Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

The Detour of Depression

9 Comments


God has laid a burden on my heart. Depression. So many are seriously suffering from this mind deafening delirium I believe God wants me to speak about my own sufferings; more than that God wants you to know what he did for me to guide me through it and out of it.

My usual tone of remarks may be a little downplayed and yet the key to part of my healing was due to finding God’s humor.  Now I understand the last thing a depressed person wants to do is laugh. I didn’t. In fact it was almost an offense for anyone around me to be happy much less laughing.

Mind you when I lived this “hell” I was not taking medication; therapy is great however you can get it. Just for the sake of you who are depressed I now take Lexipro. This occurred 2 years ago when my father almost died, but didn’t. The stress of that event and the care he has needed following led me into a state of anxiety I had never had; depression to me can be complicated by that, but trauma can bring it on either way. The guilt of living 3 hours away, the travel back and forth became exhausting in every way. My doctor told me the family member who lives away suffers more than any others. That in itself relieved the guilt. Philippians 4:6

Let me say first and foremost I am no doctor, no psychiatrist and do not issue any replacement for that. Continue what you feel God leads you to do. I simply want to offer some suggestions that God gave me to save my life. You can choose to try them or not.

1. Realize the enemy is attacking you. He doesn’t want you around to accomplish what God has placed you on earth to do. Twisting that is almost a compliment because it just means what you have to do is important enough for the devil to take notice. End that by telling him to leave. Quote James 4:7 to him and command him to leave.  Even when you don’t feel like doing this, speak it out loud. It works.

2. If you don’t have a reason to live, find one. Mine was my child. The enemy continually blasted my mind with “you are going to die.”  That thought left quickly because there was no way I was going to die and leave my ex-husband to gain custody of her. It was no option. If you can’t find a reason to get over this, ask God to give you one. He will.

3. Understand that others who have never experienced depression will ever understand how you feel. Seek others who have to lift you up. Surround yourself with those who celebrate you.

4. Change your thinking. Joyce Meyer‘s book, “The Battlefield of the Mind” is the greatest book I have ever read outside of the Bible. Even if you don’t feel like reading it, get a copy and soak yourself in it. You will find the thoughts you have are often not your own causing the depression.  This book was the beginning of a complete change of my mind set.

5. You are not crazy. I had a psychiatrist tell me that.
6. Realize this is not who you are. You are a child of God. You will get through it and out of it. Speak positively over your life off and on all day long. MAKE yourself do this. Speaking God’s word out loud over your life will not only bring healing and deliverance, you will be setting into motion a prophetic future for yourself. If you had asked me years ago that I would be writing my own depression deliverance I would have  laughed!

7. Exercise. Move. Get away from the areas that make you feel the most depressed.  The “pit” (as I called it) may be deep, but you can crawl out. God has plenty of rope.

8. Stop being hard on yourself. More than anything the devil wants you to feel guilty, hard pressed and useless. It is oppression. Realize, as humans we expect more of ourselves than God does. Stop worrying about what other people think. People are not to be pleased, but God is.  Ask God to show you what he expects of you. Then he will show you how to say “no.” I am convinced we have overloaded ourselves with useless accomplishments God never ordained. Set your priorities according to God’s will for you; don’t allow others to take your focus otherwise. When you do, you end up burned out, exhausted, and bitter. What God wants you to do is most likely different from others. If his hand isn’t in whatever you do, it won’t work.

9. Thank God for everything. Praise him for the toothpaste you use. Thank him for the water you drink out of a faucet. Thank him for your neighbors, food, your cat, your family. Thank him for the chair you sit in. The bed you sleep in. That you get to bathe inside instead of outside. Thank God for Jesus. Thank God for healing you. Thank God for loving you. Thank God you are alive. Thank God it is all about him and not us. Let God fight this battle for you.  2 Chronicles 20:15, 1 Corinthians 10:13

10. This may be the last but certainly the most important. There is nothing more important than spending time alone with God. Pray, listen, read his word as you do this. Sit and wait for his presence. His word is real, active, and alive. I have witnessed it over and over. Reading the same verses for years and then one day it is as if it flies off the page with a revelation that was waiting to wake up. Allow time whenever is best for you to give God time. That is what he wants; that you respect him enough to spend time alone with him. This will bring about God’s peace that overcomes the pain. Colossians 3:15

This is the reason I can laugh again. It is one of the reasons I write with humor; not because I am funny, but it is God’s humor coming through me. Believe me, some of the things that come out of my mouth I am even shocked.I find myself laughing as I write! Now isn’t that like medicine! God heals me through the words I type with his humor! God’s word is all-powerful. It works and the devil hates it. Isaiah 46:4

Finally I am going out on a limb here. Many of you may already have this gift, many may be skeptical or think it is crazy. A Prayer Language is key to getting to know God. It is like a door that flies open into the Supernatural leaving the misery of the natural behind.  I was skeptical too until I wanted everything God had to give me. January 1987 I was filled with the Holy Spirit and God gave me a prayer language. This gift is magnificent; I have had miracles happen as a result. I have seen Jesus while praying in the spirit. This revelation gift is waiting for anyone who wants it. All you have to do is ask for it. If you choose to doubt it or me that is fine. But you will be missing out on one of the greatest inventions God ever made. It is like an addition to your faith that you already have but gives a life flowing with peace through out your spirit that nothing else can compare with it. 1 Corinthian 14:4

God bless.

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

9 thoughts on “The Detour of Depression

  1. Hi Naphtali thank you for your message and for sharing so honestly and so will I…For many years I suffered from depression mainly in my Twenties and Thirties, some was caused through a Thyroid imbalance, some because of loosing babies and some because of guilt of having Aborted my baby as a teenager and later from separation from my husband, but one thing I needed was others, God created us that way as we see with Adam who had a close relationship God but He still said it is not good for man to be alone and in the Body of Christ we are to be there for others in their ups and downs as you can see from the Scripture below.

    There is a time for everything a time to cry, a time to laugh, a time to dance etc Today I laugh like you do and I Love the work the Lord has given me but I’m not afraid to show any emotion when needed without guilt or feeling I have to wear a mask, I have compassion for what I have experienced in my life, if I didn’t I wouldn’t have compassion for others. We will cry and we will get angry ‘Jesus did but it’s what we do about the negative emotions that matters. Yes true laughter and even tears bring healing both are a gift from God, once I was like an Iceberg I could not even cry but God gave me again the gift of tears which he stores in His heart and will turn to tears of Joy. We will never soar unless we are real.

    Romans 12:15-16 Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.

    1 Corinthians 12:25-26 That there should be no schism in the body; but that the members should have the same care one for another. And whether one member suffer, all the members suffer with it; or one member be honoured, all the members rejoice with it.

    Galatians 6: 2 Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.

    • Thank you Anne, I woke this morning with an automatic from God to write about this. So many are hurting and as I said I would never have thought God would use me to show others how to get through it. I hope that resonates with the younger ones who are dealing with it now. God Bless….

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC http://www.wix.com/cathyneil/Property-Management 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

      ________________________________

      • Hi Naphtali, I think your message was wonderful and so honest and yes you are right so many are suffering today and very few listen. When trying to cope myself at one time I turned to some friends who I thought would care, most were just too busy. I’m pleased you listen to God we need to do this first and He then created us to need each other and your a blessing to me and I’m sure to many others.

        Christian Love Anne.

  2. Pingback: Experiencing God’s Renewal Day 3 « Love, Life and Law

  3. Pingback: Experiencing God’s Renewal Day 4 « Love, Life and Law

  4. Thanks for that, especially about the tongues. Not as much talk about it these days. I find a special blessing in praying in tongues.

  5. Hi Cathy — thanks for visiting Longings End and thanks for the encouragement! I enjoyed perusing your blog, too. This piece on depression will help many people. While I dont struggle terribly, there are those moments when negative thoughts pierce our hearts and make it hard to see the sonshine. Keep up the good work.
    sheila

Leave a Reply

