Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Get a Heart Condition

23 Comments


My brain is in need of my heart.  It needs repair. Switching it off at times is not so easy. It is often my own worst enemy.

Renewing my mind has been a very long process. At least I figured out my thinking was crooked, negative and scattered. Having said that my brain is not where it used to be wherever that was, neither is it where I want it to be.

Training our minds to follow our heart or the Holy Spirit is like telling our cat to stop chasing mice. Yeah right.

God is the only reason my mind thinks at all Godly. And there are those moments certain alleged concepts seem to drop in unexpectedly.

I am always questioning God, “Is that you or me speaking?” “Or where did that brain wave come from?” That’s scary.

Many times God has spoken and I knew it was him. No doubt. He has given me a word, warnings or preparations for future events. I just love it when he does that.

Yearning for a closer relationship with him, I want to know his voice so completely I don’t miss it. Instead of kicking myself under the bus and ignoring those whispers in my ear, I am beginning to thank him even when I am uncertain. Getting it right may be trial and error but I am sure he is aware of my shortcomings.

One aspect of God I have learned about his character is I sense when he is pleased. The answer may be at the end but he is concerned about how I get there. In the middle of it all is his joy in knowing I am seeking him for the answer which brings about a closeness I have never had with anyone.

Switching your brain to think like Jesus is learned. Unfortunately we aren’t born with a natural capability to be selfless, nice and genuine. Our minds as children are swept away with greed, selfishness and all that is mine.

Children are blessed with a freedom from the world’s mess to a point. I remember as a child my fearless nature. No cares. No worries. Only “where is the fun?”

I didn’t know I needed to renew my mind when I was a child. Actually didn’t figure it out until way into adulthood!

Along the way God showed me a few thoughts as to how to go about renewing my mind. Seasons of being around purely negative souls who had no desire to think positively about anything began my search. What we hear eventually becomes what we believe.

  1. Simplify your life.
  2. Get quiet with God as often as possible.
  3. Read and study his word with him.
  4. Pray
  5. And if you think you can’t do the above ask God to show you how to simplify your life and give you the time to be with him. He did it for me.

The thinking that we are supposed to do everything, be everything, and know everything is now America. So when did we take over God’s job?

How’s that working for ya? If our country is any reflection of the “super humans” we have made ourselves out to be, it ain’t working folks.

Our heart should mesh with God’s heart. Getting it right, God begins to train our minds to follow. Easier said than done? Sure.

Impossible? No.

The enemy has our society “thinking”  busy. Busy. Busy. Anything to keep us from getting closer to Jesus in the physical realm because he knows when we really get into the word of God his days are numbered.

I can tell a difference in where my mind travels now. It is a concerted effort at times to keep it aligned with the word of God, but the more I practice and read his word it becomes a part of me little by little.

My thought processes have completely changed over the years from thinking less with my brain and more with my heart.  And that is good news for everyone who knows me.

Matthew 6:33
“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/03/12/quote-praying/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/03/08/question-renewing-my-what/

http://goodchristianfiction.wordpress.com/2012/03/11/tiny-steps-make-great-feats/

http://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-works-of-the-devil-and-the-incredible-power-of-god/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/when-politicians-tell-you-what-you-want-to-hear/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

23 thoughts on “Get a Heart Condition

  1. “My thought processes have completely changed over the years from thinking less with my brain and more with my heart. And that is good news for everyone who knows me.”

    Great ending. Sums up Kingdom Living wonderfully.

  2. Hi Cathy, it’s good as you shared to be seeking for God’s perfection in Love ( heart ) and yes that comes from both the heart and the mind, thank you for reminding us about being just too busy for God and friendship in Christ Jesus, I posted about this recently it was called Satan’s meeting.

    God cannot sin in anyway but what we also need to remember is He cannot… *Not Love*… He is Love, so what is Love in it’s fullness or perfection…this is the Love we have when we have put our flesh Nature to death and are Born again, and we then have the mind of Christ 1Corinthians2:(9-16) we think as Jesus thinks with His wisdom, logic, reasoning and we know the things of God 1John3:9, there is no sin in Love. These Scriptures below are not complete passages so please read in context for full appreciation.

    1 Corinthians 13:4 – 8a Charity ( Love ) suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. Charity never faileth:

    Galations 5:23 But the fruit of the Spirit is Love, Joy, Peace, Longsuffering, Gentleness, Goodness, Faith, Meekness, Temperance: against such there is no law.

    Christian Love Anne.

  3. i often wonder also if it is god or me speaking. nice read

  4. This is really fantastic….glad you shared this!

  5. oh…great title too 🙂 very clever…

  6. Awesome! Great Post, Cathy.
    God bless You!

  7. What I have had to learn is to not depend on my puny ability to follow Him, but rather, to depend on His ability to lead me. He is a great Leader. I rest, knowing He will make Himself known on what He wants me to do.

  8. What we hear eventually becomes what we believe.

    So very true…this is an excellent post, Cathy. Very well said and I can relate! Thanks.

    I believe He is ever calling us to go deeper with Him as He heals our hearts and continually sets us more free…

  9. Thanks for sharing your intimacy with us. You are so right, the only thing God wants us busy at is getting to know Him better. Grace and blessings, Vince

  10. Love this post. I think I’ll come back to it often. =)

  11. I want you to know you blessed me more than i ever thought. you did something that helped me so much. God has a special place for angels like you. he has a special crown for you sis.

Leave a Reply

