Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Lights in the Deserts

9 Comments


Crews sharpen skills at Atlantic Strike

How do you respond when the words, “I don’t really have to go because of my injury” are not what you expected to hear?

“What injury?”

“I was hit in the shoulder by an IED while deployed in Afghanistan.”

A casual remark as if it was an everyday event. Maybe it had been to him.

I must admit I was somewhat surprised by his impromptu “matter of fact” emotion.

Years of traveling all over the world, he learned bits and pieces of Arabic, or Farsi as he rattled them off remembering conversations with Muslims.

5.5 years of living, breathing and attaining educated guesses from the Air Force personnel here is just that. They speak their own language and civilians like me always seem to be left questioning. Confidentiality is of utmost importance.

The need to be extra careful not to dive into a memory they prefer not to remember is a consideration I had to learn. Some deploy and come home a different human being not noticeable from the surface. It is a learned process for those of us in the minority here who watch from the distance. A 6 month deployment can reign in a mood that didn’t exist before they left.

A self-proclaimed detachment sets in as they enter back into a life they will never find again.  You can see it in their eyes; pain, sadness and fear stored inside heavy hearts.

There is a difference in acclamation depending on the rank. Most of our neighbors are or have been Majors, Pilots and Lt. Colonels.  The longer one serves reflects a character trait of strength and maturity rarely seen. Life is what it is wherever they are.

In the midst of political turmoil and hostility around the globe flowed words you will never hear on the news or read about on the internet. As the media and our government  continue to cheat the public from the truth producing an atmosphere of fear, a sense of anger arose in our den from this hero unknown to most.

My curious nature obscures my mouth at times, but I want to know what is really going on in the Middle East. The protection of God’s people and his land, Israel are sitting ducks surrounded by what would appear to be pure, unadulterated hate from all sides.

The stigmas created for a moment of ratings rattled this hero. The quiet fury this Christian officer revealed was to calm my nerves as he spoke the words I wanted to hear.

“I have been everywhere and especially the Middle East. 90% of the world is just like you and me. They want to be happy, healthy, and live calm, peaceful lives with their families and friends, and the Muslims are no different.”

Life changing words unspoken in the public arena that need to be heard instead of the urgent 10% getting attention they crave. In no way does this condone the 10% for the anguish and distress produced by “cradles of evil” in all facets of life.

However, doom and gloom has surfaced as excitement, adventure and the next best thing for the media/Hollywood,  content to exploit it for personal gain.

In the center of evil, courageous men and women of God step on soil that has never heard of Jesus.

Marking His territory with the Cross of Christ in reclusive habitations or underground bunkers they risk it all for the sake of lost souls who otherwise would never know the Gift of Salvation.

The light is still burning.

The candle is lit.god is awesome

What the devil doesn’t know is God planned ahead.

He has millions and millions of fluorescent light bulbs waiting to cover the earth with His Awesome Glory.

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/the-gift-of-gods-word/

http://churchgraphics.wordpress.com/2013/01/18/immanuel/

http://restingintheword.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/made-for-something/

The Joys of Crossing the Border

9 thoughts on “Lights in the Deserts

  1. Amen!! There are always the extremists in any group, but most are just trying as hard as they can to live their lives in a fallen world…so we as Christians need to get our eyes off the minority factions and on the majority that need to see the Love of Christ in us….well, anyway, Christ commanded we love our enemies too…then as our light shines it will naturally convict hearts!! Thank you Naphtali!! Bless you…

    • Jenny, thank you for your comments. I have really been under the weather with this sinus infection. God has been good to heal me of many things. I am so thankful this is the only one I have had in a year!

      My world changed when I moved here and have witnessed the service our military does. And most important are the families left behind. They too are heroes. Sadly, I have heard many who are afraid to go to certain areas in this country due to those who lash out at them for serving! The effort to thank them as I do often, reveals tears welling up in their eyes that someone cares. They feel left out and battered to begin with for serving in horrible situations only to come home to the same detriment. It is wrong and I consider myself fortunate to be surrounded by them. Actually I feel really safe here knowing the base is 5 miles from out house loaded with who knows what! And it is simply amazing to me when they practice flying the jets over our house. Usually it is 6 in a row; I don’t know why but the synchronization is a force to be reckoned with. I love these people. And our nation should too.

  2. Thank you for sharing this with me… I can really identify with that, being a military veteran myself and having served in the Middle East. It definitely leaves a lasting impression on us, and yes – those residing there desire everything we do. We are not so very different at all. A piece of my heart will always remain there, which surprises me, how often – when I encounter a foreigner in my own land, that I am not more quick to be gracious in hospitality and warmth. Although, as my sister pointed out …. not many women are prone to driving strange men around late at night – as often as I find myself doing :`( I don’t have fear of picking up strangers, as long as I’m not with my children, but …. where was I going with this ??! lol …. Yes – I want to be that LIGHT that you mention in your blog, I wish it was as natural as breathing sometimes!!

  3. http://vineoflife.net/2013/01/21/this-cartoon-seemed-far-fetched-funny-in-1948-but-now-its-reality-who-would-have-thought/
    Hey, thought of you and a few others when I posted this a while ago. You’ll appreciate it! God bless you.

    In the last part of your post, I was reminded of the song, Our God Is An Awesome God… and boy, He sure is! Excellent post, sister.

Leave a Reply

