Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Lost in the Garden

11 Comments


The last 2 days I spent  planting flowers and herbs to spruce the yard up. My 2nd trip to Lowe’s needed the attention of my expert gardener husband for advice on buying teeny, weeny, little plants for some very small pots. Herbs filled them nicely but not before I actually lost my husband in the Lowe’s garden center.

Now how one can lose a 230 lb., 6 foot man in Lowe’s Garden center is a mystery to me but I did. He had the cart, I had the car keys so I knew he wasn’t going anywhere without me. The one day I go off and leave my cell phone at home was the day I really needed it! Oh the joys of texting to find you’re long lost love.

Strolling around in between rows of pots, planters, marigolds, roses, and intense shoppers he was nowhere to be found.  I must admit how silly I felt losing my husband and spending my valuable shopping experience searching for him instead of the wonderful indulgence of God’s green earth.

The look on my face must have revealed “a woman in distress” as those with a “green thumb” paraded around me as if I was standing in their way. Had they known my plight, maybe they would have offered to aid me in my desperate search instead of frowning upon me as if I was covered in fertilizer.

As I stood in the middle of the center, hands on my hips, straining my eyes to locate this man of my dreams a young female employee stopped and asked,

“Can I help you?”

Me, “I have lost my husband and my cell phone is at home.”

Employee, “Well, we could page him like we do lost children.”

Laughing I thought what a great idea but knowing he would not want to be categorized as a young child lost in the Lowe’s Garden center, I declined.

Not long after, I spotted his baseball cap. Letting an all out “yell” he looked up only to see me approaching with a very quick sprint. After calming me down he whispered,

“Do you have to be so loud?”

Me, “I couldn’t find you anywhere, so yes. Loud works for me!”

Once we were home, he slipped upstairs to his “Man Land” for a much needed nap while I continued my 2nd day of hard labor to win the “Yard of the Week” award.

The hot sun drained me of much needed toxins but leaving me drenched with sweat. If it had been warmer, I would have ventured into our pool for a quick dip.

Today, my body needs a good massage. Muscles in my legs and arms ache in any attempt to move. Bending over repeatedly did a number on my upper back.

Admitting I am no longer in my vibrant youth, rest has been the order of the day after church. Attending church was a major accomplishment considering it took all I had to avoid falling asleep not to mention limping around like a cripple.

A few weeks from now the aches and pains will be worth the beauty of watching my flowers grow.

This parallel is far from what our Savior did on the Cross, but the resemblance is the same.

Jesus saw the other side of the Cross. Jesus knew his sufferings would show up as saved souls on the backside of Calvary.

As my flowers grow and come to life, the gesture of God’s love will be a reminder to me of all Jesus did on the cross.

The dirty soil in our lives springs into petals of color and beauty as we lean heavily on the Cross to purify and cleanse us.

And in the process of getting lost in God’s garden is this “green thumb wannabe.”

1 Timothy 4:4 “For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving.”

http://mrkstevenson.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/come-unto-mephoto-of-jesus-in-the-clouds/

http://javaman56.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/captivated-by-his-beauty/

http://ladydeidre.com/2012/04/21/butterflies/

http://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/turtle-time/

11 thoughts on “Lost in the Garden

  1. Love the beautifully intertwined expressions Cathy. “The dirty soil in our lives springs into petals of color and beauty as we lean heavily on the Cross to purify and cleanse us.”

  2. those are beautiful plants and flowers. they represent life, strength, beauty

  3. I loved your story of losing your husband, because mine is always walking away when we are shopping too, and he’s a big guy like your husband. At least I know to always look in electronics for him. He always makes his way back to that section no matter what store we are in.

  4. I’m glad you found your husband and your plants look awesome! Thanks for linking me.
    God Bless You!

  5. Cell phones work well at Home Depot or Loews for lost mates. We use them all the time there.

  6. Pretty, poetic post!

  7. Yes, the beauty that comes after the suffering is a most wonderful reward!

Leave a Reply

