Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

27 Viruses and Zucchini Bread

8 Comments


That’s right. And 85 updates.

There should be a law against such serious neglect of a laptop.

Not only is it careless delinquency, attached was a descriptive lie.

“My laptop has never had a virus,” intelligent words spoken by the man of the house.

“I hardly use the thing. I connect it to the TV to watch shows not on satellite or movies so updating or general maintenance never crossed my mind.”

Typical.

He cared little the machine was slow as Christmas or froze while trying to type a blog. Wait a minute. He doesn’t blog. He has a Masters Degree but don’t enter him in a spelling bee.

He started farming again. He and his buddy have a garden out in the boonies. Glad I didn’t vacuum or clean the kitchen floor. The trail of dirt is our new decoration.

The bucket of fresh cut zucchini, green peppers and cucumbers added that good ole’ farm fresh smell in the house.

The 85 updates took a while but I got it done. Programs he never used I uninstalled and cleaned up his desktop.

When I returned from the computer repairman, the aroma in the house was like a bakery. The zucchini bread he had baked from scratch was almost done. One was for us and the other was for the men in his church class.

I quit baking. Baking a cake to me is like the laptop is to him. Foreign.

God knew what he was doing when he created people from different molds. What one person can do, the next person could care less about or is shall we say, “Challenged?”

Encouraging others to do that which we are not meant to do or simply are not good at is a branch of God’s goodness. Recognizing our inadequacies as a benefit is not the average person’s rule of thumb.

What? How can you say that?dance

When you realize what you are not good at, you focus on what you are good at.

For instance: I found out early on in our marriage my husband is an excellent shopper. Managing grocery stores for years he learned the tricks of the trade along with dealing with their employees. He does the bulk of our grocery buying. Fine with me!

He wouldn’t blog if he was paid to but ask him to put together an entire stereo, TV system or video equipment and you have a saved yourself a wad of money. He managed Circuit City stores also.

If there is an area of your life you are let’s say lacking in, talk to God about it. He may want you to improve in that area. If so allow him to teach you.

However if you are not overly qualified to climb telephone poles, take on a missions project or be the President of the United States and God says “No” don’t do that, then don’t.

1 Peter 4:10 “As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace.”

Misjudging your gifts is not an inadequacy. Decades of trying to bake a cake has finally hit me God would rather me concentrate on the areas he has gifted me; and it is a relief not to worry about the next cake that falls.

fallen-chocolate-cake

Instead of feeling jealous, hurt or envious you are not equipped to run a marathon or grow vegetables, understand there are people who are; so let them!

As for me, I hear the zucchini bread calling.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/the-condition-of-our-souls/

http://proverbs4today.wordpress.com/2013/06/08/am-i-teachable-2/

Copyright @ 2013 All Rights Reserved

8 thoughts on “27 Viruses and Zucchini Bread

  1. I love the smell of your bread baking. My biggest and weakest area, although I pray about it all the time is worrying. I hate being a worrier, I hate it

  2. Maybe you should try chocolate oatmeal no-bake cookies, even I can handle these.

  3. The principle that for every gift God gives there’s one (or more) He withholds is so freeing! I love how you bring this out. 🙂

  4. Don’t worry about the things you can’t do; concentrate on doing the things you can! We can all do something. 🙂

  5. Wise words! It has taken me many years, however, to begin to understand the stuff I should focus on and the stuff I should leave to others. Personally, I love to bake and cook – it’s a nice break from all the thinking/reading/writing that I do. But I leave the computer maintenance and all things electronic to my EE husband.

    • Judy, the stigmas we grow up I think have a lot to do with what we think we are to do. Women are supposed to be able to cook? right? In my family yes. I am the lone wolf who can’t hold a candle to them in the kitchen. Now, there are many men who are chefs and much better cooks so that stigma belongs in Eden.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

