Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Dethrone Yourself

25 Comments


Words .Everyday language or not. Depends on if you are the giver or the receiver of the words.

Hurts and pains from others dive deep into our heart making waves of emotions soar.

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.”

Talk about a false, totally inaccurate, ludicrous statement.

A harsh word here, a crude word there spoken intentionally or unintentionally may last a lifetime.

Words created the world. Words start wars. Words end wars. Words are everywhere in this day and time. I thank God for glasses so I can read and write so many words. I happen to like words.

I wonder when God created words to speak the world into creation if his vocabulary included words like, hate, dislike, mean, ugly, filthy, prejudiced, kill, evil, etc., etc., etc.

If the Garden of Eden was perfect and good those words would not need to be in existence. This is all Adam’s fault. If he hadn’t sinned, our glossary options might be full of Galatians 5: 22 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control, etc., etc., etc.

 Words are powerful. Words fulfill or betray. Words teach or abandon. Words are wise or stupid. Words are knowledgeable or ignorant. Depending on our use of words, reflects the true nature of our hearts.

Luke 6: 45 “The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.”

A self-loathing attitude escapes their own anguish by belittling others with a list of coarse adjectives leaving them with a self-proclaimed prophecy. You are the words you speak. Good breeds good. Hate breeds hate.

Sticks and stones may not break bones, but words can break a heart into pieces through selfish ambition, discord, hatred, dissension, etc., etc., etc..

I like to play a game with God where I ask a question and he gives me the answer. Now I may not hear it for a while, but that isn’t his fault. I may have “selective hearing” or I’m a little slow on the uptake.  In fact I get excited when an answer shows up on my radar screen I asked 10 years ago!

We can’t make people do things or stop them from their cowardly treachery.

We can be responsible for our responses or actions to the spears of torment thrown our way. How?

By killing the flesh.

Rid yourself of the flesh; rid yourself of self. Then there is nothing left to be injured.

Forgiveness can only be brought about through God. The flesh in and of itself cannot forgive. Once flesh is gone, there is no injury to be remembered.

Dethrone yourself.

As you crawl or sliver off your seat of selfish impurities; before you hit the floor embrace God.

For every hit you take or slap in the face, embrace the love of God.

For every betrayal or gutless traitor who embarks on a journey to slander your integrity, embrace the forgiveness of God and forgive them.

For every ill fated blow sent your way, reach for God and live a new life with him.

As for the sticks and stones, just throw them away.

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/following-the-law/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/the-folly-of-ignorance/

http://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/sihs-think-on-these-things-heb-1128/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/05/02/quote-toward/

25 thoughts on “Dethrone Yourself

  1. “…Dethrone yourself…”

    Sadly, I still remember my coronation. It seems like only yesterday, or maybe, this morning.

    Good post.

  2. The need for us to crucify our flesh cannot be overemphasized. Thank you for bringin to our minds this important subject. By God’s grace we all will submit our lives totally to Him for His glory. Lord bless.

  3. i’ve (am learning) that i can’t do it alone, or even flip a gem off or two. God must do it for me, as it hurts too much. submitting to him and his will if utmost to begin the process. Shalom

    • Jeanne, I know what you mean. Getting rid of self is difficult; a process that only God can do. I know for myself it has been a lifelong issue; I can tell God is working though. I don’t get nearly as upset by what other people say now oppose to before. And that is all God. I know I could never have come to the place I am now without his divine intervention.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • I am reminded of the hymn, “Just as I am.”

        “Just as I am without one plea
        but that thy blood was shed for me…”

        His blood caused the knee to bend and the heart to bow in submission to his will in my life.

        “O Lamb of God…I come!”

  4. I agree. We’re doing ourselves a huge favor by forgiving and moving forward with Christ!
    God Bless You!

  5. i loved what you said and i also loved that flower, beautiful

    • thank you Terry, the flower comes from a college friend who is a photographer. His link is on my site…hoping the birthday party goes over great!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • thank you for your comment on the link. i was reading some of the other comments and came across the one about joyce meyers. i watch her daily. i connect with all she says in every day living. to me she is next best to going to church, and since we don’t go now cuz of brother, she is my next choice. i also watch Dr. Charles Stanley

      • Terry, Joyce Meyer is like my hero. I have read many of her books. Her life testimony is truly a work of God. I also love Joel Osteen, and Joseph Prince. Yes, they are like going to church.

        Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • i have never heard of Joseph Prince? Is he on TV?

      • yes, Joseph Prince is from Singapore. He is on TBN a lot; friends of Joel and Victoria Osteen and Matt and Laurie on TBN. He pastors a church of around 25000 people in Singapore. He is an excellent Bible teacher and has a great sense of humor.

        Another great preacher is Perry Stone. He is a prophet and has wonderful books and teaches a lot from Israel. He is a country preacher who is anointed of God in many ways. His ministry is called Manna Fest. You can look both of these up on the internet. There are many who have greatly encouraged my walk in the Lord. I read a lot of Christian based books.

        Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      • thank you for this new information for me. i will look into it!

  6. A whole lot of truth there! As one who has been a victim of phyical and emotional abuse, I can tell you the physical scars healed a lot faster than the emotional scars. Jesus had to heal those scars for me. I appreciate your words on it!

  7. Hi Cathy as you said words can hurt but only when we accept them as Truth, this is why we need to know our worth in the Lord and not depend on worldly or fleshy self – esteem.

    We also remember that sometimes we need to say sorry first when we do something that hurts others even if it was not intentional or we need to explain why or how it happened and t not just ignore it or blame them for being in error, sadly many do this today and so people continue to hurt even though a word has not even been spoken, sometimes we need to say the right words that heal and restores a relationship.

    God said to Adam that he would be punished because he listened to Eve and disobeyed Him, as you said Cathy some words are dangerous and Eve was indeed punished too as she also experienced more pain in childbirth not having the relief anymore that was provided in the Garden, but they could not remain there because having sinned they would never have been able to be rescued if they took from the tree of life and so they had to live in a barren and harsh environment that was not prepared by God for them… their choice and so they punished themselves, much the same as we do when we sin today without repentance.

    Thank you Cathy and God bless you greatly.
    Christian Love Anne.

  8. Great post and good comments. So right about needing to get the flesh out of the way. Like you and others, I’m learning to take up my cross daily and follow Jesus. And also as one person said, it’s too painful for me to get rid of the flesh so I have to let God do it. My part is to yield and trust. Thanks for these excellent thoughts.
    Tricia

    • Your Welcome Tricia. God is good and has blessed many here on WordPress to encourage others. We are all dealing with hardships and difficulties. I have found support and great Bible teaching from many bloggers. God bless.

  9. Great blog! We should all work to de-throne ourselves.

Leave a Reply

