Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Lost Tribes

7 Comments


Friday afternoon is not the time to go to Wal-Mart. Traffic is full of people who don’t know how to drive and they are all in a hurry.

However, having been stuck in the house for almost 3 weeks, getting out into the brash nerves and strained faces of those in rush hour to enjoy a TGIF I made the trip.

Once I arrived, and said “good morning” to the lady who greets everyone, I realized it was 4:30 in the afternoon. No wonder she flashed a scrutinizing stare at me.

Crawling with people, carts and motor scooters I weaved in and out of aisles of clothes, coffee makers and Valentine Candy.

My goal was to buy a new Vaporizer since the one I had “kicked the bucket.” Making my way to the nasal sprays, Benadryl and a vast array of allergy meds, the very few Vaporizers were stuck in a little corner at the back. The choice was one or the other so I took the other.

Heading to the dairy department, children were screaming, parents were fussing while military personnel picked out Valentine candy.

This trip was wearing on my soul. Yogurt was popular; 3 women and their carts blocked any idea of breaking their heated conversation over who was dating who or “did you hear what happened to so and so?”

I just wanted out. Give me my yogurt and let me leave.

Those words had barely left my thoughts when I recognized the whisper.

I stopped.

The propensity of his heart speaking to mine uttered the questions…..

“What do you see?”

“What is in front of you?”

“What is surrounding you?”

My first response would have been Greek yogurt, Chocolate Ice Cream and Cottage Cheese but somehow I knew that wasn’t the answer he wanted.

Strolling through the meat and produce section, I surveyed the areas.

I witnessed hostile frowns, quickened steps and irritated customers. Some counted their pennies as if to be living one paycheck to another.

Bored husbands followed wives around like puppy dogs. Young teens remained connected to their phones hoping their parents would hurry up and finish.steve harvey

One man spoke to an elderly woman, “Hi, how are you?”

Her response, “Oh just barely making it.”

Searching for a short line seemed improbable, but found one with one customer ahead of me. The clerk was an older woman. Turning to the side, she placed her hand on her forehead and closed her eyes. Informing me of the cost, she appeared to be in pain and the least bit interested in her job.

Lonely, discouraged people making an effort to get through one more day of this “hell” on earth. Living tragedies, misery and hidden agendas framed their worn out faces.

It was then God revealed to me how much I had been in my own little world while he opened up to me all these others were trapped in theirs.

My suffering was notably minute compared to the afflictions these souls harbored. Without knowing any hardships or distress of these shoppers, God made it clear to me how good I have it.

In the same reflection he reminded me of the harvest he is in the process of showering upon the earth. We, who he has called, will soon be tuned into the one of the greatest outpouring of the Holy Spirit ever known.

Once home, I thanked God for daily shedding the veil from my heart. In the midst of tempers flaring and a store full of dejected ailing people, he communicated with me how I use to be one of them. By his mercy and grace only, he gave me an exit from the “lonely hearts club.”

God has and is planting his trained warriors in nations and areas where evil seems to be thriving. He works between the lines of hatred and the ranks of power hungry reprobates. In other words, he is transforming lives from the inside out.

Sometimes all God needs is a willing follower of Jesus to land their feet on the soil in a village of a lost tribe or the deserts of Afghanistan or Iraq.

Other believers he sends to Wal-Mart.

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/learning-about-god/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/memories/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/silence-in-the-face-of-evil/

http://wordpress.com/#!/read/blog/id/3379638/

Copyright @ 2013 All Rights Reserved

7 thoughts on “Lost Tribes

  1. “…Bored husbands followed wives around like puppy dogs…”

    Arf! Arf! Arf! That’s me.

  2. we all need to remember that there are others much worse off, thank you

  3. Very interesting post! Definitely enjoyed reading…Thanks for sharing and many, many blessings to you…Robin

  4. Thank you for visiting and liking my post!! I really appreciate your thoughts and your surrendered heart towards the still small voice of the Lord! Ever since reading one of CS Lewis’ books, where he shared, “you’ve never meet a mere mortal,” I’ve become saddened and ashamed how our society gets their “kicks” making fun of others, including Walmart customers. I pray for the Lord to keep me in tune with His love for everyone! My thoughts: http://absolutegrace.wordpress.com/2012/09/20/living-among-immortals/

    Thank you again for dropping by! Blessings!

    • Dear absolutegrace, you have a wonderful blog! and yes we have to keep in tuned to God and his holiness to be the extension of him as much as we can as mortals. We are given so much mercy and grace from Jesus, we have no right to hoard it! God bless!

  5. Lately He has been showing me the “innards” of some people who have been annoying me….showing me that they are wounded & broken somewhere & telling me that is why they act the way they do sometimes. Humbling me & teaching me.

Leave a Reply

