Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Annoyances, Interruptions and Pests

10 Comments


Don’t you just hate it when you are sound asleep and the phone sitting next to your ear goes off in the middle of the night?

Clamoring to reach for it to shut it up doesn’t help if you wear glasses and can’t find the button to stop it.

And then your husband says, “Can’t you turn that thing off?”

Ugh….”I would if I could see it!”

Once you finally find it the ringing stops. Checking the number you are once again
riddled with anger because you don’t recognize it. Wrong number?

The desire to throw the thing at your spouse comes to mind
as you hear him snore and you are now wide awake.

Interruptions. Annoyances. Aggravations. Pests. Pain in the neck?

The little grievances invade our lives, promote ill infested moods, and create havoc.

So how do we stop them? Or better, how should we respond?

Let’s change the scenario a little.

Phone rings at 1am. As you reach for it, you knock over the inch of water left in the glass on your bedside table which dribbles all over your Bible, nose spray and glasses. Forget the water on the carpet. Grab the phone.

Your spouse wakes up wondering why you are making so much noise. He screams,

“Why can’t anyone get any sleep in this house? Why don’t you just turn the blame thing off at night?”

Punching the touch screen in the dark with no glasses it continues a ringtone that sounds like “La Bamba.”
Fumbling to find the “accept” button, you manage to hit it without seeing it.

“HELLO, WHO IS THIS?”

“Oh, hi, did I wake you? This is God. I wanted to call and give you a “word of knowledge.”

Hmmmm….the response you give might sound a little different if God called?

OK. Another scenario.

Hubby has gone off and hidden in “Man Land” to watch “Swamp People” or “The Deadliest Catch.”

Hubby hears the door open and he yells,

“Honey? Go away! I told you not to bother me while I am watching my favorite shows!”

Sure. Ok.”

After Swamp People have caught their gator, hubby feels somewhat guilty and goes downstairs to his wife.

“Honey, what was so important you couldn’t wait until my show was over to ask me?”

Wife: “What? What are you talking about?”

Hubby: “You know when you came upstairs a while ago.”

Wife: “I didn’t come upstairs. I have been here in the kitchen for the last hour slaving over the hot stove.”

Hubby: “Well, someone came in and I told them or you to leave and they responded. “Sure. OK.”

Wife: “It wasn’t me. You must be imagining things.”

A week or so later, hubby gets fired. Too much Swamp People and Deadliest Catch.

Getting in his car, he cries out to God.

“God what am I going to do? I lost my job. Please help me.”

God: “ Sorry, I can’t right now. Swamp People is on TV.”

What if God answered us the way we answer each other?

What if God told us as we cry out for help, “I’m busy. Call back later.”

Not that I have mastered this even closely, but I have to ask myself in any given situation,

What would Jesus do? How would he respond to interruptions and annoyances?

Would he act like we do? Would he throw the phone across the room?

Or would he say, “Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

Need I say more?

http://butchdean.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/a-roaring-lion/

http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/forgiveness/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/disobedience/

http://kellylevatino.com/2012/07/16/lose-yourself/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

10 thoughts on “Annoyances, Interruptions and Pests

  1. that was amazing! not only humorous, but a real thinker, and you have taught me to be a little more patient in life

  2. “…What if God told us as we cry out for help, “I’m busy. Call back later…”

    Thank God He has an open door policy.

    Great reminders.

  3. funny and insightful post. I like the pics too. Speaking as a naturally impatient person, I find time spent in silent prayer helps with these issues…

    • Thank you. Yes, I can only write these posts especially referring to my own faults due to all God has taught me. A close, personal relationship with God is the only way I can live now. He has taught me to use myself as a funny component of my blogs; and yes the phone did ring the other night and I wanted to throw it across the room!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

  4. Thanks for the pingback Cathy, Hmmmmm yes to forgive is divine but we remember Jesus got the whip out, something’s are just not acceptable, He was right in His anger but we may not be, so we need to understand why and resolve the problem or it will put us into bondage.

    Right now we continue to ask for God’s grace to forgive our hacker or hackers as they continue to try to bait us to get a negative response, it’s hard to image people want to deliberately hurt others for what ever reason so of course sometimes we do have to get the whip out or warn others they are in danger but that is according to God’s Truth not our own agenda, God knows our motivation but He does not condone evil for what ever reason is given, for now we have left our hackers in God’s hands, after doing what was needed, I will keep you up to date of our new location.

    We will be praying for work, God always provides, if you need help Cathy please let us know, we are His vessels.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

  5. Pingback: Modern-Day Annoyances « Dirty Laundry

Leave a Reply

