Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Shaken not Stirred?

1 Comment


Ian Fleming (1908-1964)Ian Fleming: 1908-1964

Ah, the famous words of James Bond. His signature line used for his favorite drink, a martini was actually a sideline from the author himself.  Rumor has it Ian Fleming preferred his drinks shaken. Stirring a martini he said diminishes the flavor.

So much for Hollywood; if you haven’t noticed the world is shaking maybe you should forego those drinks and look to see what is going on around you.

My world shook last Monday as my husband’s laptop sat in my lap only to throw up the sign, “back up your files; the hard drive is about to crash.”

Now, writing on my very, old, old laptop I am awaiting the results from the local tech savvy repair man to inform me of its fate. Also while we have enjoyed tax free weekend here in SC, my husband used his management techniques to wind his way through 4-5 agents to buy me a new laptop. Information was given to me that wasn’t true so employing him to call works wonders.

I am so looking forward to getting it.

However I must admit God allowed me to see how much time I actually spend on these fixtures of technology.  Unimpressed by my own obsession, getting other necessary things done occurred. My rationale was “God, you know I write a lot about you.”

After realizing what a temporal, sad state I was in, throwing a pity party for the inability to read, blog, post or surf was eluded. In fact, it made me aware of how to live without it again but not for long. While the world is blowing up in literal flames, I became aware once again of priorities.

Yes. The world is shaking. God is moving things around, throwing them out and exposing “dastardly deeds” for whom and what they are. What many believe is unimaginable, fearful and rock solid the end of the world as they know it, is God’s ability to step in and weed out the good from evil.

God gave detailed instructions to Noah to build an ark for a future flood. He was ridiculed, laughed at and thought to be crazy, but he had the last laugh.

Isn’t that what he did when he sent Moses to deliver the Israelites from slavery?

I hate flies, but watching David slay the Giant from a front row seat would have been fun. Can you imagine how “shaken” the rest of his crew were when he fell dead from a rock?

What did they have in common that we have also?

Psalm 91: 10-13 “If you say, “The Lord is my refuge,”
    and you make the Most High your dwelling,
 no harm will overtake you,
    no disaster will come near your tent.
 For he will command his angels concerning you
    to guard you in all your ways;
 they will lift you up in their hands,
    so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.
 You will tread on the lion and the cobra;
    you will trample the great lion and the serpent.”

God hasn’t changed since the flood or the parting of the Red Sea or the killing of a giant. He has been the same since the beginning of time.

What he did for them he will and is doing for us.

As he shakes the evil out of people, he has unleashed “Josephs” and “Esther’s” and “Daniel’s” across the lands to gather God’s army together. He is fighting behind the scenes of warfare and showing up in bedrooms of children in country’s laden with the enemy’s grief. (Isaiah 49:25) What we see is temporary; what is unseen is eternal.
(2 Corinthians 4:18)

God is with us, beside us and going before us. (Isaiah 52:12)

And I never go anywhere without my Guardian Angels.

One thought on “Shaken not Stirred?

  1. I can relate very well to your post. Last week I didn’t have internet for a day. You know what I had the audacity to do? I cleaned the house, I mean like closet stuff. yuck! I am back on the internet and the closets shall remain calm until fall arrives

Leave a Reply

