Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

An Unlikely Pair or Not?

6 Comments


It was one of those things.

Gene Simmons or Chaim Weitz (Hebrew)

Gene Simmons or
Chaim Weitz (Hebrew)

Had I not seen it for myself I would not have believed it.

Gene Simmons, the hard rocker of KISS, speaking out on behalf of Tim Tebow?

Gene Simmons and Tim Tebow on the same team?

Actually yes. His LA Arena Football team. He is actively recruiting Tebow to play for the team he owns.

The group “KISS” was very popular when I was growing up, but I never listened to them nor did I have any desire to watch their vulgar acts and shows.  Simmons wasn’t shy with his lewdness or improprieties.

After delving into this possible “odd couple” my husband told me to watch a video of Simmons speaking about Tim Tebow.

I was shocked as I heard him defend this man of God for his Christian faith. He continued to politely but with strong firmness extend his wrath toward the media and anyone who would persecute him.  His words were not that of an aging rocker but an avid spokesman.  It was apparent this man left his costume years ago and took on a career as a very successful business man.

He was wise with his fortune from his guitar days of KISS.

The hard rocker is now worth 300 million and owns or is partnered with numerous outstanding companies.

Gene Simmons speaks 4 languages: English, Hebrew, Hungarian and German.

I must admit judging from his horrid past it was evident he was made of a lot more than ugly face makeup.

Reading his bio as my husband and I tried to understand his position which seemed so out of character, I discovered he is an Israeli born American whose heritage has come alive.

In March of 2011 Simmons returned to his homeland of Israel. He describes the visit as a “life-changing event.”  After the trip he told how he still feels like an outsider here in America, but loves this nation. In October of 2011, 6 months after this change, whatever it was he married his longtime live in wife, a former playboy playmate.  Prior to that his views on marriage were against the institution.

He is now a staunch supporter of conservatism and regrets voting for President Obama in 2008. His reason? Beginning with the President’s venture for Israel and the Palestinians to go back to the 1967 settlement lines, Obamacare and the U.N. which he describes as “the most pathetic body on the face of the earth.”

As the President continued to de-militarize our military, Simmons began to disagree more and more with the Obama Administration.  He supported the war in Iraq and President George Bush’s stance on foreign policy. He voted for Mitt Romney in November of 2012.  He is quite open about his change of heart in politics.

In his own words:

“I’m ashamed to be surrounded by people calling themselves liberal who are, in my opinion, spitting on the graves of brave American soldiers who gave their life to fight a war that wasn’t theirs…in a country they’ve never been to… simply to liberate the people therein. I wasn’t born here. But I have a love for this country and its people that knows no bounds. I will forever be grateful to America for going into World War II, when it had nothing to gain, in a country that was far away… and rescued my mother from the Nazi German concentration camps. She is alive and I am alive because of America. And, if you have a problem with America, you have a problem with me.”

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gene_Simmons

So….a partnership with Tim Tebow isn’t so bizarre after all.

Tim Tebow

Tim Tebow

Ummmmmmm……and he has never been a politician?

Psalm 125: 5 “Peace be upon Israel.”

http://video.foxnews.com/v/2663900878001/will-tim-tebow-play-for-gene-simmons/

 

6 thoughts on “An Unlikely Pair or Not?

  1. If I didn’t know you better I would say this is a spam post, but knowing you I believe you but wow, that must have been something else!!!! hugs

  2. That is pretty amazing. I remember going to KISS concerts when I was in college. My lifestyle was a little different back then. I’m glad to learn of the change – maybe he can make a difference with the influence he has.

    • God is full of surprises these days….and Gene Simmons change is definitely one of them. In the video the first thing he asked fox and friends was why they were still playing a 40 year old video of KISS? It almost sounded like he wants that to stop. God is already using him.

  3. Oh my goodness, this is SO interesting!!! I didn’t know this! “whose heritage has come alive…” couldn’t have said it better! 😀

  4. Praise God for His wonderful deeds!

Leave a Reply

