Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

He speaks; he really does….Obadiah

4 Comments


 

God continues to wake me up to Obadiah. Just when I think he has told me everything to know about these 21 verses he comes up with more information!jacob-&-esau

Now after spending hours reading and praying over this little book, I have come to enjoy whoever this prophet was without knowing much about him.  He was a man of few words that spoke the truth emphatically.

My first thinking was “how does this prophecy relate to America today?”

By the 6th day of reading Obadiah within the first verse God enlightened me that he was speaking of “Jesus.”

He writes, “Thus says the Lord concerning “Edom.” We have heard tidings from the Lord and an ambassador is sent forth among the nations. Arise and let us rise up against “Edom” for battle.”

Obadiah was prophesying the coming of the Savior. Jesus is the “ambassador” who has already defeated “Edom” or the enemy himself.

His adjectives of describing the outcome of Edom or Satan hold nothing back. Words or phrases such as:

“I will make you small among the nations. You will be exceedingly despised. ” (Verse 2)

“I will bring you down from the mountaintop.” (Verse 4)

“Those who were at peace with you; your allies and confederacy have deceived you. They have set a snare beneath you.” (Verse 7)

“I will destroy the wise men of Edom; they shall be dismayed. Mount Esau will be cut off by slaughter.”
(Verses 7-9)

“You will be shamed and cut off forever.” (Verse 10)

“For as you have done to the nation of Israel, so shall it be done to you.” (Verse 15)

“There shall be no survivor from the house of Esau.” (Verse 18)

The Edomite’s from Esau down hated Jacob’s family and fought for generations to stop them from getting to land God had given them. Cutting them off after they left Egypt, the Israelites had to go around the mountains of Edom instead of going through it. 

The Edomite’s were known for their self-sufficiency; their smug arrogant conceit. Believing no one could stop them or destroy them, they had no gods. In their overconfident minds they needed no gods or were the equivalent themselves.

As you can read, God has no mercy for such thinking.

Obadiah is a written promise of the ultimate battle against Satan. He will be as the Edomite’s were; and are no more. It is noted that the descendants of Esau ended by the year 70 A.D.

Beyond the prophecy of the end time is the replication God infuses to those who do not follow him. Take it as a warning, a red flag of truth and get right with God. He is not fooling around here; he wants people to come to Jesus before it is too late.

Making it clear that God has no clemency for the enemy, he does insert a last note of compassion for anyone who wishes to escape the horrors of “hell.”  Verse 17 he announces deliverance for those who flee to the house of Jacob.

The question remains; are you living in Esau or Jacob’s house? 

twins

 

 

4 thoughts on “He speaks; he really does….Obadiah

  1. This was very interesting reading. I had never heard of this book. Thank you very much for sharing and always teaching me something new

    • Terry, TY. Sorry it has taken so long for me to get back to you but ever since dad passed away almost 6 weeks ago things keep going wrong or breaking. I am hoping life here will calm down so I can get back to some “normalcy” whatever that is! And yes, I too had very little knowledge of Obadiah until God led me to read it. He continues to tell me to read it to learn more. Hope you are doing well?

      • As people keep telling me, I will tell you the same thing. Take your time and expect ups and downs. After Al died, which is now over two months, my body fell apart. Sick and aches and pains. i think God kept me on hold until after Al passed and then everything let loose

      • Yes. My body did that after my divorce years ago. Trauma affects us later. For 17 years I have dealt with weird illnesses/sicknesses. I am finally feeling better physically than I have in years; but everything keeps breaking in the house now! LOL!

Leave a Reply

