Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Apathetic Slackers

6 Comments



The admission of blinders on people is disturbing. I can say that because my blinders were quite large. Patience in getting them to open their eyes drags on my senses like a stubborn mule. I am not proud of such a confession but the absolute darkness so many people live in keeps me on my knees.

I have to control my spiritual emotions before I let loose a string of “you can’t see this?” or “you have got to be kidding me. If it was any closer to your face you would miss it.”

The unyielding sarcastic side of me can easily begin a tirade of ignorant euphemisms for the politically correct Christian. Either way I seek God to keep my indignant thoughts to myself for those who purposely string themselves up on a pole of foolery.

Been there and done that. I have no excuse for my frustration when trying to get the point across. Many in my past may have felt the same pain with me. Who knows who laughed at my own folly?

Memories of past materialism, fun for yours truly or the “all about me” signature rings loudly in my ears only that person no longer exists. The thrills of yesteryear are just that. Over. Finished. A learned memory.

The desire for worldly goods, frolic, fame and fortune never quite filled a satisfaction in my puzzled heart. Battles raged on between the thickness of my skull and the yearning in my soul.

So it is with the church. God’s people cannot resign themselves to let someone else pray.  The church has become docile in its prayer life hoping others will do it for them. Wake up people! God is calling!

God gave us prayer to use because it has authority over the enemy.

Recently God revealed to me how powerful prayer is. Remember the Roman Centurion?  He did not need for Jesus to go to his servant for healing, he believed all Jesus needed to do was speak the words and it would happen. Jesus couldn’t be everywhere all the time as a man.  Ugh….you think Jesus was an example of how powerful prayer is no matter where we are?

Matthew 8:8The centurion answered and said, Lord, I am not worthy that thou shouldest come under my roof: but speak the word only, and my servant shall be healed.”

As much as I would like to be in two places at once, or transported in seconds, I am human not that I don’t believe God can’t perform such a miracle. So if I am here, and I need to pray for someone thousands of miles away is it any less powerful than if they were sitting in front of me? Oh, what an epiphany.

“Prayer for Dummies” would ask, “If prayer is so powerful why aren’t we on our knees more making use of such a God given gift?”

Oh, “I am too busy.”

“I am not sure it really works that well. God didn’t answer my last prayer.” (News Flash!  If you think your prayer didn’t get answered it isn’t God’s fault.)

Prayer isn’t a onetime deal. The reason for prayer is to gain access to God for a relationship.  Relationships take time and dedication. In this case the relationship should be all about God, not us.

God transforms us during the time spent alone with him.  Daily seeking his presence is the most important gift we have.

This is not the time for apathetic slackers. Prayer is desperately needed to intervene on behalf of the return of the Lord.

God’s people are the lights of the world, the flowers in the midst of the weeds, the salt of the earth.

 Matthew 5:13-16 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.  “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

One precious hour with God can change history.

One hour with God can reveal any blemish in the blueprints of your life.

One hour with God is just the beginning.

http://thefaithbook.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/time/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/05/28/quote-no-longer/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/05/27/back-door-christians/

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/05/26/a-nation-that-has-forgotten-her-god/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

Photo by Freddy Winter
www.media4lifeministries.com

 

6 thoughts on “Apathetic Slackers

  1. R.W. Schambach stated most of us Christians are like the passengers on the Titanic who asked the Titanic’s captain about their desperate situation. The captain replied, “Well, folks, we need to pray.”

    “Oh no!” the people screamed, “Has it come down to just prayer alone?”

    Somehow, we Christians think of prayer as the last resort, a light flare shot up into heaven with hopes God will pay attention before we sink under the waves of our circumstances.

    Hopefully, our attitudes change quickly or we will end up like the Titanic’s passengers.

  2. i don’t know if i m telling God that i don’t trust him or what, but i pray several times for the same of whatever it is i am praying for

  3. Thanks for visiting my weblog. God bless you. Please how did you find me?

  4. It’s all about quality time… whether it is with friends or family or someone in need. Or one-on-one with the Lord. Great post.

Leave a Reply

