Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

What kind of Veins do you have?

8 Comments


Having been told this over my lifetime but never quite in the way our doctor’s nurse did yesterday.

As she asked to take my blood pressure she stopped and all but laughed a scream:

“Wow! Look at that vein! You are a Phlebotomists dream!”i stick

Well, I have been called many things, but never a Phlebotomists dream.  She couldn’t get over what a large vein I have in my arm.

She then proceeded with the conversation telling me, “Oh that is a medical joke.  We go around looking for good veins in people!” LOL!

From now on I will be extra careful around Phlebotomist just in case they decide to hunt me down with a needle!

The veins running through our body carry blood back to the heart and lungs.  This process is done after the veins receive an exchange of carbon dioxide and oxygen from the capillaries.  Small parts that do a great big job; we can’t live without them.

Veins remind me of God’s words:  John 15:5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

We are extensions of him. Like our veins, we are to carry his word in and around, up and over, under and through the lifeline of people.heart

As difficult as it appears at times God places his disciples in hard places.

Joseph the youngest of Jacob was sold and imprisoned for 13 years.  His love for God brought him favor with everyone he came into contact with.

Paul was imprisoned but while there he brought the guards and their family members to Christ.

These great men, like our bodies became veins carrying the blood of Christ to the world.

The human body is an amazing creation. Bones, muscles, arteries, organs, skin, eyes, teeth, limbs all work together to keep us going; to keep us alive.

We are made in the image of God.  Anyone who doubts his existence need only to study the inner workings of the human body; the intricate details he built in each one of us.

We are woven in place by the Holy Father’s love and mercy and grace.

I wonder if God knew the veins he gave us would become a Phlebotomist dream.

line5

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/understanding-fear/

http://diaryofasuperchamp.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/how-do-i-guard-my-heart-part-i-the-word/

8 thoughts on “What kind of Veins do you have?

  1. great story and good example

  2. I pray God always ensures He keeps me as a Phlebotomist’s dream for Him! 😀

  3. I’m Irish so my veins are green. 🙂

  4. “…These great men, like our bodies became veins carrying the blood of Christ to the world…”

    Great analogy. Thanks.

  5. I’ve been told several times that I have great veins… what exactly are you supposed to say to that? lol! Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

