Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

A Flying Lesson

16 Comments


This morning I had a nature lesson in taking it one step at a time.
God
’s timing is perfect.

Ducks

He allowed me to observe and learn from his 2 legged creatures.

Only God could use the unpretentious and immature to captivate my attention for almost 2 hours.

In my swivel chair in the mornings with a cup of coffee and God I ponder his words while enjoying a simple and endearing view. Only this morning offered a little action.

The house next to us sits a marsh. As I have posted before, we live in a Bird Sanctuary. I am intrigued as I watch a Great Blue Heron that must live in the marsh make his daily perch on the dead tree in the distance. Egrets, ducks,  hawks, and many others brighten our area with their stopover visits.

This morning gave me a show of a baby dove taking what appeared to be his first flight. With mom/dad nearby the little one evidently flew next to them over our fence but landed in our pool. As I watched in horror the parent dove landed on the side hopelessly observing this child floundering in the water.

Before I jumped to rescue the little bird, I watched as the parent dove walked around
in circles letting the little one know he/she was right there. The pool sides are too slick
as the baby dove tried and tried to climb out but couldn’t.

Being the soft hearted mush I am when it comes to wildlife I could not sit
there any longer and watch this dove die in my pool.

Great Egret

As I quietly walked over and retrieved the net, the parent dove remained until I got too close and it flew away. Praying to God this little dove was not hurt, I gently lifted it onto the net and sat it on the cement. Scared and cold, it shivered. It sat. It didn’t move.

The Holy Spirit prompted me to let nature take its course and leave. As I continued reading the Bible the little bird just sat there. Resting for almost 30 minutes it finally moved. All the while the 2 parents were flying back and forth and sitting on the rooftops
“cooing” to let the little one
know they were not abandoning him.

Matthew 6:34 “”So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

The little dove slowly crept over to the Palm tree where it appeared to be fluttering its wings as if to dry them off. Relieved, I observed one of the parent’s fly into the yard right next to the baby dove. Flying to the top of the fence about 5 feet away, the parent dove was showing the little one the next step.

After a few minutes when the little dove didn’t follow their lead, the parent dove flew back down next to the baby. The two marched around each other like they were having a conversation. Words like,

“You can do this. I have raised you and trained you to fly. Now get up and fly.”

Red Tailed Hawk

Again, the parent dove flew to the top of the fence as if showing the little one what to do.

Waiting and watching for almost 15 minutes, the little dove finally took off and landed exactly where the parent dove had perched on the top of the fence.

After resting awhile, the baby dove flew away following the parents.

One step at a time, the parents coached and led the baby dove to fly. As he hit a stump in the road by falling into the pool, the parents stood guard on the roofs nearby.

Like the Good Samaritan, God used me to aid in his rescue.

Isn’t this like God the Father? He stands by, sends help and coaches us along the travels of despair and errors?

We all need guidance, but we have to decide to fly on our own.

Great Blue Heron

In other words, what appeared as a failed flight was a step in learning to get up again.

How many times do we fall in the water? How many times do we get up again?

As often as it takes to reach for the extended hand of the Father who is always waiting to pick us up.

Matthew 6:26 “Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?”

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/hopelessness-without-christ/

http://highlyfavored74.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/past-experiences-revealed-or-concealed/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/rising-to-dignity/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/fulfillment/

Photo Credits by Randy Harrison http://www.pbase.com/jrandyh

Guardian Dove

16 thoughts on “A Flying Lesson

  1. I am leaving you this comment because I have mulled over your topic Did Jesus have a face book page. After seeing and reading your numerous posts, all good mind you, it hit me today. Did Jesus have a facebook page I said to myself. Yes, He has always had a facebook page. Oh not in the way we see it today. For it is written “I am the first, the last, the alpha and the omega, the beginning and the end.” So I conclude He is everywhere at the same time with His face inprinted on our hearts.

    Thank you so much for making me look at the words you penned a little bit harder!

  2. Reblogged this on In Love With The Lord and commented:
    God so often speaks to me through His amazing creation and especially birds. This story really touched my heart and inspired me to fly in formation with Him!

  3. Beautiful post! Congrats on your Good Samaritan deed today. He is well pleased, I’m sure.

  4. A great teaching taught by the Father for all of us to read. Thanks.

  5. I always feel honoured and blessed when God’s creatures allow you to share their lives with them. We have many visitors in our backyard–a fox, porcupine, wild turkeys, bunnies, and once, a moose–and it is awesome to know that they consider our home their home. Thank you for sharing these meaningful moments with us.

  6. I really liked this, Isn’t it just amazing how God teaches us? You are watching nature and all the sudden realize you have learned a lesson? Thank you for sharing it 🙂

  7. that was so good. you did a wonderful job explaining how god is with us

  8. Your opening comment…”God’s timing is perfect” is a wonderful truth that was put on display with the doves. It is just as you say… the Lord does help us one step at a time to become strengthened, consistent servants for Him. I thak the Lrod how He has used me step by step and gradually brought me into a closer walk with HIm! Thanks for a wonderful reminder of His patient, consistent working in our life to help us grow in Him!

  9. Love birds, so I loved this post. Endearing. And loved how you saw Biblical truth in this instance of His creation. Great one! thanks

  10. Matthew 6, one of my favorite chapters. Jesus really rocked out that sermon.

  11. That’s so beautiful. It reminds me of how recently I’ve found myself in water and mud and looking around wondering if God is close, circling around me. Of course He never leaves or forsakes us. However, we must also keep in mind that the Teacher is sometimes quiet during the test. 🙂

Leave a Reply

