Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

The Stuff Between Your Ears

15 Comments


Switch if off. Turn it off. Shut it down. And listen to God.

Our brains are overloaded. Our minds are being infiltrated with every possible thought imaginable. It is impossible in a society so technologically advanced to absorb the daily news, Wisteria Lane and government politics without losing some very important brain cells. And if that isn’t enough to enlist you to the local institution nothing will.

The enemy loves our busy minds. He uses them to his advantage. Unfortunately he knows more than we would like him to know. He knows what we like or dislike, our weaknesses and our fears. Worst of all is he is patient….his strategy is to take his time filling our loaded brains with lines like,

“You can’t do that. You aren’t skilled enough,” or “Go ahead. Jump in the fire. It won’t burn you.”

Hopefully jumping into a fire is an activity most of us would rather not do…but how often has he used other language to persuade us to believe him?

About 12 years ago I was a single parent, working and sick. The enemy is a coward. He used some of my sickest moments to fill my mind with deception, lies and vile falsehoods.

One night, lying in bed I heard the words, “You are going to die. Just give up. You will die and you ex-husband will get custody of your daughter.”

The devil was stupid. He should have known the one area that would keep me alive was my daughter.

At that moment I made up my mind I was going to get well and stay well because there was no way on God’s green earth I would let my ex-husband get custody of her. The devil’s words backfired on him reminding me of the one incentive to change my thinking.

God’s words are the opposite of the devil filled with love, hope and positive overtones. Positive thoughts give life, success and health.

The devil feeds us fabrications of fear, doubt, hate, and evil; anything to bring us down in despair, depression and even suicidal thoughts.

The key to determining the difference is God’s word. Learning his word expels evil. Using it, speaking it out loud will chase the enemy away. Avoid his negative, blurry, misrepresentations by not giving him a moment’s notice. Ignore him. Instead focus on God.

Have you noticed your thought patterns when you are tired? Have you sensed a shift from the positive to the negative? Have you thought certain thoughts and wondered, “Where did that come from?”

Be aware of what drops in your head. If it is distracting, dishonest or negative, don’t stay there. Renew your mind with God’s word; practice his positive outlook and believe it.

Romans 12:2 “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

This process takes time, effort and study, but well worth it. It is crucial to keep your focus on God allowing him to change your thinking.

Why? Our thinking affects everything we say, do, and how we act. Understand this is not learned over night. Don’t allow self-condemnation to set in which gives the enemy a foothold. Keep trying and trust God to teach you.

God reveals his character as we filter the evil out of our thinking leaving our minds free and clear to hear him. The importance of simplifying our lives increases the time we have to spend alone with God.

The devil hates it.

And God loves it.

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/does-nature-reveal-god/

http://highlyfavored74.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/2430/

http://refusingtotiptoe.com/2012/05/17/the-four-minutes-that-renovated-my-walk-last-year/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/05/17/question-why-shouldnt-i-worry/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

15 thoughts on “The Stuff Between Your Ears

  1. “…This process takes time, effort and study, but well worth it…”

    Allow yourself some grace along the way because you are bound to make a mistake or two…or in my case a thousand or so mistakes. Just dust yourself off and keep on going. Like a child who touches a hot stove, some wisdom is learned through mistakes.

  2. This was great. Thanks for sharing that personal story. I think this past year I have seen just how deceiving and even beautiful Satan’s lies can be. One of the things that I teach most to young people, is the responsibility we have with our minds. How very important it is to “throw off the old self” and “put on the new self” with your thoughts. Capture those lies and immediately replace it with truth/scripture. A battle to put it lightly.

  3. Great Post, Cathy! When it comes to icky thoughts, the Lord tells me, “Never entertain.” but it takes practice and work because the devil is sneaky and sly. Rejoicing in the Lord is the best medicine to heal a sick mind.
    God Bless You!

  4. Great post.
    I especially liked the thing about what happens when you’re tired of under the weather. All kinds of nasty thinking tries to creep in when you’re weak and vulnerable.

  5. today i think satan was trying his best in this house

    • Terry, Satan is attacking relentlessly and he is such a coward he will especially attack when we are most vulnerable, ill or depressed. For lack of a better bunch of words he “kicks us when we are down.”

      We often don’t see his deception when we feel like that so it makes it more difficult to deal with. Knowing it is Satan causing the problem diverts the attention away from the circumstances. And then grab your Bible and read it. Soak yourself even for a few minutes in God’s word. Personally for me, I have found the closer I get to God, the less the enemy attacks. Maybe it is because God naturally protects us that way.

      Hang in there. You have an army of angels with you.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

  6. Yes,Naphtali- the adversary loves to attack at the weakest hour. Even so stay looking to God. Because in the end whatever you are facing God has given a prayer to deal with such attacks. I like to use the Serenity Prayer. It allows me to filter the things I can personally change with courage from God. Serenity to accept the things I can’t change- but God can. The wisdom to know the difference.

    I love what you expressed here: Be aware of what drops in your head. If it is distracting, dishonest or negative, don’t stay there. Renew your mind with God’s word; practice his positive outlook and believe it.
    This is so true because small lies become big ones and it is the same for me . A lie is a lie. Some people don’t want to show love but be bitter and look for reasons to cause distraction in your temple. I believe when you know you are showing love then don’t let carnal ways creep in. Some people live in negativity and love negativity. They are immune to infecting others. They show only love when it is convenient for them. God ‘s love is not this way and true Christians should be in alignment with their actions and words. People are smiling in your face but stabbing you in the back with sneaky sly motives. God gives discernment to His children.

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

    • You are so right here. I have to think about what I am thinking about….Joyce Meyer. Sometimes I try to decipher the messages as they fall in my head even asking God, “is this you, me or who?”

      Being aware of what you think is paramount to the rest of our life. My prayer is people would realize they are what they hear, listen to and watch. Just like food, we are what we eat.

      Just want to say I have a younger sister and older brother who have never wanted to be close to me. I spent years trying only to realize it wasn’t going to happen. As I have aged some I now see some reasons why and glad to know it wasn’t me. They have their own issues and I forgive them but wonder how different it could have been. They are opposite of me and that has a lot to do with it.

      I love how I have never met you physically and feel the sisterhood I never had. Mark 10 expresses how when we leave our family which we had to God replaces us with even more. I thank God for you and for filling in with what I never had.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

    • Love what you had to say but I thought I’d share with you the whole Serenity Prayer it is my favorite.

      God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change,
      The courage to change the things I can,
      And the wisdom to know the difference.
      Living one day at a time,
      Enjoying one moment at a time;
      Taking, as Jesus did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it;
      So that I may be reasonably happy in this life
      And supremely happy with You forever in the next.
      Amen

      By Reinhold Neibuhr

      I’m going to post this on my blog

      Joy – A Woman After God’s Own Heart

  7. Reblogged this on Be Better Not Bitter and commented:
    Awesome word. Very heartfelt message that should be consumed and digested.

Leave a Reply

