Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Speak Up, Speak Out

1 Comment


 

Forcing myself to go grocery shopping yesterday after a set-back from Strep throat was not my idea of a good start for the day. However the need for the few foods we were out of was the incentive to make the effort.  I thank God for the husband I have who is a master of the art of grocery buying.

Knowing the busy time at this particular store is around 3 pm when the base lets out, I go in the earlier part of the day to avoid the mass invasion.

After finding the few items I needed I headed for the one cash register #4 that was open. One man in front of me appeared disgruntled because the woman in front of him was buying a cart full of who knows what with WIC/food stamps. By the looks of this large, overweight woman she was eating a lot more than bread and milk.

I could tell the cashier was frustrated as we stood and waited while she attempts to break down the cost between the food stamps/WIC products.

No one working in the store even checked to see if people were waiting in line.

Finally I left #4 and headed for the Customer Service desk. The “broom boy” was sweeping and I asked him to get someone out to ring up my food.

He knocked on the door. A young woman, the CSM stepped out and asked what I needed.

“Please ring up my food.” I replied.iphone-welfare

CSM, “Ma’am you can go to register #4. She will do it for you. “

Me, “I just left her line. Why should I stand there for 15 minutes while that over-weight woman is getting free food that my family is paying for when I have food in my cart that I am paying for out of my pocket?”

CSM, “Ma’am, I will ring up your items on register #1.”

Her attitude changed immediately as if to be shocked that I spoke out against the fact I made such a comment. In fact she became surprisingly respectful. She knew exactly what I was talking about.

Far too long, we have as Christians stood by in a corner of self-humility and kept our mouths shut. Living on the premise we are supposed to be quiet and full of “turn the other cheek” motives, we have allowed evil to run right over us.

Well wake up.

Receiving the latest “Decision” magazine from the Billy Graham Association is an article written by Franklin Graham titled, “Cowards or Overcomers; Standing Strong.”

Living in the same community as Franklin Graham for 17 years I am well aware of his childhood and behaviors. Many people don’t care for him and he fit well as a youth as the son of a Preacher.

However, my perception is he inherited his love for God from his famous father but he also received his mother Ruth’s vivacious and often feisty mouth. The combination of the two is now serving him well.

Some have seen him as arrogant, controlling and demanding but God is using those traits to speak up and speak loud about the truth especially about America. He is not afraid of the speaking the Gospel nor does he care what people think of him.  He is not afraid to speak the truths of abortion, homosexuality or the great mishaps of our present government.

But in this article he is adamant in his words of how the church has failed to follow the leading of the Holy Spirit that has now handed down our society of immorality.

“Twisting God’s word leads to rejecting God’s message. We must guard against handling the Word of God in a cowardly fashion but rather preach the entire Word of God because his grace and His judgment flow from his love.”

Those words he wrote will shatter many leaders in the church.

He is referencing the church as cowards bending to the altar of tolerance instead of truth, buckling under the crossfire of discomfort or offense, and leaving our America with a gaping hole of undernourished Christians.

Robbing Peter to pay Paul isn’t in the Bible. God doesn’t force us to give anything away.

God never stipulated that governments are to reach down the throats of hard working people to give to those in need or who can work and don’t to become dependent, drunk, or overweight. We are by a giving heart to help those whom God places in our paths to help.

As Franklin Graham says, it is time for Christians to “stand strong” speaking the truth in boldness with love.

The church is supposed to be God’s army. An army doesn’t sit back and keep still or quiet in the midst of a war. An army takes the initiative to fight for what is right no matter the cost.

Read the Bible and you will see the hand of God in many battles and wars.

And they weren’t won by a bunch of cowards.

Proverbs 28: 1 “The wicked flee when no one pursues, but the righteous are bold as a lion.”

http://billygraham.org/decision-magazine/july-august-2014/cowards-or-overcomers-standing-strong/#

 

One thought on “Speak Up, Speak Out

  1. I am so proud of you! I always try to turn the other cheek, but sometimes I get tired of being stepped on like an old rug

Leave a Reply

