Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Sorry Moses. Starbucks is closed.

16 Comments


So this Moses guy. You know, Moses the guy standing on “Holy Ground?”

Well,  I have a confession to make. My husband is hunting so I don’t have to worry about his take on the subject.

Moses is my kind of man. Yep, if there was a character in the Bible who could have my heart it would be him. Not sure why but  Charlton Heston may have had something to do with it.

Scene where Moses is taught how to tend sheep ...

Image via Wikipedia

His story has always intrigued me. Why wouldn’t it? He was born a poor Hebrew until he floated upstream and just happened to land at the feet of royalty? yea, right. Like God had nothing to do with that.

He grows up in the Egyptian palace of the Pharaoh believing he was something he really wasn’t. No one told him any different so he lived the high life.  Now Moses’s brother was Yul Brenner. Together they made a pretty good team even though Mr. Brenner was a spoiled brat.

They grew up only to find Moses was not Egyptian but Hebrew. Moses was more shocked than anyone. Can you imagine? Finding out Yul Brenner was not your real brother?

Moses’s life was turned upside down.  He gets kicked out of the house. out of Egypt. into the desert.

No restaurants. No shoe stores. No Rodeo Drive. No Starbucks. No Cokes. No Happy Meals. Worst of all, no Dasani.

What was he going to do? How could he live without that first cup of coffee?

He’s in the desert for who knows how long, (God) so how does he survive? (God)

Did you get that last part? That was the lesson.

The next 40 years Moses was a sheep herder.

One day he decided to climb Mt. Sinai where he saw a “burning bush” that wasn’t really burned. Yea. Go figure that one out.

God spoke to him and told him to deliver his people out of Egypt into the Promised Land like it was just another day job.

Let’s take a “Coca Cola” break and think about this.

Up until now Moses’s life had gone from the Palace to the Pit. or the desert. Gold, silver, lobster, wine, Armani Suits. Ants, bugs, rags, worn out sandals and dirt. Then God tells him to go tell Pharaoh to “let his people go.”

“What? You want me to do what? ”

“and take your staff with you; it will come in handy.”

Handy? Ok. Moses wasn’t too keen on this whole “deliver the people” idea so he asked God to find someone else.

Sure! I don’t think God does that.

As the story goes, Moses and Yul Brenner go to the palace. Only Moses wasn’t wearing his Armani suits so they didn’t recognize him at first.

Pharaoh laughed at him in his rags and long, dirty hair.  He wasn’t about to let the slaves go. Who would serve him? Who would be there to wash his feet? duh…

Pharaoh deserves the ‘Most Stubborn Stupid Award.”

Finally, after much prodding along with many plagues of horror he let them go.

Moses had delivered the people. Only he had no idea what he had gotten himself  into. The Israelites were lets just say, “not the easiest bunch”  to deal with.

God performed miracle after miracle for the Israelites. Yet, their unbelief remained. Complaining and whining all the way home.

My admiration for Moses exists due to his humble courage to take on a job no one would want. It is apparent by his longing for God to strip him of this plight that his driving force was God. A right minded person would  run off the mountain if they saw a burning bush.

Moses believed God. There was no doubt it was God all the way. He knew God had spoken to him. He knew God was leading him. He knew God understood the misery and suffering of such an endeavor. He knew God would never leave him.

Moses succeeded because he was convinced God was God. He had his moments, but his heart was set on the call. His heart was set because Moses believed God.

Oh, that I would have that belief. Oh, that we would all be so convinced. or courageous. or humble.

BTW: God wants you to pack your bags, lightly.

We may not be Moses, but he has some modern day Red Seas for us to cross.

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

16 thoughts on “Sorry Moses. Starbucks is closed.

  1. Yeah, and Heston looked just like Moses, in much the same way Paul Newman and his blue eyes looked Jewish in the movie, “Exodus.” Oh well! Hollywood.

  2. I like to travel lightly anyway. Nice post.

  3. How can you not like Moses? He faced a lot of “What the heck” moments! 🙂
    Enjoyed the post, Cathy!

  4. He is indeed a splendid fellow.

    Exodus 32:26-29

    then Moses stood in the gate of the camp and said, “Who is on the Lord’s side? Come to me.” And all the sons of Levi gathered around him. 27 And he said to them, “Thus says the Lord God of Israel, ‘Put your sword on your side each of you, and go to and fro from gate to gate throughout the camp, and each of you kill his brother and his companion and his neighbor.’” 28 And the sons of Levi did according to the word of Moses. And that day about three thousand men of the people fell. 29 And Moses said, “Today you have been ordained for the service of the Lord, each one at the cost of his son and of his brother, so that he might bestow a blessing upon you this day.”

  5. Hi Cathy good message I always like reading about Moses and as you shared we must always be willing to do as God tells us and leads us. But it is sad today that there are those who doubt Miracles, mostly they are unbelievers except in themselve,s their fleshy pride won’t accept what they can’t understand or do.

    I have found in my past that it is those who have never experienced Miracles and signs and wonders that reject them. Having experienced them, I have no doubt they are real and they weren’t deception, no man could have caused them to happen. Jesus said if you don’t believe me believe in the Miracles, when we doubt that they are real for what ever reason we are doubting God’s Supernatural being.

    When I was sharing once about Miracles this man who claimed they were only for the early church rejecting prophesy to do so, held up his hand and said this is my miracle and yes not just our hand but all of us is indeed a miracle, which even makes it harder to understand why they think God has stopped doing Miracles when He tells us He is the same yesterday today and tomorrow.

    Of course in the end times as Revelation tells us when the dragon arises there will be miracles to deceive and even now there is deception , tricks, lies and elusions by they are of man there is no power in them.. Gods miracles signs and wonders are very differant.

    How wonderful we have just witnessed another Miracle with Wendy who died 4 times with was out any hope to survive, keep praying for a complete healing how great is our God!

    Christian Love Anne.

    • Anne, God is obviously doing a miracle in Wendy. I am still praying. She is in good hands.

      The skeptics tend to be skeptical about everything; but when it comes to Godly miracles they disregard them all together. It is a miracle to breath every breath. The sun rises and sets every day. I have birds all over our bird feeder lately and I love to watch the miracle of how these little ones are so cared for by God. As I observe their behaviors He reminds me of his word, “look at the sparrows and birds of the air.” He is taking care of them and so does even more for us. That is a miracle.

      Blessings and prayers coming your way!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC http://www.wix.com/cathyneil/Property-Management 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      ________________________________

      • Wow Cathy have you read Bob’s latest message, when Wendy had the heart attack she died 4 times and today she kissed Bob 4 times, there is no brain damage which Bob was warned about, I can’t stop rejoicing, God is so wonderful, so Amazing why, why , why do people doubt Him …why did I …because I didn’t really know Him, I kept Him in my own little Box that I could understand, which was very limited and worldly, sad but because of my doubts I didn’t have His inner Joy, I didn’t soar with Him.

        Thank you so much for your prayers …thank you Cathy you are such a blessing.

      • Anne, even though you are thousands of miles across the world the Spirit of God has connected us and people who prayed for Wendy! I am so thrilled to hear the great news! What a miracle! Wow! she will have a testimony that will shake the world! I am so happy for her and Bob! Praise God for healing her! And you Anne! you stuck with her through it and made such a great difference in her getting through this.

        I don’t know how people can deny Christ and his miracle working goodness….blessings to you from America!

        Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC http://www.wix.com/cathyneil/Property-Management 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

        ________________________________

  6. “modern day red seas to cross” — love that! it’s got me thinking about what mine are… 🙂 and this reminds me that God sustains so much more than my dependence on coffee in the morning. working on cutting down… 🙂

  7. I taught about Moses yesterday so your post was very meaningful to me today. Thanks for all the great thoughts. This chapter meant a lot to me when I read it last week: Exodus 33:7-20
    Now Moses used to take a tent and pitch it outside the camp some distance away, calling it the “tent of meeting.” Anyone inquiring of the Lord would go to the tent of meeting outside the camp. 8And whenever Moses went out to the tent, all the people rose and stood at the entrances to their tents, watching Moses until he entered the tent. 9As Moses went into the tent, the pillar of cloud would come down and stay at the entrance, while the Lord spoke with Moses. 10Whenever the people saw the pillar of cloud standing at the entrance to the tent, they all stood and worshiped, each at the entrance to his tent. 11The Lord would speak to Moses face to face, as a man speaks with his friend. Then Moses would return to the camp, but his young aide Joshua son of Nun did not leave the tent.

    12Moses said to the Lord, “You have been telling me, ‘Lead these people,’ but you have not let me know whom you will send with me. You have said, ‘I know you by name and you have found favor with me.’ 13If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. Remember that this nation is your people.”

    14The Lord replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

    15Then Moses said to him, “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here. 16How will anyone know that you are pleased with me and with your people unless you go with us? What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”

    17And the Lord said to Moses, “I will do the very thing you have asked, because I am pleased with you and I know you by name.”

    18Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

    19And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. 20But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”

    Wow…what a intimate relationship they had.

  8. Pingback: We have such a GREAT GOD!! | ChristianBlessings

  9. Pingback: A Top Ten List of Stuff I Never Get Tired of « Geeky Girl

  10. Pingback: Conscientious Objectors « Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Leave a Reply

