Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

That One Sock

8 Comments


You know. The sock that gets lost in the washer or dryer. The sock you can’t find which leaves its partner all alone and sad.

Hours or days may go by before the lone sock re-appears. You have searched high and low, through the dirty clothes basket, or better yet behind the junk in your husband’s closet. After all, it is his sock that has gone missing.

Who knows what he does with his socks?

Leaves them in the car?

Takes them hunting?

Goes on a business trip?

The lone sock could be anywhere from hiding in his closet floor to Missouri.

What do you do?

Give up?

Keep looking?

Pray?

Or place the sock you have in the open where you are reminded of the lost sock?

The sock is not rendered completely useless;  it has just gone on a trip. Temporarily.

As you unload the dryer and dump the clothes on the bed, you begin to fold them.

The husband’s t-shirts are crumpled up so you shake them. All of a sudden the lone sock falls out of the sleeve. What or how did it get in there?

Who cares? You found the lost sock.

So, if you think about it, the sock really wasn’t missing. It was tucked away in a shirt. Safe. Warm. Protected.

But now, the sock is clean and ready to be re-united with its obvious match.

These two socks are like people and God. Just when we think God has taken a very long vacation, he re-appears wearing sunglasses and tanned.

God says, “I didn’t think you wanted me around so I took some much needed time off.”

People: “God, we are so sorry. We somehow missed the turn off and got lost. Will you forgive us? We know we goofed up and sinned, but we really need you to stay.”

God: “The truth is I was never far away from any of you. I don’t hang around making myself known where I am not wanted.  And a little sun is good for all of us. We all need that Vitamin D.”

People: “So, God, you aren’t angry with us? We walked away; turned the other cheek.”

God: “No, I’m not angry. I am your Heavenly Father who loves you more than you can imagine. That is why I always know where you are even if you don’t know where you are.”

People: “God, you got that right! We never want to go there again. Misery, anguish, hate; evil was all around us. That’s why we cried out to you. We went looking for you behind podiums, trees, deserts and green fields. We searched for you in the middle of the protests, riots and wars. Where were you?”

2 Chronicles 7:14 “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

God: “Oh, I was in all those places, but the noise and hate filled words kept you from finding me. So, I came back here.”

People: “Yeah, God, we never expected to find you here. You’ve been gone from this place for many years. Why here now?”

God: “You know this is my throne. Always was and always will be. But when my people go astray I basically leave them to do their own thing. It may look like someone else has been on my throne, but this chair isn’t large enough for anyone else but me.”

People: “But God, you’re sitting in the President’s chair in the Oval Office of the White House. What does this mean?”

God: “Well, you know you kicked me out of the schools some 40 years ago and it was downhill after that; but many of you have been diligently praying and asking me to return. I have heard your cries and as I did with the Israelites, I will do for you. After all this became my home in 1776, I believe. So I have come home.”

People: God, does this mean you are going to be running things again?”

God: “Oh, my dear children; you do make me laugh! I was always running things; I just let you have your way for a while, so I took a break by moving out of your way.”

People: “But God, what about all these people in the White House now? They are still here.”

God: “Oh, my dear children. Again you make me laugh. They won’t be here for long. I promised you great blessings if you repented and prayed. I promised I would heal your land and that is in the process right now. Do not worry my children, for this chair is meant for someone else, come November. In fact, I will be bringing in a whole new crew.”

http://jonesingafter40.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/occupied/

http://theriverministries.net/2012/09/27/how-big-is-your-faith/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/morality-and-religion/

http://thefaithbook.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/40-days-of-prayer/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

8 thoughts on “That One Sock

  1. loved this!!!!! i could relate so well due to the missing sock!!

  2. Thanks for the reminder that God is always in control even when we move away from Him. Thank you also for the pingback! 🙂

  3. I think the lint monster eats the socks! And apparently, he’s been let loose because our land has lint for brains! Oh, God. Please save us!
    God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

