the wrong. This [peace, righteousness, security, triumph over opposition] is the heritage of the servants of the Lord [those in whom the ideal Servant of the Lord is reproduced]; this is the righteousness or the vindication which they obtain from Me [this is that which I impart to them as their justification], says the Lord.

In other words God gifts us with his peace and security as we triumph over oppression.

How many people would rather get a car? Or a trip or a boat?

Not me. I want peace.

 

7 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Happy

  1. I think this past year has been ‘a nightmare’ for many Christians, Cathy, including me. Going through the mill throws us on Him and our peace grows. Slowly but surely.

    • Deborah, I agree. I know so many going through unthinkable circumstances. And yet recently while I was so sick with the flu/ strep throat God did something I am going to write about. Not only does it reveal his presence, but his sense of humor! I hope you are feeling better…..

  2. “For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.” (Hebrews 12:11) Eventually, we do arrive at this point, but it takes a while…or it did with me.

  3. It seems we all have to reach the ‘End of our Rope’ before we have the breakthrough. Mine was 38 years ago when God delivered me from alcoholism in an instant! I have never wanted a drink since then. From falling down drunk every night to being a witness in an instant. Is’nt God WONDERFUL?

  4. OH! All my ‘friends’ deserted me the next day! So we have a price to pay, but it is worth it!

  5. can you imagine what it was like for the Israelites to be promised a wonderful place to live by God – only to live in the desert for 40 years before they got there? I’m sure some would have opted for a house by a lake – but some were willing to hang on to the end – me – I choose patience too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

