Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

The Intruder

16 Comments


The latest in our household is how much our cat loves my husband.

He is usually up at 5 am, makes coffee, unloads the dishwasher if needed (yes he does that!) and relaxes with a few cups of java and the news before going to work.

Only this morning there was no relaxing. This girl as I have written before is not a morning person. By that I mean I am not up at 5 am like he is!

He comes to tell me good bye along with this morning’s antics. Evidently the cat has mastered coming in through the Magic Mesh while holding a rather large rat in her mouth.

She has a grip on the rat as Mark walked in the room. Once she saw him she dropped the rat and meowwwwweeeddddd….like she was informing him of her great catch! The rat of course has a moment of freedom and takes off running.

My husband is very good at catching her gifts after a few summers ago it was a daily adventure.  Later, once I was up it was obvious he had chased the thief by closing doors, rolling up the carpet runner, moving pictures, and leaving debris around the house.

Sweet Maxicat

Folks, this is not the end of this story.

Thinking he had caught the rat and shown him the trash can I left the back door cracked open in case she wanted back in. At that moment I saw her charging toward the steps and the door chasing this huge, fat rat in the house! I slammed the door shut just in time to prevent either of them from coming in. She then continued to chase him around the yard. When I didn’t see her, I went out and she had cornered the exhausted creature. Grabbing her by the neck I put her in the house and shut the door.

Searching for him myself he wasn’t as tired as I thought he would be. Chasing him back and forth hoping to get him out of the yard and give him his freedom, he stupidly hid where I couldn’t reach him.

As for the cat she has slept peacefully after her morning hunting season.  I read recently cats leave their precious catch on the back door step or in our case in the den for 2 reasons:

  1. As a gift of their appreciation for our love and affection for them.
  2. They believe we are lousy at hunting so in an effort to teach us their great capabilities they bestow their gifts on our doorsteps.

The poor rat wanted no part of intruding our home. With no time to decide, he just had to run. Where he ended up didn’t matter as long as he evaded the arch enemy.

Aren’t humans like that? Often we run from who knows what we think is chasing us to a hiding place just for safety.

The key is to know our enemy, how to prevent a hostile takeover and who is really in charge.

Like the scared rat, we find ourselves in a bigger mess or the hiding place isn’t all it was cracked up to be. Escaping may be worse than what we thought was chasing us.

1. The first course of action is to understand your leader and his orders. (God) Ephesians 6:13-15 “Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.”

2. Follow the leader’s guidelines to implement a plan of attack and/or escape. Ephesians 6:16 “In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.”

3. Fill up on the right ammunition. Ephesians 6:17-18 “Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.”

So, are you going to be ready the next time a rat shows up at your door?

The Feline Maximus Decimus Meridius
The Great Hunter

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/05/29/the-powerful-word-of-god/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/05/29/running-to-god/

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/05/29/the-key-to-spiritual-success/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/05/25/five-truths-on-trials-when-life-hits-back/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

16 thoughts on “The Intruder

  1. Please tell me you did scream at some point.

    • Actually I did scream when i was outside trying to get the rat out of the yard; we have a fence so they feel trapped. Honestly I have seen so many she has caught they don’t bother me nearly as much as they use to. In the past she has brought in the house rats, mice, birds, bunnies, a snake! and a live bat! The bat was the grossest of all and she brought all these through a cat door!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

  2. LOL! Funny, as long as it wasn’t me!

  3. Somehow, Noah wasn’t thinking when he included rats on the ark. I hate them!

  4. that was very good. i liked how you used the cat and the rat to get your point across to us humans. great blog!

  5. We just read these verses from Ephesians in our Bible study last night. Thanks for giving me a deeper perspective Cathy!

  6. LOL … I love it. Great post Hun ♥

    • LOL .. its me again also what is crazy about it is this is what is .. In church for this month we have been studying on being a warrior and stepping up to the fight and we read this scripture for our youth sunday and my Pastor used similar point as you did on how to engage in battle!
      You Go Girl!

  7. Reblogged this on Strader612 and commented:
    Another great read … and is confirnation of what we have been learning about in church !! Look at God! I love it and Enjoy!

  8. Your three points for us to follow from Eph 6: were right on target. By the way, I loved you example to illustrate these points! Got me laughin. Lord bless.!

  9. Naphtali, if I see a rat I am definitely letting God fight that battle. I just need to keep those prayers going up so I don’t have to deal with the critter. I enjoyed this …

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

Leave a Reply

