Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

The Badgered Hounds of Society

7 Comments


The Bible is the spirit filled word of God. Some of the stories would make Hollywood blush.

A key ingredient is the characters; many of whom were a lot like you and me.

The following are a few movie titles to go with some of the most notorious.


Adam and Eve
: Hello Mother, Hello Father…

Cain and Abel: A Tale of two Brothers

Noah: How to Build a Ship

Moses: Fire Starter

Joseph: The Ultimate Betrayal

Solomon: A Man for all Seasons

David: The King’s Dilemma

Esther: The Favored Queen

John the Baptist: The Itinerant Preacher

Paul: The Menaced Missionary

Mother Mary: Ordinary Life: Extraordinary Woman

The sins range from betrayal to deception, murder and polygamy. Yet, this crowd of chosen ones of God had some important connections.

The inspiration of God was their livelihood, their driving force for good, the reason they were born. In the midst of a burning bush, pre-meditated death and the beheading of the forerunner to Christ, God was there. God showed up. God was in control.

Life for these elect was the fulfillment of Biblical history; preserving the lineage of Christ.

It just doesn’t get any better than that. No Hollywood movie could write a script comparable to the flood of all centuries or the richest and wisest man who ever lived.

My perception of these Biblical Kings, Queens and ship builder were set as examples for us.

Hard as that is to grasp, I find myself in many of their travels, dreams or a lover of all 2 and  4 legged creatures.

I can see myself on the ark with all those animals. Wonder if Noah had any Lysol?

Moses has always intrigued me. I relate to him as he told God he would not be a good deliverer. No desire here to deliver anything or anyone, but understand his position of
“Not me Lord, pick someone else.”

Esther was wise. Handpicked by God to become Queen to save the Jewish people, she still felt uneasy about her purpose. Who wouldn’t? Women were not respected. Sound familiar?

God instructed Joseph as a young man in a dream that one day his brothers would bow down to him. That went over well. Joseph knew God’s plan but did he know the suffering he would endure before it came to pass?

Joseph suffered heartbreaking betrayal at the hands of many who simply misunderstood him. He was sold, became a slave prisoner, was accused of adultery and subjected to vile and wicked treatment.

He never gave up. He stood with God and his promise for him. Ultimately his loyalty paid off placing him in the position of the 2nd most powerful man in Egypt.

God saw the whole picture. Joseph was the key to saving the lineage of Abraham.

Deuteronomy 28:9, 10 “The Lord will establish you as his holy people, as he promised you on oath, if you keep the commands of the Lord your God and walk in obedience to him. 10 Then all the peoples on earth will see that you are called by the name of the Lord, and they will fear you.”

The lesson learned here is to wait on God to teach us how to conquer.

The force of intimidation is widespread today. These men and women of God learned over time demoralizing a bully requires only a slingshot.

God’s plan doesn’t change. As we walk with him, the coercion of those who desire to thwart our journey is stopped dead in their tracks. The appeal we display is a mighty contending warrior for Christ even in silence.

The badgered hounds of society are no match for the Holy Spirit. The Bible says,

Luke 21:15 “For I will give you words and wisdom that none of your adversaries will be able to resist or contradict.”

In other words, your Philistines won’t know what really hit them.

http://theriverministries.net/2012/05/22/the-apostle-paul-part-1/

http://highlyfavored74.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/who-is-the-holy-spirit/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/05/19/looking-to-christ/

http://highlyfavored74.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/serve-notice-to-satan-%e2%99%a5/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/discipline/

Copyright at 2012 All Rights Reserved

7 thoughts on “The Badgered Hounds of Society

  1. “…The badgered hounds of society are no match for the Holy Spirit…”

    Ain’t that the truth! Amen.

  2. i really enjoyed the way you wrote this, and yes, hollywood would be shocked if they only knew what was really happening

  3. Amen! Great Post, Cathy!
    God Bless You!

  4. I cannot tell you how many times, in tears, I have asked God, in all seriousness, “what makes you think I can handle this?”
    I do not think I heard an answer, but I knew the answer, because my life is in you. I have handled it, but not me, him through me.
    I have blown most everything I have tried to handle.

    Would you believe that I am currently reading Hinds’ Feet on High Places, and loving it. God has been setting me up with appointments lately and this book was one of them.
    I had gone to Monday on Tuesday’s schedule. That put me there and hour and half early. I left again and went to a second hand store nearby, and bought this book. Because God has brought the tenderizer and this place I am in, this book has me in tears.

    I have been sharing my heart in strange ways, with people I don’t really know, and yet I do. I suspect there is a reason, for God has a reason for everything.
    God bless
    Ozzie

  5. I enjoyed your word this morning. My youngest daughter is depending on God to move and she says everything appears to be falling apart but she still believes God and I thought it appropriate for her to read your most encouraging word. God Bless

Leave a Reply

