Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Unhinged Jesus Fans

5 Comments


We are a nation of distrust. The church has disintegrated into more projects, staff meetings, and entertainment to entice new believers. Unfortunately this has brought with it a sense of “unbelief” in actual spiritual matters.

There are many prophets on the horizon. Why wouldn’t there be?

Photo by Randy Harrison
http://www.pbase.com/jrandyh

All through the Bible God gave us prophets. He wanted to give us reflections of the future. Why?

So Christians wouldn’t goof up or muddle through life as train wrecks or unhinged Jesus fans.

Get this: Moses had to practically yell at the Pharaoh about the coming plagues. He laughed at him. He probably wasn’t laughing when all those bugs, frogs and flies landed in his bed.

Isaiah prophesied the coming of the Messiah many years prior to Jesus’ birth. Isaiah 53:5

Daniel reminds me of a radical prophet. No one can say his life was boring.

1.    He was a “dream interpreter” Daniel 2:44-48

2.    Is famous for making friends with lions  Daniel 6:1-28

3.    Was a handwriting expert. Daniel 5: 1-29

And then there was Jonah. You can run but you cannot hide.

Paul was considered an Apostle and a prophet. Trouble seemed to follow him.

And of course God had a few women prophets or prophetesses.

Miriam: the sister of Aaron aided in the Exodus from Egypt. I wonder if she realized her impact on women’s ministry or if they considered her a “feminist.” Exodus 15:20

How about Deborah? She was not only a prophet, but a judge, and military leader of Israel’s army. Do you think she was given the same rank as the men? Judges 4 & 5:

If I had been Euodia and Syntyche I would have rebelled against my names. What parent would do that to a child? Anyway they were considered by Paul as co-workers in spreading the gospel and active in evangelism. Philippians 4:2

Most of the New Testament disciples were prophets; Matthew, Andrew, John, James. Etc.

The general public is often suspicious of prophets.

“Oh, I don’t bother with prophets. Most are false anyway.”

Or

“Prophets don’t exist today. Anyone who claims to be is questionable or crazy.”

If there was ever a time in history when we need prophetic insight it is now. Why would God leave us empty handed?

Do you believe God inspired prophets in the last 20 years to prophesy 9/11? or how about the grim reminder of hurricane “Sandy” this past week? Do you think had we been listening we might have been able to better prepare or even pray that God would intervene in such disasters?

Milford, CT

God wants us to prophecy. 1 Corinthians 14. Prophecy encourages, edifies and comforts others. Had I not been listening closely to the Holy Spirit at various times in my life, I would not have known what to do in certain crisis situations that arose.

As I have spoken before God loves to be creative. He enjoys giving a “Word of Knowledge” over and over and over! Maybe I am hard of hearing or something but he did that in January and February of 2007.  Every morning the first word that I thought of was “move.” It was like written before my sleepy eyes in bold print. I didn’t want to move again!  We moved in August of 2007. Had God not prepared us early, my husband might not have the job he now has.

Another example of God’s humor is he enjoys telling me ahead of time what mail I am getting! I know that sounds silly, but he loves to remind me about certain bills or the tax statement is on its way! Usually I would sense in my spirit what letter was going to show up. Without a doubt within 24-36 hours his specific piece of mail was in my box.  Finally I asked him,

“God, why are you giving me a heads up on my incoming mail? “

God: “I am interested in every area of your life, including what you receive from the Postal service.”

I was humbled.

Either I missed a memo about the “ousting of prophecy” or it was never written.

http://ladydeidre.com/2012/11/01/hawk/

http://learningtobeblog.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/sneak-attack/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/for-our-good/

http://butchdean.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/the-heart-believes-by-faith/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

5 thoughts on “Unhinged Jesus Fans

  1. First, why is it that people are easily led to believe anything they hear? If we didn’t , the promotions would not be out of control, and we would believe in God and not follow silly advice, and secondly, isn’t it wonderful to know that God is interested in all the little things that we don’t even notice, even the mail box!

  2. “…“God, why are you giving me a heads up on my incoming mail?…”

    My wife gets simple words like this, too. Why? Just to let her know she can hear God’s voice and keep her sharp for maybe bigger thing in the future.

  3. Prophets are alive and well! It’s just people don’t want to listen because they would need to possess that all important biblical knowledge.
    God Bless you!

  4. This is so so good. Spoke right to my heart. Thanks for sharing this truth with us all

Leave a Reply

