Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

“Singin in the Shower”

6 Comments


Life just isn’t fair.

Why it is one person is granted the luxuries of abundance and the next person is just wanting food on their table.

The old cliché of “what goes around comes around” is being overdone, misinterpreted and dragged around like an old wagon.

Centuries of age old sins crop up to bind the fruits of future friendships, neighbors and relationships.

Our generation had nothing to do with that evil. Why are we being singled out?”

“Because you represent those who committed it. How do we know your ancestors weren’t part of such discrimination?”

How do you know they weren’t?”

Assumptions are made; progress is halted and the hate continues.

Unforgiven mindsets are graves dug for the future of children and grandchildren. Revenge is set in motion and the altercations continue.

Stop and think before you produce an “Ishmael.”

The most educated country in all of history gushes on its past wickedness while condoning that which was considered “unspeakable” 30 years ago.

Some things just need to be left alone.

Living in the south, the racial atmosphere has been bludgeoned by those who don’t live here.

Sure, slavery was one of the worst cultural desecrations every committed in this country.  The thought of it sickens me and had I lived during those times, I might have been one who lost their life fighting against this horror.

As Christians today are persecuted, kidnapped, tortured and/or killed, it is no different from the slavery of the past. It was Christians who began the fight to stop slavery because they knew it was evil.529670_423549414395260_1157735294_n

Still, it rears its ugly head in the sight of political gain; mostly reverberating from others who don’t live where I do.

The population difference in my county of blacks to white is all but equal.  A benefit arising from the now Air Force and Army base here are the cultural aspects from military personnel stationed here from all over. It adds to the enrichment of this community.

Some enjoyable conversations have been in the grocery stores with good ole’ southern African American women.

Standing in line one day, the grandmother pulled in behind me with a load of chicken, potatoes and greens of all kinds.  The embarrassment of never cooking fresh greens opposed to opening a can made her laugh when I asked her how she cooked them.

“Honey, you mean to tell me you never cooked fresh turnip greens or collards?”

Sheepishly, I responded, “Ugh. No ma’am.”

“Well, let me tell you how. Get a big pot, throw them greens in there with turnips if you like em’, cover in water, add salt and pepper. Season with ham hocks or bacon, add a pinch of sugar if needed. Just let em’ cook until they reach the consistency you like. “

In this same store is a young black man, tall, handsome and strong. He runs the register at the Customer Service counter. After he gave an announcement over the intercom, I placed my groceries on his counter.

I asked him, “Do you sing?”

Timidly, he looked at me and said, “Well, what do you mean?”

“By the sound of your speaking voice, I imagine you can sing like Stevie Wonder or Barry White?”

A little embarrassed he kind of grinned and replied,Singing-in-the-Shower-266x300

I do sing in the shower.”

“Most of the greats started out singing in the shower. So you enjoy it?”

“Yes, ma’am. I do.”

As I took my groceries I told him, “Then don’t waste what God has given you. Use it.”

He smiled as I walked off.

The amount of clash around here is minimal compared to Washington politics skewing over racism.

Maybe our politicians/journalists/left winged liberals could learn a thing or two on how to get along from us southern, low-country folk.

That’s right. Send em’ here. We’ll straighten em’ out.

Not only will we teach em’ how to cook collards, we’ll church em.’

____________________________________________________________________________________________

 http://vineoflife.net/2013/04/12/writing-assignment-at-albany-high-school-explain-why-jews-are-evil/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/to-try-to-love/

http://simplyjuliana.com/2013/04/11/let-me-do-unto-you-as-you-have-done-unto-me/

Copyright @ 2013 All Rights Reserved

6 thoughts on ““Singin in the Shower”

  1. Good stuff, Kathy. I’m still smilin’…

  2. “…Sure, slavery was one of the worst cultural desecrations every committed in this country. The thought of it sickens me and had I lived during those times, I might have been one who lost their life fighting against this horror…”

    I lived in the South and loved it there, but what always sickened me was that I might have been FOR slavery, not knowing any better because of the time period.

Leave a Reply

