Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Purpose

6 Comments


Just when you have no idea what you are doing or why you are in a place you are in, God shows up in the form of a purpose.

This display of his character is a leading often missed. It is in those times of bewilderment he reminds us of his goals, not ours. Making the mistake of “it’s all about me” is it is never about me.

There are those who are called to do the great work of missions, or the Pastors who shepherd the flocks of God.  Also many are gifted in song or the genius of a musical instrument.  Teachers somehow know they were born to teach and the joy of loving the work of a nursery comes naturally.

When you are blatantly not gifted to belt out Michael W. Smiths’ “Find my place in this world” or given the hands to flow over the keyboards of Grand pianos, resolve is a rite of passage.

The further I get into understanding the knowledge of God, the more he discloses his personal joy of surprise.  The unknowing of a purpose is or can be quite exciting because you never know what God will do next.

God loves to test his followers. Many tests have come my way only to fail miserably.  The plight of knowing where I belong has extended beyond the limits of what I can see in the natural. In this effort of unforeseen examinations, God is showing me what it really means to trust him completely.

Certainly the mastery of this level is far off yet moments of faith kick in and at times almost feel tangible. A good test is to go where you aren’t sure you belong or where you have no idea why you are there.  Doing so by faith in God, allows him to show up and sometimes show off.

Living in the center of God’s will is purpose. The goal to find a place of worship to call home has been a dilemma in the center of God’s will. How does that work? One party goes, enjoys and makes it their habitation. The other flounders, reaches, seeks and hunts for peace and acceptance only to be typecast and thrown under the bus.body-01

But….that is when God asks the hunter to have faith in him; not his people. “Go” he says and see what I will do for you.

The row wasn’t full. He asked if he could sit next to me. Struggling, he admitted he had a bad knee.

His baseball cap was loaded with military campaign stickers lined with WWII, Korean War and Vietnam Veteran letters. When asked what they were for, he responded, “Those are all the places I served and didn’t do much of anything.”

We both laughed and he smiled as I helped him get his jacket off.

He was a 30 year military man. His wife died around 10 years ago. His service career made me question how he had managed all 3 wars. His response was,
“well, I’m 93 years old, I think.”  Shocked at hearing this, he pulled out his wallet. His feeble fingers worked to get his VALID Driver’s License out. He pointed to the year of his birth: 1919.

“Yep. I am 93. That’s what this says.”

For the next hour I was enlightened to sit beside a war hero who had no idea he was a war hero.  6 years shy of being on this earth for almost a century, I sensed nothing but joy, peace and a gracious heart.communion-01

As I held his communion cup so it wouldn’t spill on his pants he said thank you. When it was over I helped him stand up on his weak knee. Taking his jacket off the back of his chair I placed it on his shoulders and helped him put his arms in the sleeve.

As we walked out, he asked if I came there often. “YES” I said. He told me he would look for me, gave me a big smile and said goodbye.

I ran to my car in the pouring rain. Thinking to myself “he thought I was helping him.”

But I was the one who was blessed.

And then I heard God laughing.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/the-light-is-christ/

http://simplyjuliana.com/2013/03/23/proverbs-163-when-we-think-like-god-our-plans-succeed/Co

Copyright @ 2013 All Rights Reserved

Graphics by www.churchgraphics.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Purpose

  1. that was beautiful Cathy………

  2. Thank you for a wonderful story well told!

  3. Awesome story! Enjoyed!
    God Bless you, Cathy!

Leave a Reply

