Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

A Tub Full of Garments of Praise

16 Comments


Laundry is never-ending.
Once you get a load finished mysterious
items get thrown into the basket to be washed.
The culprit is never seen adding to the dismal workload;
only the remnants of their dirty life.

Remarkably washing certain items such as money, pocket knives, cell phones, wallets, receipts, or foreign objects you have never seen before manage to escape the ocean in the machine. Or almost.

If you ever wash a cell phone let me know. The discovery made was a perilous moment but saving the phone was acquired through quick thinking and of course google.

Pocket knives have also made it into the tub. These tricky little tools manage to hide deep down in the pants pockets camouflaging their existence. This little mistake we will keep to ourselves. What some people don’t know won’t hurt them unless it begins to rust or fall apart.

In the summer clothes get thrown on the floor after the farmer has been to his garden. After a few hours in the dirt with the sun beating down on you, clothes begin to take on a dingy color, a pungent odor and are drenched in sweat. Whew……..the vegetables he brings home help to make up for the raunchy garb.

A great time of year for laundry is “deer season.” Yep. I have nothing to do with hunting anything unless it is my glasses or feisty cat.  Deer hunting season is about to start and with it comes a ritual of Camo wearing overalls, matching hat, gloves and long underwear in winter. Only these particular pieces of clothing have to be washed separately from everything else in “Scent Away.”

Evidently deer have a very keen sense of smell. Once given a lesson in deer hunting that I didn’t ask for I was taught you can’t wear anything on your clothes or body that has a scent, odor or smell. The deer will run the other way.

Not that I would think of doing this, but being a lover of all animals as I am, accidentally washing hunting clothes in Fresh Spring Lilac detergent would never cross my mind.

However nothing compares to the offensive stench of deep-sea, damp fishing clothes left in the sweltering oven like garage. This occurs when one forgets to inform the maid of the putrid smelling apparel. Once discovered, don’t ever wash with anything else and expect to use double amounts of detergent and hot water.

The question, “why do fish smell so bad?” is one for God.

Filthy, nasty clothes are not on my “favorites” list, but it is no match for our hearts.

God sees transparently through each one of us. What is the Bible verse?

Matthew 6:21 “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

When God looks at your heart what does he see?

Isaiah 61:3 says, “They will be called oaks of righteousness,
a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.”

The Prophet was referencing the “Oaks of Righteousness” as representative of the
Israelites growing and receiving all that is good from God.

God wants comfort given to those in mourning.

Joy and beauty for ashes.

A garment of praise instead of despair.

And oak trees with firmly planted roots to grow and flourish for his own display.

Sounds like God is in the business of cleaning things up.

Sounds like God owns a Kenmore.

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/the-kingdom/

http://theriverministries.net/2012/07/25/symbols-of-the-word-fire/

http://larrywho.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/im-a-radical-what-about-you-part-4/

http://highlyfavored74.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/are-you-full-of-yourself/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

16 thoughts on “A Tub Full of Garments of Praise

  1. i would love it if you would be apart of my site and sign my book.

    http://jesusismyjoy.webnode.com/guestbook/

  2. that was beautiful. i don’t know about the deer smell, but i do remember the fish smell on my ex’s clothes. it is rank! cleaning is never done, it is always with you, sort of like God never being done with us, he is always right here by my side

  3. You would never imagine the amount of landry I deal with! It is literally a never ending mountain of yuck! Love your post….God is always dealing with our filth and dirt..and it stinks! He probably looks down and says, “Oh my! She’s done it again!” LOL

    • Dear Lyn, I love your humor! Yes I wonder how many times God says, “Why doesn’t she listen!”

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • Here’s a cute article for you I came across yesterday! Ta ta! Love your humor too! I enjoy reading your posts Naphtali! Don’t stop writing them! This article reminds me of me..I have so many clothes, I don’t know what to do with, and I just can’t seem to throw them away. But then when I look at the laundry, with four kids…uggh!..can you imagine all of the mess of underwear, socks, clean clothes that they picked up and said, “Huh, I don’t feel like putting all of these clothes away, I’ll just recycle it once again int he dirty clothes!” Yeah, when I tell the kids to clean their rooms, any clothes they just can’t seem to put away get thrown in the dirty laundry!
        http://artsandcatsmovement.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/clothing-in-bags-what-do-we-really-need/?replytocom=115

      • Wow! that is funny! u have 4 kids! how do you have time to do anything! You must be a Saint! I am past child rearing! yea! our daughter turned 24 last week…..I love being a mom but had no problem when the empty nest syndrome approached!

        Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • I try not to talk about my kids online because of weirdos out there…LOL That’s why I never mention them. In fact, I talked to my agent yesterday and he says for me to use my real name, and there is no need to worry to use it. I dont know though…I’ll have to pray about it. He said it is harder to get books published with a fake name, unless you already have numerous best sellers….but with God, nothing is impossible..therefore,like I said, I have to pray.

      • Lyn, I know what you mean. But God can do anything even keep the weirdos away!

        Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • I know, and you are right. But on the other hand, God didn’t make no dummies! He always wants us to be wise as well…. I wouldn’t go out and ride a bike blindfolded with no hands and say, “I’m going to be okay, God will take care of me!” (LOL..I’m picturing this as I write it! Can you imagine seeing someone doing this while shouting that? What a sight!) Because although God will take care of me, I don’t want to put Him to the test. Because if I did the above, I’d get hit by a car or ride my bicycle into something dreadful. And, as usual, He would look down at me, then over at Jesus, and Jesus at the Holy Spirit, all three shaking their heads in disbelief, as they sigh, “Well guys, she did it again…”

      • Lyn, I don’t recommend that! Sometimes when I am in my alone time with God, I have to wonder what he really thinks. Then I start laughing!

        Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • Alright..well, since you said so, I’ll try not to perform that little stunt. Yes, I am one that believes God has a sense of humor. When people pray for snow, we have a blizzard. When people pray for rain, we have a torrential downpour. If I pray for a new pair of shoes, but I’m not specific, I’ll wind up with a silly pair of something I’d never dare put on my feet. And God says, “Hey, you prayed for a new pair of shoes didn’t you?” God made us in His image, and in that, we must consider personality things, emotions, etc. God loves to laugh, I’m sure of it. When there is loud thunder, instead of the old angels are bowling scenerio, I tell the kids not to worry, that God is having a good laugh up in heaven.

  4. “Do not machine wash or tumble dry means I will never wash this. Ever.”

    I had a shirt like that and when I threw it in the wash, it would mysteriously end up in the garbage. I saved that shirt countless times until it vanished forever. Oh well! You women, huh?

  5. Your joy of being in love with our Father and Lord Jesus is wonderful! Your humor is hilarious! So happy to be following your blog. God is using you and I pray you continue to follow His calling.
    Blessings!
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

