Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

I Gave my Sledgehammer Away

17 Comments


Do you know what doors are for? Really?

The door is open so the 78 degree weather can come inside today. It is February after all. OH. February is winter.

My back door opened is a reminder of the many doors that open in our lives. Or the ones that shut.

Doors go either way. How we respond to them is the key. Often doors are signs from God 

Use to be when a door shut I would respond with an offensive attitude asking, “why? I want to go through that door!”

Age has taught me along with years of spending time alone with God and his word those doors he shut kept me from getting into more trouble than I was already in.  Now I thank him that he is God! His ways are not mine! (be really thankful for that)

When you ponder the idea of open and shut doors from God isn’t that a clever idea?

He made it so simple yet we search around for other doors only to walk into the one that ends up hitting us in the face.” Oh, I wondered where I got this bruise on my head.”

Going out on a limb here I finally wised up (no jokes please) and started praying for God to shut doors he didn’t want me to force open. Now I am small but have managed over the years to pry open doors shut so tight you couldn’t open them without a sledgehammer.

I have to ask myself now, “what was I thinking?” Pushing, pulling, beating, screaming until I squeezed through it. Once in, it wasn’t door #3 giving away a free car.

What happens when you beat your way through the wrong door? It knocks you down and lands on the broken nose you gave yourself trying to open it in the first place.

You know what happens next? (that is if you are smart) You cry out to God Almighty to remove the door.

What if God leaves you under the door for a while? It sure gets heavy. It hurts. It is painful.

I can’t blame God for this heavy, painful door smashing my face. I did force it open. He tried to stop me. BUT NO! I had to be rebellious or what is the saying? “Curiosity killed the cat?”

Finally after so many doors fell on me I decided maybe God was trying to tell me something!  Ok. I heard that!  You have no room to talk here!

He closes doors for my protection or stops me from getting into the wrong relationship. or the wrong project. or the wrong class.  or listening to the wrong words. or hanging out in the wrong places. or running my big mouth when it should be shut.

Mark 4:24, 25 24 “Consider carefully what you hear,” he continued. “With the measure you use, it will be measured to you—and even more. 25 Whoever has will be given more; whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them.”

Closing doors from God’s perspective for us means he may be removing from our lives that which he doesn’t want there like books, movies, entertainment, or even people. Yes, people.

Anything that takes us away from God is removable by him. For our good. And believe me, once you find yourselves under so many of the wrong doors, God looks better than ever!

God isn’t behind door #1. or #2. or #3.  He’s behind the door that is open.


http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/hillbilly-ten-commandment

http://larrywho.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/planning-preparation-survival-part-2/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/02/17/quote-standard/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

17 thoughts on “I Gave my Sledgehammer Away

  1. Funny! I like it.

    wayne

  2. They are doing it again Cathy and we know it is someone at WordPress because that is your setting, unless you have changed your moderating setting. I will be taking action today now that I’m feeling better, it is victimisation and needs to be stopped they deleted another one of my posts and changed my settings again. I had an accident on my Mobility Scooter the breaks gave way, I hurt some people which upset me the most, it was a little boy and 2 woman, I’m still a bit shook up but I could have got killed.

    Take Care – Christian Love Anne

  3. Good post, I like the illustrations too.

  4. I have more than a few bruises myself.

    Hey, is that a picture of your home on the header?

    • Larry, actually it is funny that you ask if that is our home. My great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather, John Craig, Esquire built that farmhouse.

      It is renovated and called “The Craig Farm” in Lancaster SC. It is historic and dates back to the 1700’s. We have a family reunion there every April out in that pavillion. Actually in the front is a pond but it wouldn’t fit. It is on the National Registry for Historical Places since 1989.

      If you look in my archives of blogs dated back to last April or May you will see it with more pictures I took at the reunion last year. I think i named it The Craig Family Reunion. My family has quite a history on my dad’s side.

      You can also google the Kilburnie Inn at Craig Farm which is a Bed and Breakfast across the street. The entire area is quite historic.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC http://www.wix.com/cathyneil/Property-Management 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      ________________________________

  5. Well, I am trying to back up my site right now. It is going very slowly. I just hope it works. Some of my ‘blogs’ I wouldn’t mind losing. But, some of them were actually good.

    IMHO.

    Wayne

  6. A most creative and delightful post. Thanks for writing it!

  7. Great Post, Cathy! Enjoyed!
    God Bless You!

  8. Love the Monopoly cards… especially the last one!

  9. Just wanted to say thank you for interacting so much on my blog. You are awesome and I’m glad you stop by.

Leave a Reply

