Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

“These Shoes Were Made for Walkin”

6 Comments


These shoes were made for “walkin” and that is what they’ve done.

Some shoes are meant to last. As you can see from this picture, this pair is as old as our cat and she is 10.

This pair of tennis shoes were designed especially for my weakened ankles. After a bad sprain, I splurged on this expensive investment.

However no one can say I haven’t gotten my money’s worth out of this pair of beat up, worn out, and torn shoes.

As dilapidated as they appear, I can’t seem to dispose of them. Like a fixture, these shoes hold more than years of wear and tear.

In their day they were quite sharp looking. Still quite comfortable and supportive, these shoes have more than done their job. It is apparent by their creases, wrinkles and loss of color I have worn them a great deal.

Besides the fact these shoes have been worth the extra cost; attached to them are memories; trips, people, places and hardships.

How long do I hold on to them? Until they fall apart? Or when they no longer support my ankles?

One reason to keep them is finding shoes to fit me is not easy. Wearing a size 6 medium or 5.5 are hard to find. Shoemakers don’t make as many as the larger sizes so fewer are made in the smaller ones.

Another reason to keep them is they still have some life left to bum around in.

If for no other reason, keeping them reminds me of lessons learned.

For instance. The person who bought these shoes 10 years ago is completely different than the one wearing them today. And that is a good thing. Isn’t that strange? When I walk down EasySpirit memory lane, my spiritual journey took off during year 4 of their usefulness.

The time frame is recognizable.

The left shoe had no hole in it.

There were few creases or wrinkles.

EasySpirit walked me through getting to know God.

Just as these battered and broken down shoes had a life of their own, it is a vague remembrance of the first few years of wearing them. Fresh and new,
I wouldn’t recognize them now.

And so it has become with me.

As tennis shoes are made for “walkin” so are we made for a purpose. Everyone has assignments from God. It is up to us to discover it. Uniquely planned, early on glimpses are revealed.

One thing is for sure. No one will ever understand what God has told you to do with your life. No one.

There is no need for explanation. There is no need for clarity.

Our particular assignments, should we wish to accept them, will intimidate, anger, infuriate and cause discomfort in those who have never found their destiny.

The general public cannot wrap their minds around the bigness of God and the future he lays forth for those who seek him. Yet, it is there, hiding in the background of every conversation and action.

In the purpose arises disappointment due to a lack of approval from those around us. Disappointment makes us reach for God because it breaks the dependency on another human being.

God knew we would need to depend solely on him to survive. False security is found elsewhere.

So….as these shoes continue walkin’ in their shabby, frayed state, the destination is now clear.

These shoes were made for walkin’ behind a brand new pair of brown sandals; the sandals of the King.

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/daily-triumph/

http://theteentheme.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/behind-the-scenes/

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/find-comfort-in-gods-word/

http://www.poetseers.org/the-great-poets/misc-2/footprints-in-the-sand/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

6 thoughts on ““These Shoes Were Made for Walkin”

  1. this was just beautiful. really loved the complete story!

  2. I enjoyed the journey.

  3. I loved this! I feel like my blog was an assignment from God, I never just blog to blog nor do I do it for my own personal gain. Several times I have been intimidated by words of others because they do not agree with what I wrote. I like the part where you wrote ‘no one will understand what God has told you to do with your life and no need for explanation’ that is so true! It only matters what God thinks 🙂

    • Dear T., So glad to hear you are growing in Christ! It took me years to understand persecution, disagreements, and arguments are of no consequence when it comes to God. Once I learned no one would ever understand, I felt set free. It is a bondage most Christians do not know they carry around. When we learn others have no idea what we are doing, that is when God really becomes first in your life. It is a process or it was for me, but it allows us to become and fulfill our destiny.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

  4. The Hebrews wore the same clothes and shoes for their forty year journey in the wilderness. So, you only have thirty more years to go?

    Good words for today.

  5. Great shoe post, Cathy. Keep walking for Christ!
    God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

