Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Does your Cat listen to you?

10 Comments


Taking care of a wounded cat is comparable to that of a very small child.cat

48 hours after a rush to the hospital with a swollen, bloody face she thinks she is ready for another round with the “neighborhood bullies.”

I have no desire for another emergency trip to the doctor.

Doctor’s orders were to keep her inside at least for a few days. She evidently didn’t understand that order very well. She is feeling better now so why not go outside and play?

Standing in the doorway for the 3rd time, with her sad, swollen eye, she whimpers and gazes at me like a little girl who has been told to sit in the corner for being bad.

How do you tell a 10 year old, ex –feral feline she can’t go romp around in the cold?

Since I am not giving in to her simplistic intimidation she scurries upstairs where my husband is and screams at him.

While at the Vet I met their “clinic cat.” You know the stray that lives there. This particular feline had 3 legs. They found her on the side of a road after getting hit by a car. Her leg was so torn up the doctor couldn’t save it so he had to amputate it. The assistant told me within 24 hours of her surgery she was walking around without any notice she had lost a leg. I watched this cat run up and down the hall falling and getting right back up. In her mind, she was not handicapped.

Cats are resilient creatures. Ours is extremely healthy, but her “9 lives” were used up a long time ago. Her adventures and curiosity have brought her close to death, but the ability to bounce back quickly is a stunning characteristic.

But, they do feel emotions, pain and love just like humans.

As she has been recovering, it is apparent her need of companionship, care and concern for her plight.  Her comfort zone of our warm blankets becomes her bed of refuge. While I sit on the couch with this laptop, she walks right over the keyboard to lie down beside me. If I didn’t know better I would say she is jealous.

God made mankind in his image which is built on love. The core of life is this one emotion he granted to us to reciprocate with him.

Certain animals operate from this same love. Dogs are loyal, protective, and “man’s best friend.” Cats are singularly individualistic but show love by a nudge against your leg, a tail straight up in the air or the “purr” giving off an heir of complete peace.

God must have known we could learn a few good lessons from our furry friends. They fill our lives with joy, fun, laughter, responsibility, and notably companionship. They may have their own ways of “expressing themselves” but often they are better at it than we are. Obstacles of impression or modesty do not exist in their efforts to reveal their heartfelt emotions. Their innocence is spotless and simplicity of life is their breadwinner.

Proverbs 12:10 “A righteous man cares for the needs of his animals.”

 

That is God’s ordaining message to us. We are to treat animals with care and love. In return is a blessing of camaraderie we do not have with humans.

I have found sometimes I would rather be with my cat than other people! LOL!

Our Maxi under the tree

Our Maxi under the tree

http://jesuscarriesme.com/2012/12/22/a-time-for-giving/

http://ladydeidre.com/2012/12/21/seeking-solace/

http://simplyjuliana.com/2012/12/21/preventative-medicine-in-the-bible/

http://lorischulz.wordpress.com/2012/12/21/december-devotions-seeking-shepherds/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

10 thoughts on “Does your Cat listen to you?

  1. Couldn’t agree with you more. I have learnt so many lessons from my furry friends and I see them as lessons from their Creator and mine. Thanks for an insightful post!

  2. Great article and, of course, I agree with you.

  3. very nice. have a Merry Christmas Cathy!

  4. I love it, and I totally agree. And my cats don’t listen to me, but they have me trained to listen to them!

  5. Hope your cat is feeling better soon! My daughter adopted a cat today — Lane’s Christmas present. He adores animals of all sorts! We call him the animal whisperer. 🙂
    Merry Christmas & God Bless you!

  6. Aww I love this post! I adore all my fur babies. My one kitty is a real little hunter and she recently got into a huge fight with a massive neighbourhood cat that clawed her eye so badly it had to be removed. But she hasn’t even noticed anything and still had nerve to catch a bird while her Elizabethan collar was still on!
    I see the kindness of God in cats and dogs. Love them to bits

Leave a Reply

