Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Reflection

2 Comments


 

As we stood in silence during church this morning the Trumpeter played “Taps.” In this very military based city, Memorial Day holds deep roots.

My father who recently passed away was a veteran in WWII. At 18, he was sent over to Normandy Beach on a ship to clean up the mess. Everyone on the ship got sick he told me, and he survived on 24 Clark Bars because the food was so terrible.

His brother, 17 months older than dad was also in WWII. I can only imagine my grandparent’s heartache at having to send one, much less two.

Dad never talked about his 2 years in the Air Force much. I asked questions but he was for the most part quiet about it all.  Who knows what he saw while he was there.

I know he loved airplanes. When I was young we would drive 20 minutes to the Charlotte airport where people could park their cars and watch the airplanes taking off and landing.

Watching some war movies this weekend brings home the truth of how much I hate war. That doesn’t mean it won’t happen; it has for centuries. God reminds us in the Bible, “there will be wars and rumors of war.” That also means God is with those who are with him.

My heart goes out to the families of those who have lost loved ones in war.

And for families who have suffered under an unconscionable VA hospital system.

We are America and should start acting like it.

For those of us who are Christians, we need to take the authority God gave us through Jesus and stop the enemy. 

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, for good and not for evil, for a future and a hope.”  

2 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. You tell ’em, Cathy! Sharing in your endeavor.

Leave a Reply

