Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Squirming Defenseless Sheep

Leave a comment


What do you do when you find yourself in the middle of a whirlwind of opinions? How do you handle the act one puts on to force others to get what they want and you know they are absolutely wrong? What if you have all the needed information but are actually on the sidelines?

Use to be I managed very well at getting myself into trouble simply by trying to make things happen. It does not work. Don’t try it.

In the end you find a bigger mess and you are the one sinking in that boat with a hole in it. Now I can say that a few episodes of disillusionment may have worked in my favor, but there were always consequences that followed.

Not that I would boast about the many boyfriends I had, but some of those were results of entrapment. I am not proud of my genius for taking prisoners, but as the saying goes, “it is often about the chase.” And then it would be over for me. Quickly I would find out they were useless, whiners or boring.  The end being I left a trail of “broken hearts.” Oh yea, right. For every heart I may have broken, my own heart was broken by someone else.

I think the saying is “what goes around comes around?” I should slap myself.

It is so nice to be older and much wiser. yes, I am talking about me. But you have to understand how young and stupid I was to be able to say that now.  I think I will say it again with quotations this time. “It is so nice to be older and much wiser.”

You see, I learned from all those mistakes. If you make so many of them you are either bound to get it right or your on/off switch is broken in the off position.

God doesn’t want us to make things happen.  Why? Because he knows how it will turn out. If he isn’t leading the pack, they will miss their dinner.

We are followers. That is why Jesus calls us “sheep.”  Defenseless, timid creatures.  If he wanted us to sit on his throne I guess he would have made us all queens? Oh and a few kings for all you men out there.

Following Jesus is so much easier than making all those heavy decisions myself.

That way I can just sit back with a nice, hot  cup of coffee with Peppermint Mocha cream in it and let God lead Santa and his reindeer on their yearly, worldwide extravaganza. That way I don’t worry if Santa has an accident.  I wonder if Santa knows God flies with him? Why wouldn’t he? After all, God is a giver isn’t he?

No matter what the issue, God always does it better than we do. Sometimes he might not do it as fast as we would like, but there comes that teachable word again! Patience!  God must get a kick out of watching us squirm while we wait on him, because he is so slow sometimes!(lol)

God is also creative and somewhat crafty in his design for us. Just when I think I have figured out how he is going to accomplish this great task before me, he manages to surprise me again. I have made it into a game with him. I try to tell him how he is going to plot revenge at my neighbor only to find out he wants me to be nice to them.  You know that line that says, “Love thy Neighbor.”

God is a God of variety, fun, humor and he actually knows what he is doing.  Isaiah 55:8 says, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD.

I will say it again. I am so glad God is God.

The next time you want to throw rocks at someone or take the air out of their tires, why don’t you ask God first? And when you get an answer to those questions, please let me know. I would love to hear what God has to say about that.

Leave a Reply

