Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Caesar, we don’t own a tractor.

11 Comments


Tax

Tax (Photo credit: 401K)

It’s that time again. February is the month.  The time frame is set in stone. At least it is winter and going outdoors is not an option. So I may as well do it. Only I don’t want to. I dread it every year. A “thorn” in my side.

Losing in rummy over and over is better than having to itemize my taxes to send to the accountant. I spent hours Saturday working on this inevitable mess of paperwork spread out all over the kitchen table and I am still not finished.

Doctor receipts. Drug receipts. Charitable statements. Property taxes paid. W-2 forms. Investment statements. Interest statements. Tuition paid. Dental receipts. Statements for who knows what and a 30 page Organizer from the Accountant to fill out full of questions unheard of.

Itemizing our deductions have paid off to some extent except when viewing  the W-2 form to see how much Caesar has already taken out. I realize it is Biblical to pay taxes; I have issues as to whether he is using our hard-earned tax dollars for the latest “gladiator contests” or “beast hunts.”

Mark 12:17 Then Jesus said to them, “Give to Caesar what is Caesar’s and to God what is God‘s.” And they were amazed at him.

I have to wonder what really belongs to Caesar. My religious liberty. My kitchen floor. Our goldfish. My soul.

Julius Caesar (1953 film)

Image via Wikipedia

My feeble brain tries to wrap itself around the questions asked. Now I do realize Caesar has many occupiers who fund the public welfare that many of these questions would apply.

For instance: Did you use gasoline or special fuels for business or farm purposes? We do not own a tractor.

Did you engage in any put or call transactions? I thought they put you in jail for that.

Did you receive  unreported tip income of $20 or more for any month in 2011? No, I am not a waitress. I am the maid and no one tips me.

Did you purchase a new technology vehicle, including a qualified plug-in-electric drive motor vehicle in 2011? Why would I do that? I have the best car in the world. It is called, “paid off.”

This one really caught my eye. Under Itemized deductions in the Miscellaneous categories ; evidently you can deduct your gambling losses. What?

Page 20 of the Organizer asks these questions?

Do you plan for your marital status to change in 2012? ugh…if I thought it was going to change I certainly wouldn’t tell you!

Do you plan to change the number of dependents? ugh…only if God chooses us to follow Abraham and Sara’s footsteps. (please God no!)

Do you plan to have a substantial change in your income? Now how would I know that? Oh, I get it. The IRS wants their piece of my pie before it is cooked!

Who comes up with this stuff? Is this for real?

And who started this Estimated Tax assessment? The other name for this is, “Prepay.” Caesar wants  his before you get it. What? How is that fair?
I wonder if Caesar would refund my refund before they take out any of our taxes? duh…

The Bible says in Romans 13:6 “This is also why you pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants, who give their full-time to governing.”

In other words we are to pay our taxes. Caesar is supposed to get what is rightfully his? What is rightfully his? OH! I know what the problem is!

Caesar needs a new Bible. After all his is centuries old. Wine and coffee stains. Pages torn out. Wrinkled and smudged.

Maybe his dog ate the pages out about taxation. He has to know the tax laws and codes need some tweaking.

Well, we can get him a Bible. I’ll  text Gideon. I am sure he can get one to Caesar.

Anyone have his number?

David Barton – The Bible and Taxes

http://thefaithbook.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/mr-president-i-still-believe/

http://thewayeverlasting.com/2012/02/17/quote-standard/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved


11 thoughts on “Caesar, we don’t own a tractor.

  1. Hi there, this was an enjoyable read. Thank you for that. I had to laugh. I started to read it to understand why the title… it was fun!

  2. “…In other words we are to pay our taxes. Caesar is supposed to get what is rightfully his? What is rightfully his?…”

    From Caesar’s viewpoint: all of it.

  3. This post was very taxing to read. Nice job. 🙂

  4. Hi my dear friend Cathy, deduct your gambling losses Wow I never would have had to pay taxes in fact they would have been paying me. Very good message and clever the way you put it together, you are indeed gifted and have a very unique way of presenting God’s Truth which I and I’m sure many others appreciate.

    To be honest at one time my focus was very much on Money and it worried me a lot, so instead of Trusting God to meet my needs, I took in Boarders without even asking Him, which turned out to be a nightmare, it cost me more money to have them then what I got, one even poisoned my dog but God showed me, as you put it, that I was on the wrong block …my choice.

    I created a Power Point not so long ago about money I will leave the link for you, if you read between the lines you can see I was going to Caesar for a Tractor not God, the message in the P.P is how God corrected me and showed me what was really important and to Trust Him to meet my needs.

    Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/money-money-money/

    We may not have a lot of money but it will be always enough and I have found this very True.

    Christian Love Anne.

    • Anne, I was shocked when I read that on the tax sheet. I couldn’t believe people could deduct the gambling losses.

      As far as being on the wrong block, I have been on many of them. Now I pray about everything. I made too many mistakes doing it my way.

      I can’t believe people who hurt animals! how awful! Why did that person do that to your dog?

      The person who hurts my cat will wish they hadn’t. I have even felt God protects her because she gets into so much!

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC http://www.wix.com/cathyneil/Property-Management 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      ________________________________

      • Hi Cathy, it is a long heartbreaking story, I’m crying as I write this thinking of my poor little Podel she was so loyal, this young man poisoned her with racksack. But later I found out he was very troubled and deep into sin, his father was also very cruel to animals. I pray for them Cathy and his Mum, they are a very hurting family.

        It was me who decided to run my own race instead of seeking God and obeying His guidelines and so I took myself out from under His protection which comes with obedience. God didn’t want me to suffer it was my choice, He told me light and darkness don’t mix but I still took Non- Christians into my home because I was too impatient to wait on Him.

        But the wonderful thing is that God can even use our mistakes for good and I have seen this in my life more than once… I made a lot of mistakes Cathy and my little bit of fun, that lead to an Addiction with gambling and other sin, was one of the worst, I do not judge others harshly, I’m sure I have sinned more then them, in my many years of conflict and confusion.

        Love you Cathy, thanks for caring – Anne

      • Anne, I am so sorry. It speaks of how we are to care for our animals in Proverbs. God meant for us to treat them well, not hurt them. Animals are so helpless and don’t understand. It isn’t right at all.

        Anne, we all make mistakes; I have made more than my share. One of the best light bulb moments I ever had with God was when I realized he meets us wherever we are and that nothing we have ever done, right or wrong is wasted.As I wrote in my blog that we go round and round the blocks of life, if we allow God to use those blocks he turns them around for our good and others.

        God is using you Anne to reach many people. Blessings….

        Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC http://www.wix.com/cathyneil/Property-Management 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

        ________________________________

Leave a Reply

