Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Coffee and A Brood of Vipers

14 Comments


Sitting in my swivel chair this morning with a cup of coffee with Amaretto creamer I opened my Bible to Proverbs. Specifically Proverbs 2: 12, Wisdom will save you from the ways of wicked men, from men whose words are perverse.”

Ok,  God. Then he told me to look over at Proverbs 4:24 Put away perversity from your mouth; keep corrupt talk far from your lips.”

God spoke again, “ Blog for today; tell people to stop cussing.”

Did you get that? Stop cussing. Stop swearing. There, I told you.

Like God, I am troubled at the filthy, nasty words that flow out of people’s mouths.

The vulgarities used today are mindless and in need of a new vocabulary.

For me, I cannot listen to it. The words are disturbing. Cussing is a non-use, an expletive of expletives.

Years ago, being subjected to so many vile, profanities 24/7, broke me of ever spewing such contamination.

Besides the fact God views swearing as corrupt, the sound is demeaning, belittling and intrusive.

Exodus 20:7“You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not leave him unpunished who takes His name in vain.”

If God views cussing as perverse, I think he wants us to recuse ourselves.

What is the point? Why throw such meaningless obscenities around?

Do you feel tough or smarter than those of us who don’t?

Are you creating a stance of “don’t mess with me” attitude?

Are you following the crowd slowly into the lake of fire with your words?

Your English grammar teacher taught you? Sorry. I asked that, not God.  Thought you might want to blame it on some teacher you had years ago who can’t defend themselves.

Swearing/Cussing promotes evil from within. Like the verse,

Matthew 12: 34-35 “You brood of vipers, how can you who are evil say anything good? For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of. A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in him, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in him.”

If swearing/cussing flies  from your storage, what else is in there? Ugh..I don’t really want to know.

I have found in conversations with a brood of vipers that eject their unconscionable view of what is in their hearts, as soon as they find out I am a Christian it stops.

Ummmm….wonder what that means?

Maybe they respect my views?

They are embarrassed all of a sudden for their lack of vocabulary?

They spoke out of turn or had an unusual lapse in judgment?

They didn’t realize I was a Christian before the excessive use of 4 letter words escaped them?

So….if any of the above are the case, why do it at all?

OH. I get it. Swearing/Cussing is ok when accompanied by others who apply these non-words themselves but are uncomfortable around those who pursue words of wisdom, knowledge and understanding…..and leave out such filthy language?

Does this mean it is a choice to cuss or not to cuss?

SURE! But you are condemning yourself when you do.

You are choosing to go against God’s word if you do.

You deepen the hole in your heart of delusion if you do.

So God says don’t do it. or stop taking his name in vain.

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/true-christianity/

http://theriverministries.net/2012/04/18/freedom-from-curses/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/04/18/the-worst-illustration-ever-the-christian-horror-story/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

14 thoughts on “Coffee and A Brood of Vipers

  1. Isn’t it strange that as many false gods there are, none have their names drug through the mud like God and Jesus do. To me it serves as a proven fact that there must be something about those two names that make them such objects of degredation. No one swears by calling out Buddah’s name. No one uses Muhammad’s name when cussing.

  2. me too! i am amazed that now that my brother’s dementia is getting worse, he can cuss pretty good. i don’t know where it is coming from, and i repeatedly tell him we don’t cuss in this house

    • That is not surprising. My grandmother had Alzheimers and had never said a cuss word in her life until then. He can’t help it. She had no idea what she was saying. He probably doesn’t either. My prayers are with you for your diligence with taking care of him.

      God will really bless you; God knows how much you are sacrificing to take care of him.

      Cathy Craig Neil,

  3. Having been in construction, I have been around foul mouthed workers. Sometimes, they enjoyed spewing it extra heavy or playing Howard Stern on the radio just for my benefit. I would take the radio and put it in the rafters during lunch time after setting it on a classical music station. Then, I’d hide the ladders.

    A few days of this and the language improved somewhat for a while.

  4. I wish this could be law. I’m not sure how it is where you are, but here in Hawaii, even though people here are generally very friendly–they love to cuss! I’m always so shocked, especially when it’s some little 3rd grader or such and they say it like it’s nothing. And the parents don’t mind ’cause they’re cussin right back. It is disturbing. *Almost* comical because you can’t believe what you’re seeing (or hearing), but mainly disturbing. Great post~

    • I agree; they are making laws for everything else! And yes, it is the same here and I believe everywhere which is very sad. You are too young to know this but it didn’t use to be this way. No cussing in schools, friends didn’t cuss, it wasn’t on TV! Somewhere along the way it became normal. Not for me. You seem to be such a mature young lady for your age! Good for you! Keep up with God as you are doing; you will be blessed and blessed!

      • That is very unfortunate….And sad that no, I don’t remember a time when there was no cussing in schools. I just pray that people will realize the damage it does and soon. And thank you, I receive the blessing :D, lol!

  5. Dishonoring our Lord using our tongue comes in many different forms and varients. But the one thing they all have in common is that they are habit forming.

    Once we start to use a phrase or word it just gets easier and easier to use it a second, third, fourth …. time.

    But the wonderful blessing from God is that the same holds true for words honoring Him. If we start to tell others “have a blessed day” or “the Lord is good” etc etc etc they, too can become a part of our daily speech.

    After your wonderful reminder to us, let’s all try to develope the good habit of God honoring speech in our lives! Lord bless.

  6. I enjoy reading through your blog. Keep up the great message!!!

  7. Beautiful and total truth, Cathy! Well written as usual…

Leave a Reply

