Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Living Life Up Side Down

4 Comments


After Christmas seemed to be a good time to attack some changes in home “decor.” Re-arranging only comes with a mood to make adjustments especially when it comes with dusting.  The incentive arrives when the mind becomes weary with no change. Like everything else, the rooms we live in need a little upgrade or re-positioning.

Over the years we either have collected books, inherited books or bought books. A good library is a plus especially when it adds to the “design” but more importantly is a “good read” for knowledge, wisdom or just for fun. Getting away in a John Grisham book is an adventure into the legal world of Mississippi Justice.

Underneath our big screen TV in the den is a book lover’s display dream. Stack them, give them some bookends, or add some flair. Books from family hold special meaning even if “Little Women” or the “Bobbsey Twins” fight over the front row seat.

4 of my college yearbooks were taking up space on a nearby table.
Moving them above the National Geographic’s and Anne of Green Gables looked like a perfect fit.upside

Hurriedly I finished and headed for the kitchen to fix dinner.

There are some people that need a good slap upside the head. These are the ones who enter a room and find the one piece of “style” out of place.

While rushing to finish (so I could make dinner for that someone) I mistakenly placed one yearbook upside down.

Even as orderly and dust-free as the entertainment center was that was never mentioned.

Making it clear to me the yearbook was wrongly positioned I shrugged it off AS I CLEANED THE KITCHEN!

The next morning I poured me a hot cup of New Orleans Famous French Market Dark Roast coffee and sat down in my swivel chair to have a conversation with God.

As I began to enjoy a moment of peace it stared at me.  The upside down yearbook stood out like a book out of place. Of course I would accidentally picked the one of the four that is the most noticeable.

Ignoring the need to make it right, I continued my warm cup of coffee with the Creator.

Turning my chair away from the books kept my mind on what I was doing but not long. After that I swiveled back around only to find the upside down book still upside down.

I guess the “book police” hadn’t received my memo to do something
about this blunder but I surely wasn’t going to fix it.
upside down

Why wasn’t I going to fix it? I didn’t want to bother? It wasn’t my job? Then…..who was going to flip it?

No one.  Some things need not to be changed.

That still small voice spoke, “Leave it. Let it be a reminder every time you feast your eyes upon it of your flaws; your mistakes; your inaccuracies. And then remember who fixed them.”

Enough said.

John 16: 33 “These things I have spoken to you, that in me you might have peace. In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” (AKJV)

4 thoughts on “Living Life Up Side Down

  1. I would have been itching to turn that book over! Well done.

  2. Pingback: Living Life Up Side Down | Did Jesus have a Facebook Page? | Rough-Hewn

Leave a Reply

