Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Witnessing to the Witnesses

8 Comments


This week has been one for the record books.

The refrigerator died. We lost 80% of our food. Between 2 small refrigerators and a cooler we managed to salvage a few necessities. Once the fridge compressor quits; the cold air disintegrates rapidly ruining the food.

Unable to find where we put what or what was thrown out, plus trying to quickly find a new refrigerator has been exhausting

Waiting for the installer to bring my new fridge I heard a faint knock on the door. Thinking he had arrived, I opened it to find two, nice, sweet Jehovah’s Witnesses on my front porch. With the “Watchtower” brochure available and a kind smile, they were ready to perform their ministerial duties on this poor, unknowing soul.

Complimenting me on my porch full of plants, the conversation began with what a “green thumb” they remarked that I had. Of course, finding out I don’t have a green thumb and use to kill my plants regularly by accident, it was pleasing that they noticed.

The color of my flowers/plants brought the elderly woman to a point about Jesus. Asking me if I know the Lord was her next question.

Confirming my faith and deep love for God, she then began a quiet tirade of the “Watchtower” religion trying all the while to push their latest pamphlet in my hands to convert me.

She rambled on for about 10 minutes. After a while the other lady tried to shut her up.  2 other JW’s were waiting for them in the car.  Before I let them go, I remarked;

“I appreciate your visit. Since you are standing on my property at my door and you have just witnessed to me, now it is my time to witness to you.”

Shocked at my reply their faces dropped. It was obvious they weren’t use to this.

After informing them of how many Jehovah’s Witnesses have come to our door I decided by the 3rd year to learn about their religion. Revealing my own JW pamphlet, all marked up with red and blue ink plus verses from “our” Bible to boot, their mouths fell open.

Not trying to be a “know it all” I was just using my 10 minutes to show them the difference in what they believe, and true Christianity. Of course, both of them confirmed they were Christians too.

The following are a few of the red flags of the Watchtower and the major differences in Christianity

→They don’t believe in the Trinity. Jesus is inferior to God.

→God approves who will receive everlasting life. It is not a gift. Only 144,000 will actually go to heaven and rule with Christ.

→God only has the one name, “Jehovah.”

→Jesus does not heal today as he did when he was alive on earth.

→The earth will never be destroyed or depopulated.

→According to Watchtower, Jesus appeared to them in 1919 establishing Jehovah’s Witness as the only true religion.

The younger woman asked me how I knew what I knew and where my information came from.

The elderly woman was not at all impressed with my extensive knowledge of the Watchtower. At that point I informed them I had researched their religion with close to 40 pages of work that mostly came from the Watchtower writings and articles. It also includes websites of knowledge from ex-members of the Jehovah’s Witnesses’ giving personal testimonies of why they left, how they left and how many of them were shunned by their own families. To date, 60,000 a year leave.

She interrupted me on all these accounts and flat out told me I was wrong. She informed me how evil it was that God’s name “Jehovah” had been replaced by many other names in the Bible. She said she wasn’t going to heaven because she knew she was not one of the “chosen ones” but was very happy to remain here on earth. Both women strongly agreed God does not heal today.

I kindly responded by saying, “If God doesn’t heal today, then I shouldn’t be here. If God wants his people sick, then why do you go to the doctor? Do you take medicine? If God wants us sick and it states that in the Bible, then any effort you make to stay well is disobedient to him. Oh, and I am really sorry I won’t see you in Heaven, because that is where I am headed.”

The other woman grabbed her arm and thanked me for my time, but made it clear they had to leave. The elderly woman left with a snarl on her face.

I expected the resistance. Watchtower teaches them to avoid communication unless it is concerning their beliefs.

Sadly, the evidence of the enemy lies in the face of twisted words and wrong interpretations imposed on uninformed innocence. This is why it is so important to know the truth of God’s word.

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/10/03/godly-love-unites-us-with-god-and-his-people/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/10/03/knowledge-of-god/

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/witnessing-is-an-invitation-to-fellowship-with-god/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/changed-lives-and-barley/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

8 thoughts on “Witnessing to the Witnesses

  1. I am so proud of you for what you did. I would not mind talking to them when they pay their uninvited visits except : they argue, they won’t leave, and they are wrong and will not listen to anyone else, so a big wonderful on your blog, and a thank you on top!

    • Thank you Terry. The best thing you can do is prepare yourself. To be honest they are so confused about love; they really need love. Everything they are taught is based on earning. Mostly it is to line the pockets of the leaders of the Watchtower.

      There are many websites out there with all kinds of info. you can use. Type up a page or so with the basics of the differences backed up with scripture. And remember, unless they have been a JW most of their life, they know very little about their beliefs, but if they are on your property then you have more than enough reason to witness to them. Usually they won’t be prepared for someone who knows as much or more than they do about the Watchtower.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

  2. “…Both women strongly agreed God does not heal today…”

    Here’s an idea, which I have used often, when people tell me God does not heal, say, “I can absolutely, positively, without one doubt, prove it to you right here and now. Do you want me to?” They invariably will say, “yes.” Then pray for them to be healed of whatever ails them. I guarantee God will back up your boldness.

    I’ve seen lots of miracles.

  3. Wow, great job! Way to be informed, Cathy!
    God Bless You!

  4. Thanks for your response to the above post Cathy, I find that a lot of JWs are very bitter and angry. I’m not sure why this is, but it may be the spirit they take on when they become JWs. I’ve found that Mormons can be a bit opressive in spirit, but far less bitter. If you ever get the chance to sit in a car not far from a ‘Kingdom Hall’ and watch them go in, you will see a lot of very angry and bitter countenances. They usualy look depressed as well.

    Hope this helps Cathy, bless you. 🙂

    • Patrick, thanks for that. No one has ever told me that before; just that JWs are desperate for love. Now that you mentioned to me their countenance, that is exactly what I sensed the other day. The younger woman, Emily, had been a Presbyterian and converted to JW’s! Why I don’t know but she had a very calming, sweet nature about her. The elderly lady was ready to fight. There have been times in my life i have seriously felt an almost haunting spirit around certain people, or places. I recognized that in her. It is very uncomfortable and almost gives off a severe sense of fear. I pray God will at least use something I said and hopefully planted a seed for him to grow.

  5. Pingback: The Front Porch « Thoughts from the Porch

Leave a Reply

