Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

The Church Police

19 Comments


Door bell rings. “Hello. Please come in.”

Husband, “Honey, who is it?”

Wife, “Oh, it’s the Church Police. They are back again.”

Husband, “What have we done wrong this week?”

Wife, “Please sit down, my husband will be here shortly.”

Husband joins in. “Sorry. So we’re in trouble again?”

Church Police, “Yes, it appears you have been citing incorrect references about the law and it must be stopped.”

Wife, “But sir, the stance the church is taking is wrong. The law has been twisted so much the church won’t even discuss the truth about it. If we don’t speak out who will?

Church Police,” You’re involvement has been noted. You were told not to speak about this issue with other church members, yet you continue to do so against the will of the authority.”

Husband, “But sir, the church is the only way it will work. The two go together. They are not separate.”

Church Police walk to the door. “You have been warned.”

Ugh….who is the Church Police? I wonder. Do they really do this kind of stuff?

Unfortunately, yes. What if your position is correct and theirs is wrong?

The Pharisees never left.

No. They still exist. Only now they aren’t clothed in linen garments to the floor with caps shaped like a cone. Most dress in blue jeans and Polo shirts.

Firsthand experience here only I have changed the picture and dialogue to protect the accusers.

I love God’s church. The church is my foundation; but I feel it cracking.

To be honest, I am glad this happened to me and not some backsliding Christian or atheist/agnostic aspiring to rejoin the land of the living souls in God’s community.  The exit door would have been their next move.

Now don’t get me wrong here. I need correction as much as the next guy or girl.

However, when a “Church Policeman” uses their podium to announce their clamoring righteousness for a law they know very little about they would be better off remaining at the “Police Station.”

I wish I could say this was a once in a lifetime “Church Police offense.” But it wasn’t. It isn’t. The hierarchy may need a little review.

Years ago I started going to a new church after a brutal  divorce. I knew God wanted me there. After weeks of Membership classes those who wanted to join met with the Leaders of the Church. Three of us, me and two, single, never before married men stood before the “Church Police.”

In front of this group of all men and me, one leader began questioning me relentlessly about my divorce. He didn’t believe in divorce and made it clear to me he wanted no divorced women  in “his” church especially when he declared it had to be my fault. Never mind that my “ex” cheated on me.

The brow-beating continued until the Minister rushed to my defense. As a result of this particular leader’s actions against me, he was removed from his position as a leader; and rightly so.

I joined and was actively involved for many years.

My point in revealing these misdemeanors of church administration isn’t to highlight the churches’ failures or misled few,  but to acknowledge I remained in all of them after these hypocritical, pharisaical impeachments. Not to my own credit, but God’s.

Why? I am no different from them.  I am a sinner saved by grace just like they are.

The church is made of sinners who make mistakes. One leaders’ faultiness isn’t going to keep me from doing God’s work. Maybe God used me to expose him for his obvious discrimination against women to remove him from a leadership post. Maybe God used me in the first instance to show the leader the law was incorrect as he viewed it.

Maybe God wants other Christians to stand up for the truth when the Church has missed it. Maybe God knows the church is in need of review and is exposing the ills for correction. Maybe God wants the church to do more “praying” instead of one exhaustive project after another.

Maybe the Church is in trouble, but that is all the more reason to stay.

The church needs our help, not our self-righteous attitudes. The church needs our support, not an excuse to boycott for a few offenses.

The church has seats for the lost child, the backsliding Christian and the man or woman who lost their jobs.

The church has seats for the “Church Police” who may need a heartbroken, divorced woman who followed God’s heart, to remain standing for the church even when the church let her down.

Why? Because Jesus died on the cross for me. It’s the least I can do for him and that just about wraps it all up.

Hebrews 10: 25” Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”

http://chiefofleast.com/2012/04/19/embracing-my-bapticalvimethocostalism/

http://highlyfavored74.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/see-with-your-heart-%e2%99%a5-thats-what-god-wants/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/prayer-and-the-spirit-of-god/

http://samuelatgilgal.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/the-tax-collector-and-the-pharisee/

Copyright @ 2012 All Rights Reserved

 

19 thoughts on “The Church Police

  1. that was very good! wonderful!

  2. Looking back, God held me together. Everything was hitting me at once, and yet the devil lost. Part of God’s plan before we moved from there 5 years ago was being a part of the church splitting from the denomination it had been with for years which had become so liberal we left. I got my vote in; maybe that was why I was suppose to be there.

  3. I believe it was God’s timing and a season for a change within the church itself. Thank you for sharing this and for trusting God even when you was unsure of the outcome!

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

  4. The Church needs God’s Truth not their own understanding …

    Romans 3:30-31 Seeing it is one God, which shall justify the circumcision by faith, and uncircumcision through faith. Do we then make void the law through faith? God forbid: yea, we establish the law.

    1John 3:4-10 Everyone who sins breaks the law; in fact, sin is lawlessness. But you know that He appeared so that He might take away our sins. And in Him is no sin. No one who lives in Him keeps on sinning. No one who continues to sin has either seen Him or known Him. Dear children, do not let anyone lead you astray. He who does what is right is righteous, just as He is righteous. He who does what is sinful is of the devil, because the devil has been sinning from the beginning. The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the devil’s work. No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the Children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not Love his brother.

    Romans 6:18-20 Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.

    Romans 6:20 – 23 For when ye were the servants of sin, ye were free from righteousness. What fruit had ye then in those things where of ye are now ashamed? for the end of those things is death. But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto Holiness, and the end everlasting life. For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

    John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    Philippians 1:9-10 And this is my prayer: that your Love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight,so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ.

    Romans 6 : 1 – 2 What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

    Romans 8:1-4 There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

    1 Timothy 1:5-6 The goal of this command is Love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith. Some have wandered away from these and turned to meaningless talk.

    Christian Love Anne

  5. Misdemeanor? Sounded more like a felony to me…

    Great post Cathy… yes, the Pharisees are still about!

  6. Been there. Done that. Bought the t-shirt. I even believed my prayers and fasting would change some of the churches I attended. Maybe they did, but I sure could not tell it. You see, legalism is hard to get rid of when the people don’t understand the freedom they have in Christ.

    As far as Hebrews 10:25 goes, I have been beat over the head with it over and over again, but I am a part a church, the blood bought one. My membership was sealed at the cross and it’s an eternal membership, no classes needed.

    I fellowship with Christians all the time, just not in buildings with stained glass windows or a pulpits or worship band.

    A long time ago, I had a revelation of church people asking me to come to their churches and I would be just like them, free in the Spirit. But when I looked at them, they were in dark caves with bars on the door. They were in prisons while I walked outside in the sunshine.

    We need to be free!

  7. I am glad you stayed.
    I like you, you have spunk, and I believe God can use that.

    I will tell you this. One of the churches I attended ask me politely to shut my mouth. I made a large donor uncomfortable. I consistently feel as though I am to deliver a scathing word to the pastor of that church for his actions as the church police. Not clear on whether it is the Lord or my desire for vengeance,so I refrain.

    • Thank you for your comments. God rescued me. When we keep our focus on that which God wants us to do, he takes care of those who get in the way.

      As for speaking up; response to accusations is tricky. There again listening to the Holy Spirit is the only way to do anything. If we react out of anger, or resentment as I have done, it is better to hold off and allow God to work. Believe me, he is faithful to show us when the time is right if he chooses for us to say or do anything.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC

      blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

  8. People are people;nothing more. God is God;nothing less.
    Since I served on church staffs for over 20 years, I have seen the same kind of behavior from the laity. One lady got upset when a bride took off her shoes during a long reception line. One lady did not think a preacher’s wife should wear red. I could go on. It is a fine line that all Christians face when trying to deal with the whole body of Christ with it’s sins and failures and attitudes. Paul could be seen as part of the Church Police if you read Corinthians. Church discipline is a part of scripture, but when leaders or church people are not sesitive to the Spirit it can really go wrong and backfire. Love should cover a mutitude of sins and I would say most should go covered under love; however, there are times that someone has to step in and correct gently, tactfully and with as much love as possible. Sorry you experienced what I preceive as a fireing squad with the divorce incident. Glad life in the church went on. I don’t think the church is “cracking” because who the head is,but, rest assured, it will appear as a beautiful bride one day when the Groom comes to take her. She (the church) will clean up well.

    • Thank you for your comments. I believe God is shaking the church because he knows he needs to. The pettiness as you spoke about is not of the Holy Spirit. And yes you are so right that the Holy Spirit led groups would find no pleasure in such insensitivity.

      A true heart of God will follow him and not concern themselves with the color of their clothes.

      Cathy Craig Neil, PMIC/Guardian Property Management, LLC 803-840-1946 blog: http://www.craigmotor.wordpress.com author/columnist: http://www.believers.bay.com

  9. Your voice is needed in churches, and I love your heart to have grace for those who, well, who sometimes don’t show grace.

  10. How quickly we all forget the sins of which we have been forgiven! How easy it is to place our attention upon the sins of others instead of all of our failures before Him! May the Lord bless you. If not for His grace we ALL would be facing condemnation.

  11. omg…this is so good, Cathy!! So good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 774 other followers