Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Grow Up? Why?

6 Comments


Yesterday I posted a semi-rant after watching a video from Facebook  from someone who believes the “occupy wall-street” protestors had every right to protest. Yes, our constitution allows for that. BUT WHEN DO WE GROW UP?

Most of those protesting appear to be young people; by that I mean younger than I am. Thinking back when I was their age protesting was not on my agenda. Maybe that was because I was too busy trying to graduate from college and get on with my life. Did I miss something? Oh yea. They want that on their resume!

“I was a Wall-Street Occupier. I sat in the cold for days on end, slept in a tent with no heat and ate bugs. I deserve a job.” I don’t have that on my resume. Will protesting be a requirement now to get a job?

Growing up these days is hard, I know that. I heard the other day we actually don’t make wise decisions until age 50.

If this is true what about the other 49 years prior to the big 50? Does this mean we don’t have to be accountable for ourselves? Does it mean we are excused for our stupidity for the 49 years prior to this?  I wish I was younger so I could be in this category.

For those of us who have already gone past the 1/2 century mark are we to be placed in the stocks  for working, raising children and paying our bills on time because we are held accountable?  Are we excused for the 49 years prior because I just read this on yahoo the other day? If so, that isn’t fair.

To be honest I know people who never grow up. Do you know anyone like that? It is as if they are stuck. I wonder if they want to be stuck. What happens before that magic day of accountability  when life slaps you in the face with something you can’t handle?

Do you run to those who are occupying wall street? Do you run to another unaccountable person like you? Do you run to the almighty government?

No. You run to someone who is accountable. You run to someone who loves you. You run to someone with answers.

His name is Jesus

Remember him? The one your accountable parents taught you about? The Savior who died for you on a cross that literally changed the world? The Lamb of God who is always with you and  will be with you when your life falls apart?

My advice: It is time to grow up America. Stop your protests and complaining and realize you live in the most blessed country in the world. You might want to do that quickly before it all falls apart because when it does happen you might be fighting  for that foxhole the atheists have jumped into.




6 thoughts on “Grow Up? Why?

  1. Okay Sis-ta Rant:

    You did it again. I told you if you do not want me to laugh, stop with the cartoons……..I print these things off and show them to all I know. In Texas they are becoming the “hoot.”

    You are so right though. I tell all those who are “always” complaining about this or that, this is still to me, the best country to live in. We still have our freedom of worship, we can still vote, we can come and go as we please, and we still have wonderful men and women who fight and die so we can have these things. Most of all just because some things seem bleak, we have a great and wonderful God who feels us with love and hope. As long as we have that, (and as Larry Who’s blog suggested) we as Christians pray for this nation, I have faith in God’s mercy. Faith is the evidence of what???? Things hoped for and not seen.

    Then last but not least, I have Sis-ta Rant. She makes my day. She makes me laugh. I feel very blessed by God to have her “rantings and cartoons” in my life. She is a dear friend. Even though I had a “spiritual trying day” I can go to bed tonight happy, because I read her blog. Does not get any better does it? God Bless, SR

  2. Really, 2 hours away from me. Yeah it was one of those days, but after your blog, I am better. Take care Girl, and will see you tomorrow. God Bless, SR

  3. Good Christian common sense! Love your writing!

    • Thanks Lee, it is fun. I find so many hurting people, Christians alike. God has a sense of humor and most people don’t see that. Hopefully I can show them that.

  4. I just told my teenaged daughter yesterday, “Just because we can do it doesn’t mean we should do it.” Bravo. Thanks for the anti-entitlement encouragement.

Leave a Reply

