Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

The Miracle in the Chair

4 Comments


Man in rocking chair

Have been gone a few days visiting my parents and family. It is always good to go home. Now, back in my own home, there is much to catch up on and more going on than I can speak of. Fatigue is the order of the day right now even when trying to catch up.

My dad has a rocking chair by the window of their den he sits in and has for many years. He smokes a pipe and even though I wish he wouldn’t the aroma of “Sir Walter Raleigh” is like his signature trait. He has a table beside the chair used for his ash tray, pipe tobacco, kleenex, nasal spray and a clock that is actually my mom’s that dad kept for himself. It is the spot that holds the picture of him that remains with me all the time; until last July 2010 when I didn’t know if he would ever sit there again.


At night I sit on the couch across from my 85 year old father watching him intently as he would navigate the screen of a laptop. It is the laptop he never thought he would enjoy, much less use. After 18 months of going from knocking on the door of death to looking and feeling better than he did before he became ill, he has a new perspective on life. Learning how to use a laptop has been a God send and offered a new learning experience.

He religiously walks everyday, does his exercises from his chair and has the appetite of a horse. Yesterday after I left he joined my brother at the Country Club to hit a few golf balls. 6 months ago we didn’t know if he would be up and moving around much less swinging a club.

golf ball, at Ruth Lake Country Club

His desire to live has catapulted his recovery but we all know who gave him that. For the first time in my presence dad asked about what all had happened to him because he was so doped up with meds for almost 2 months he remembers very little. I told him it was ok that he doesn’t remember because we do. I then staunchly told him, “don’t ever do that again!”

He apologized for putting the entire family through so much but mom and I let him know how glad we are he is still with us and doing so well.

It was fun showing him new techniques on his laptop.  My daughter signed him up for “skype” which turned out to be even more fun and truly amazing for both of them! She skyped him from her apartment at college which brought out laughter and joy even for our daughter’s friends! The 15 minutes we communicated with her through cyber space were like drinking the first 6oz bottled coke years ago out of the coke machine my dad had at his car business. It was surreal and a moment in time that can’t be replaced.

My time with them is precious but I also know where we are all going. God has been so good to my family; there are many waiting for us in Heaven. For now I am thrilled to see my dad sitting in his rocker living out the miracle of extended life God has given him.




4 thoughts on “The Miracle in the Chair

  1. Hey Girl,

    What a sweet and dear post. I know how you feel and what you mean. I had to take Dad yesterday to get a new cell phone, and as I was watching him I thought, ‘What a blessing it was to still have both of my parents here.”

    I know it gets busy and hectic. I know our houses get turned upside down when things are going on with them. I know how it is when we do get home, how we do not climb into bed, we fall in it. I have even done it with my clothes on:>)

    I am so thankful though as I know you are they are still here. God Bless and get some rest. SR

  2. You are indeed a sweet daughter 🙂 God bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

