Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

“Dangling from a Rope or Protesting? ”

Leave a comment


Have you ever wondered why people do the things they do? Surfing the internet was a video of people dangling from a bridge in a hot tub. “Occupy Wall Street” has mostly young people protesting against wall street because they can’t find jobs; some of them don’t even know what they are protesting. Of course we can’t leave out the reality TV shows like “Bridezillas” or “The Real Housewives of Orange County.”

My intelligence won’t allow me to engage in such frivolous activity much less waste my time doing it. Frankly, there is a lot more to be concerned about. Maybe I am a cynic but I have to wonder what God thinks about it all. I know he uses anything and everything to gain his purposes but “Bridezillas?” I can’t even wrap my brain around that one.

Sometimes I think that God must wonder why he created us to start with. If it had been me I would have scrapped the entire earth and started over. Aren’t you glad it wasn’t me to make that decision? The truth is that God has ordained good; I don’t see much good in any of the above mentioned shows or actions. We have allowed our so called “rights” to become our causes. The phrase,”it is all about me” sums up our society. Those who redeem themselves as bigger than life, have no idea the consequences they will suffer for their indignation.

No matter who we are, or where we are from or what we have done in our life, we are all subject to the authority of God Almighty. Jesus didn’t die for us to protest or become brides who act like the world revolves around them. He died for us to follow him, to be more like him and to spread his word.

In doing so, we make his causes our causes, his rights our rights, and his desires our desires. That works for me and it is a whole lot easier.


Leave a Reply

