Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Spiritual Cooking?

17 Comments


I have a problem with a family who always asks,

“What are we having for dinner?”

As if it isn’t enough this question is the first words to come out of their mouths as they
walk through the door, it is repeated every day.

What am I? A restaurant?

Beside the fact cooking is a real chore for me, I don’t enjoy it. My mother, sister and sister n-law could open their own café. Food is a great joy to me as long as someone else is standing over a hot stove.

The issue arises that cooking a meal or preparing lunch for certain difficult appetites is not my cup of tea and yet they continue to ask me,

“What are we eating today?”

You‘d think after starving they’d get the message “I don’t know!”

The knack for planning, buying and cooking a meal is like getting an Act of Congress passed. It takes me forever.

So why should I have to feed my family? They are always hungry. They depend on me to do it since I am the wife and mother as if it comes with the territory? Ugh……

I admit my husband is an excellent grocery shopper. He should be; he managed grocery stores for years so he does the weekly trip to the store and manages to save a great deal. He knows how it works and does it very well. And it is fine by me!

But then I am expected to take this food he buys and create gourmet meals from Paula Deen, Emeril Lagasse and the entire Food Network!

Oh Jesus give me some Bread and Fish please and multiply it so I can feed it to them 7 nights a week!

So why write about my food cooking rant?

Our bodies require nutrition, water, chocolate, and cake. Ok maybe not the chocolate and cake but we do need food and water. I can live without the cake but not chocolate. I wonder if God made up some recipe for chocolate for Adam and Eve. Oh, sorry; my train of thought somehow was stuck on chocolate.

God designed us to need food and water for nourishment, strength, good health and to be happy…..so what about our spiritual health? We don’t feed it food like broccoli, meat and water. No brussel sprouts please.

If we were to get our spiritual food through eating dinner, or snacks most people would have about 10 minutes a day of spiritual growth. In other words we eat on the go!

Is God a God on the go?

Ugh, no. Thank goodness.

God planned it so we would have to get still,  read his word and spend time alone with him. Not ride through McDonalds to get your spiritual word for the day devouring a Big Mac.

I am glad God has a sense of humor or I would be in a lot of trouble!

I am also glad God chose to express himself and character through words, prayers and the gifts of the Spirit.

Those are so much easier to digest than brussel sprouts.

Acts 2: 42 “And they devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers.”

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/shining-saltiness/

http://jesusmyjoy.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/feeling-dry/

http://justmyfaithtalking.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/our-daily-date/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/06/01/question-walking-on-spiritual-eggshells/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/06/01/question-walking-on-spiritual-eggshells/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

17 thoughts on “Spiritual Cooking?

  1. oh…oh…oh…I so understand your PAIN. 😉
    “What’s for dinner” is always a dreaded question.
    You are fortunate in having a spouse that shops.
    Not sure mine could find the store even with a GPS.
    But that’s a different story…

    • Oh Ellen! My father never set foot in a grocery store until he retired. I am fortunate my husband shops so well. In fact he sees it as a challenge having managed them for years. But I don’t like to cook! you should blog about your husband not knowing where the store is….

  2. “…They depend on me to do it since I am the wife and mother as if it comes with the territory…”

    Enough said.

  3. you made this very enjoyable to read, funny, and yet something we all need to be doing. and i hate brussel sprouts also. my mother, i swear she made them at least twice each week. yuck! give me chocolate and cake anytime! good blog!

  4. I’m with you! I would rather not enter into the kitchen for anything outside of a snack! And we all need to read that precious manual more! Great Post!
    God Bless You!

  5. Most enjoyable!! 😀 My boys not only ask what’s for dinner they wait to be served. 😀

  6. I notice you talk about chocolate a lot…..um….I think you are a….chocoholic!! LOL!

  7. So funny Cathy… and insightful. Bless you sister!

  8. Naphtali, you are quite the opposite of me. Two different sisters with alot in common. I laughed through the whole post. Thank you this has just touched me in a giggly way. I love your honesty…some women never explain their dislikes so that others can help or be at least emphathetic! I would work out just fine if I visited you because I love to cook and if you buy and I just need to prepare the meal…awesome!
    You see God has given us all unique gifts, and just because you are a woman does not mean you have to be a great cook or like it for that matter. But honesty from the heart is the best recipe.

    I am reblogging this is one that just put me in tears from laughing so hard. I love my bible like I love chocolate,can’t get enough of it.

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

    • Hey Girl, I wish I enjoyed cooking! I know my husband wishes it! lol! But I see it as a chore! It is not my gift and I admire those who do enjoy it. When I do cook something well, I am so proud of myself!

      This is funny; last week I baked a cake or tried to. It tasted fine but looked awful! I can never get the layers the same and the icing got mixed in with the cake so it had spots of cake all over it.

      It doesn’t help that the women in my family all cook much better than I do. I see it like this. You wouldn’t want me to sing for you; believe me. I have no musical talent whatsoever. My husband has an absolutely wonderful voice and won’t sing! But I shouldn’t cook either because you might not want to eat it!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

Leave a Reply

