Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Balance? Peace?

6 Comments


Peace that passes all understanding is worth striving for.

So is balance. The two have a connection. Balance can give peace and peace can give balance.

This is not the “peace” made up in the 70’s hippie movement or by John Lennon.
Far from it. All it amounted to was a silly sign:peace

Countries have fought throughout history for peace. Interpretation could mean people learning how to get along with each other.

Well, we know how that doesn’t work.

Why? We have lost our way.

We have moved away from that which is peace.

We have replaced it with “self.” Self centers on self which forgets others resulting in greed which is a basis for pride. Pride goes before the fall.

Peace can only be found through Christ. Step-by-step we have to rid ourselves of self as it is the only way to truly see Jesus. This is done by getting closer to God, reading his word and asking him to help us become more like Jesus.

On the other side of spiritual peace is the need for physical serenity. Our bodies react to all kinds of positive or negative feedback. The key is to balance them both.

Yea, I know… I hear you screaming, “how can I possibly be peaceful in this messed up, mucked up world?”

You have to search for it. Yearn for it. Seek it with all your heart. You may as well start now because the world isn’t peaceful at all. But you can be with God’s help.

Jeremiah 29: 12-14 “Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord.”

The following video caught my attention last night. As I watched it, I could feel my body and mind relaxing as she performs one of the most impossible acts of balance I have ever seen. It is a little over 7 minutes long, but she will keep you glued right up to the very  end. After  watching her, I questioned whether this performance is more physical or mental.  What do you think?

6 thoughts on “Balance? Peace?

  1. Interesting video. Somehow, she has learned to minimize her muscle movement and concentrate at an unbelievable high level.

  2. if we all lived in peace can you imagine what this world would be like?

  3. Wow! Do I respond to the post or the video? It’s amazing to watch such a video in a faced-paced and hyped society? Your post reminds me that you cannot have one without the other.

    • Yes, Yvette that is exactly it. As the video began, maybe it is me but my thoughts were how adaptable her physical body had to be with the balance. But the more I watched it, I noticed she looked at the pieces of wood more than the feather. Putting the two together, I wonder if she had to plan the entire balancing act in her mind before doing it physically and most likely over and over. She had to see herself doing this before she could actually do it. Just like faith!

      Here is an example: When I was in high school I worked in the summers at our church conference center. I love it! Most of the time I was a housekeeper which I liked because I could work on my own time. When the kitchen staff were short or a huge group was arriving, they also made me a waitress. I had never done that before but I was only 16-17 years old.

      Embarrassed because I kept dropping trays finally the manager realized I was having a horrible time he asked me “why are you focusing on the tray instead of where you are walking?”

      Thinking to myself I said, “because I don’t want it to fall?” He told me to stop looking at the tray and focus on where you are going and you won’t drop the tray. He was right. It works every time. Isn’t that how God wants us to walk with him in our daily lives!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      ________________________________

  4. Simply amazing! Great writing, Cathy!

Leave a Reply

